Redundant Xite midi

An area for people to discuss Scope related problems, issues, etc.

Moderators: valis, garyb

Post Reply
User avatar
ChristianB
Posts: 60
Joined: Thu Feb 10, 2005 4:00 pm
Location: Montréal

Redundant Xite midi

Post by ChristianB »

Hi

After a Scope 7 re-install, my daws are seeing 4 Sequencer midi source. The ones I use to work with are there but not working... I have to switch them to the Scope Xite-1 midi 1 (#2) and Scope Xite-1 midi 2 (#2). I searched google and Planetz without luck...
Is there a way to get rid of the old ones or the new ones I don't know.
all this came with windows 10 1909 update.
Thanks

nebelfuerst
Posts: 177
Joined: Tue Jun 23, 2009 10:55 am

Re: Redondant Xite midi

Post by nebelfuerst »

The number of midis is defined in the windows driver-settings of Xite. If you change the number there, what happens ?
\\\ *** l 0 v e | X I T E *** ///

djmicron
Posts: 1117
Joined: Wed Jul 23, 2003 4:00 pm
Location: Milano
Contact:

Re: Redondant Xite midi

Post by djmicron »

Hi, happened the same to me when I changed motherboard to the computer.
To delete the dead entries:

press “Win + X” and select “Device Manager”

once Device Manager is opened, go to "View" menu and select “show hidden devices”

expand the "Sound, video and game controllers" section

you will see some driver's name is greyed out

right click on the ones named "Scope Xite-1" and select "Uninstall device"

don't delete the driver software in the next window

select "Uninstall"

done

repeat for each unused driver you want to delete (even the ones not Xite-1 related)

Hope it helps
Image

dawman
Posts: 13763
Joined: Sun Jul 24, 2005 4:00 pm
Location: PROJECT WINDOW

Re: Redondant Xite midi

Post by dawman »

Great tip from experienced users, Ankyu.

User avatar
ChristianB
Posts: 60
Joined: Thu Feb 10, 2005 4:00 pm
Location: Montréal

Re: Redondant Xite midi

Post by ChristianB »

to.: nebelfuerst
Nothing change.
It's the first time I tried to increase the number of midi port in the driver settings.
Also I did open in Scope a total of 4 Sequencer Midi Source. But the DAWS only see 2 Midi sources.
to.: djmicron
None of the Scope drivers are greyed.

User avatar
valis
Posts: 5363
Joined: Sun Sep 23, 2001 4:00 pm
Location: West Coast USA
Contact:

Re: Redondant Xite midi

Post by valis »

View > Show Hidden Devices?

User avatar
ChristianB
Posts: 60
Joined: Thu Feb 10, 2005 4:00 pm
Location: Montréal

Re: Redondant Xite midi

Post by ChristianB »

View > Show Hidden Devices?
Of course

djmicron
Posts: 1117
Joined: Wed Jul 23, 2003 4:00 pm
Location: Milano
Contact:

Re: Redondant Xite midi

Post by djmicron »

ChristianB wrote:
Mon Feb 17, 2020 8:05 am
to.: nebelfuerst
Nothing change.
It's the first time I tried to increase the number of midi port in the driver settings.
Also I did open in Scope a total of 4 Sequencer Midi Source. But the DAWS only see 2 Midi sources.
to.: djmicron
None of the Scope drivers are greyed.
Hi, if you are seeing duplicated midi ports such as "2- Scope Xite-1 Midi 1" with the number added at the beginning (this is how my DAW sees it), it's because of windows automatically re-installed the driver for the Xite and it usually happens when there is a hardware change and even a simple pci-e slot change can cause the issue. If following my guide you don't see any greyed out devices after enabling "show hidden devices", try also to check under "software devices", if you see some greyed out midi.
Which DAW are you using?
Have you enabled the new Xite midi ports from the DAW settings? This can vary from different DAWs, but usually the midi ports must be enabled and also disable the older ones.
From now on, you have to use the new ones with the added number in the name.
Image

User avatar
ChristianB
Posts: 60
Joined: Thu Feb 10, 2005 4:00 pm
Location: Montréal

Re: Redondant Xite midi

Post by ChristianB »

That must be the place "software devices",!!!
there is 4 xite midi (I guess there should only be two)
There is 4 pulsar midi (I have 2 cards.. so I guess 1 input-1 output per card makes a total of 4)
Logically the new ones should lower in the list???
How many Xite-1 midi do you have in that "software devices" list?
What happen if I disable the wrong one? is it easy to re-enable?

