Upgrade to Flexor III or not

Anything about the Scope modular synths

Moderators: valis, garyb

Nebukadneser

Upgrade to Flexor III or not

Post by Nebukadneser »

Hello!

I have been sitting on the fence for 14 years now, considering to upgrade from Flexor 1.5 to 3 or not. So yesterday I decided to finally act and went to the S|C store. I am a typical preset user, and know little about modular patch making, but I like modular's distinctive sound and its possibilities for automation of multiple parameters for realtime tweaking.

Now that I did the installation, I am not quite sure what to expect. It seems that most of the patches that came with V3 already are there as part of the upgrade I did to V1.5. I downloaded the patch packages A...K from S|C. Am I right that the upgrade for the most part is about adding new modules, and not so much about a new library of patches and presets? Are there other sources for patches for Flexor III spesifically (that donæt require Modular 4)? I guess most new patches were released around the time of the launch of V3, which is back in 2006 ...

Neb
Joey

Re: Upgrade to Flexor III or not

Post by Joey »

I too have just bought Flexor 3. I'm in this different than you, because I like to build my own patches. Which is a bit of a learning curve, but in the end it's not that hard, as all synthesizers are basically built around the same concepts.
I agree that the presets are wonderful, although I don't know if they were already there in 1.5. I have been looking at the presets, too, but haven't yet found out how to use them.
But I can say the Flexor modules are really great stuff to build patches with, in some way they are easier to understand than the regular stuff.
So what am I trying to say? Well, er, I guess that Flexor is, old as it is, still a great buy, and that I hope you will get some satisfaction from using it.
valis

Post by valis »