real analog

A place to talk about whatever Scope music/gear related stuff you want.

Moderators: valis, garyb

nicked

Post by nicked »

i'm a relative newbie to pulsar,

but what are opinions about pulsar synths vs real analog?

i for example recently compared the uknow with a juno...
the juno definitely kicked its arse right out of the ring. the uknow was like a pathetic weedy version of it with no balls, cold and clinical, no warmth.

i seem to find it hard to get the kind of fat warmth out of the pulsar that you automatically get as soon as you switch on an old analog beast.

am i doing something wrong?
ronaldmeij

Post by ronaldmeij »

U are 100 % right

U cant compare real vca power and controlled voltage with a dsp based software synth.

It's a fun add on but the die hards who use pulsar for productions use the a16 in outs and the mixer of pulsar for live tracking and mixdown...

I dont like the synths of cw , but the the sampler sts 4000 is great !

I use that all the time.......
nicked

Post by nicked »

why is this?

the native instruments pro52 seems pretty faithful to the original. according to jim bowen he a/b' d them blind and couldn't tell the difference, so it must be a pretty good simulation.

is it just down to how much work is put into creating an accurate mathematical model?
nicked

Post by nicked »

jim bowen! haHA

any british posters here will know why that's funny

nothing in this game for 2 in a bed
ronaldmeij

Post by ronaldmeij »

well htere is one dsp synth thats fab ...

This one is made by John bowen !! :smile:

the fab Pro 1 sequential !!!

https://www.winecountrysequential.com/

Read it and compare it , i have the real thing and the dsp sounds even better :wink:
Spirit

Post by Spirit »