STDM busses and connectors - which to use?

PC Configurations, motherboards, etc, etc

Moderators: valis, garyb

Post Reply
st1
Posts: 6
Joined: Thu Jul 30, 2020 1:38 pm

STDM busses and connectors - which to use?

Post by st1 »

Hello,

I have a question about STDM busses and what to connect where:

I have a Pulsar II + 2 x Luna cards.
The Pulsar has two STDM buss connnectors (and I therefore assume supports two STDM busses).
Does it make sense to connect one card to the first connector, and the other to the second connetor?
Or is it all within a single buss bandwidth?
(perhaps: How good is the time-division multiplexing algorithm at setting the data exchange points??)

I can make a single cable with three connectors, or two with two connectors.
Which is preferable?

User avatar
garyb
Moderator
Posts: 22491
Joined: Sun Apr 15, 2001 4:00 pm
Location: ghetto by the sea

Re: STDM busses and connectors - which to use?

Post by garyb »


st1
Posts: 6
Joined: Thu Jul 30, 2020 1:38 pm

Re: STDM busses and connectors - which to use?

Post by st1 »

Very well.

I am currently using one cable with two connectors.
I shall make a new cable with three connectors, then.

(Although technically, the connectors don't quite align physically on the PII and Lunas - so the cable cannot be "flat" and straight between the boards as in "neutron's solution.)

And only the use the first row of connectors.
Incidentally, is there a known engineering reason for only using parallel rows of conennectors?

User avatar
garyb
Moderator
Posts: 22491
Joined: Sun Apr 15, 2001 4:00 pm
Location: ghetto by the sea

Re: STDM busses and connectors - which to use?

Post by garyb »

:lol:

yeah, that's the way it works with the least number of bad surprises.

k500zm
Posts: 78
Joined: Sat Jul 28, 2007 6:51 am
Location: London

Re: STDM busses and connectors - which to use?

Post by k500zm »

STDM cables here ;)

viewtopic.php?f=5&t=36046

Post Reply