How come there's so much noise "on gains"?

A place to talk about whatever Scope music/gear related stuff you want.

Moderators: valis, garyb

zoofar

Post by zoofar »

When using A16 ultra & Z-links, it's impossible to get a clean Mic-signal. This is the chain:
Mic SureBeta58 -> balanced in A16 Ultra
If using -10dB the nosie:signal ratio is a little better than using +4dB, but not by far comparable to when using a preamp of some sort between mic and A16 ( like a mixer :smile: ). To get a decent signal without pre-amp I have to crank up the gain to about +20, wich introduces an incredible amount of noise ( think about -40dB noise floor, don't remember exactly, but LOUD ). I'm not an expert on pre-amps and stuff, so this might be perfectly normal. I was wondering though why there's so much noise generated with SFP mixer gains, and so little noise with external mixer gains?
Music Manic

Post by Music Manic »

Yes they pick up a lot don't they,that's how sensitive they are.Your picking up noise from cicuit.Try a gate.
King of Snake

Post by King of Snake »

I'm no expert but I think this is normal. By cranking up the gain you're also cranking up the noise. If you use a decent mic preamp you won't have to boost the gain so the noise will be much lower.
I don't think you're ever supposed to plug mics directly into an A16 without a preamp (most outboard mixers have mic pre's built in I think)

<font size=-1>[ This Message was edited by: King of Snake on 2003-06-02 12:44 ]</font>
rodos1979

Post by rodos1979 »