Cubase, Reaper does not identify the old ones from the new ones.... So it's try and see if it's the right one... A pain.
Renoise at lease put a #2 at the end of the new Scope midi source.

That's why I'm trying to get rid of the old ones...

djmicron
Posts: 1117
Joined: Wed Jul 23, 2003 4:00 pm
Location: Milano
Contact:

Re: Redondant Xite midi

Post by djmicron »

How many Xite-1 midi do you have in that "software devices" list?
I have 16 entries for the Xite, the name for all the software ports is "6 - MIDI" (my windows disk has been migrated to several hardware over the time) and if I check the properties I can see "Location on Scope Xite-1", I have enabled 8 midi ports from the Xite driver settings, so 8 are inputs and 8 are outputs.
If you accidentally delete some ports, it will require to simply check the number of midi ports from the Xite-1 driver settings, but it's very easy to understand, the midi ports with the higher number should be the right ones.

I use Reaper so I know that it will show you all the older midi ports, but if you look under the "Mode" tab you can se if a port is available:

"Enabled" or "Enabled+Control" are the ports that are working and that you have already enabled.

"Disabled" are the ports that are available, but that you have not enabled.

"Not available", are the ports that are not present inside your system, just right click and select "forget device", so you will only see the available ports.

These are the steps you have to follow to enable software midi ports for scope:

1. from windows device manager > sound and video game controllers > Scope Xite-1 > properties > Midi Setup > number of devices (enter a number between 1 and 8 and restart system).

2. Inside Scope project, load the number of software midi ports source and destination you need.

3. Start your DAW and if it's Reaper, go to options > Midi devices and enable midi inputs and midi outputs
Image

User avatar
ChristianB
Posts: 60
Joined: Thu Feb 10, 2005 4:00 pm
Location: Montréal

Re: Redondant Xite midi

Post by ChristianB »

I have 4 entries for Xite midi, I have enable 2 midi port in the driver...
So everything seem to be fine into the "software devices" and nothing is greyed.
My latest idea is that those midi port from the previous Scope install might be in the prefs of the DAWs. will try that later.

djmicron
Posts: 1117
Joined: Wed Jul 23, 2003 4:00 pm
Location: Milano
Contact:

Re: Redondant Xite midi

Post by djmicron »

ChristianB wrote:
Tue Feb 18, 2020 2:34 pm
I have 4 entries for Xite midi, I have enable 2 midi port in the driver...
So everything seem to be fine into the "software devices" and nothing is greyed.
My latest idea is that those midi port from the previous Scope install might be in the prefs of the DAWs. will try that later.
Yes, Reaper will show you the older ports unless you right click and "Forget device"
Image

nebelfuerst
Posts: 177
Joined: Tue Jun 23, 2009 10:55 am

Re: Redundant Xite midi

Post by nebelfuerst »

As some DAW do strange things, I use MidiOX to check the lowlevel midi ports.
\\\ *** l 0 v e | X I T E *** ///

djmicron
Posts: 1117
Joined: Wed Jul 23, 2003 4:00 pm
Location: Milano
Contact:

Re: Redundant Xite midi

Post by djmicron »

nebelfuerst wrote:
Wed Feb 19, 2020 9:46 am
As some DAW do strange things, I use MidiOX to check the lowlevel midi ports.
Then XIte midi ports will be unavailable from DAW if MIDIOX is in the middle with those ports activated.
Image

Post Reply