Pulsar wont wok

An area for people to discuss Scope related problems, issues, etc.

Moderators: valis, garyb

User avatar
sandrob
Posts: 1103
Joined: Fri Sep 28, 2001 4:00 pm
Location: Slavonski Brod - Croatia
Contact:

Pulsar wont wok

Post by sandrob » Mon Sep 10, 2018 11:06 pm

Today I had a weird message like "Do not mess with pretection ..."
and after that I have "Hardware communication error .." and installation error "Hardware can not be setup properly".

I removed the card and cleaned the connectors, reinstalled drivers, and software, but didn't help.
My "Device managger" see card normally and drivers are properly installed.

User avatar
sandrob
Posts: 1103
Joined: Fri Sep 28, 2001 4:00 pm
Location: Slavonski Brod - Croatia
Contact:

Re: Pulsar wont wok

Post by sandrob » Wed Sep 12, 2018 7:37 am

I have tried Pulsar on another computer and I have the same symptoms. Looks like my Pulsar is dead.

Ripper
Posts: 205
Joined: Tue Jan 08, 2013 5:33 am

Re: Pulsar wont wok

Post by Ripper » Wed Sep 12, 2018 7:50 am

Been there, know how you feel with this.
I solved it with a recap. It's cheap and worthwhile.
If you can't do it by yourself get the board to an audio technician worth its name, it's something easy for them.
Last edited by Ripper on Wed Sep 12, 2018 12:52 pm, edited 1 time in total.

User avatar
garyb
Posts: 21684
Joined: Sun Apr 15, 2001 4:00 pm
Location: ghetto by the sea

Re: Pulsar wont wok

Post by garyb » Wed Sep 12, 2018 8:51 am

i'm sorry to hear that your card isn't working.

User avatar
valis
Posts: 4682
Joined: Sun Sep 23, 2001 4:00 pm
Location: West Coast USA
Contact:

Re: Pulsar wont wok

Post by valis » Wed Sep 12, 2018 10:55 am

Ripper is correct, look for someone in your area that is competent in testing and repairing electronics.

User avatar
sandrob
Posts: 1103
Joined: Fri Sep 28, 2001 4:00 pm
Location: Slavonski Brod - Croatia
Contact:

Re: Pulsar wont wok

Post by sandrob » Wed Sep 12, 2018 9:15 pm

Thanks, guys, but what is recap? :)

User avatar
garyb
Posts: 21684
Joined: Sun Apr 15, 2001 4:00 pm
Location: ghetto by the sea

Re: Pulsar wont wok

Post by garyb » Wed Sep 12, 2018 9:30 pm

replacing the capacitors...

User avatar
sandrob
Posts: 1103
Joined: Fri Sep 28, 2001 4:00 pm
Location: Slavonski Brod - Croatia
Contact:

Re: Pulsar wont wok

Post by sandrob » Thu Sep 13, 2018 12:51 am

garyb wrote:
Wed Sep 12, 2018 9:30 pm
replacing the capacitors...
Thanks. I will try. :)

hewlet
Posts: 38
Joined: Thu Jul 08, 2010 11:38 am

Re: Pulsar wont wok

Post by hewlet » Thu Sep 13, 2018 9:59 am

Recap is easy on this card for people who can solder ;)
I will recap my cards the next month, i will source capasitor soon.
So if anyone want help, just send a PM :)

User avatar
sandrob
Posts: 1103
Joined: Fri Sep 28, 2001 4:00 pm
Location: Slavonski Brod - Croatia
Contact:

Re: Pulsar wont wok

Post by sandrob » Sun Sep 16, 2018 2:52 am

Sorry for bothering you, :)
You could just have a little more detailed description of how many capacitors there are and where are they located?

Ripper
Posts: 205
Joined: Tue Jan 08, 2013 5:33 am

Re: Pulsar wont wok

Post by Ripper » Sun Sep 16, 2018 6:24 am

Once out of the pc it will be easily figured.
If you need such advice i recomend you to take it to a technician. Honestly

User avatar
sandrob
Posts: 1103
Joined: Fri Sep 28, 2001 4:00 pm
Location: Slavonski Brod - Croatia
Contact:

Re: Pulsar wont wok

Post by sandrob » Sun Sep 16, 2018 7:00 am

Ripper wrote:
Sun Sep 16, 2018 6:24 am
Once out of the pc it will be easily figured.
If you need such advice i recomend you to take it to a technician. Honestly
I will! Thanks :)

I thought to make it easier for him. If you say that it is not complicated, then my help will not even be needed. ;)

User avatar
astroman
Posts: 8000
Joined: Fri Feb 08, 2002 4:00 pm
Location: Germany

Re: Pulsar wont wok

Post by astroman » Wed Sep 19, 2018 5:04 am

It is not complicated, but has to be done with extreme care - some traces of the inner layers have interconnections that can easily be ripped off if you don't use proper solder and the stuff that makes solder flow.
I know because I once did... the job in a just too quick 'n dirty way :oops:

hewlet
Posts: 38
Joined: Thu Jul 08, 2010 11:38 am

Re: Pulsar wont wok

Post by hewlet » Sat Sep 22, 2018 2:48 am

Yes, i use special solder tols from my work, and microscope :)
I will source out capasitators for Pulsar 2 og Scope 15 DSP card.
I can take picture of the work later :)

User avatar
sandrob
Posts: 1103
Joined: Fri Sep 28, 2001 4:00 pm
Location: Slavonski Brod - Croatia
Contact:

Re: Pulsar wont wok

Post by sandrob » Fri Sep 28, 2018 12:03 am

hewlet wrote:
Sat Sep 22, 2018 2:48 am
I can take picture of the work later :)
it would be great :)

hewlet
Posts: 38
Joined: Thu Jul 08, 2010 11:38 am

Re: Pulsar wont wok

Post by hewlet » Wed Oct 03, 2018 3:11 am

Hi.
I have desoldered all the capasitors on my Scope 15dsp card.
It was little tricky with the larg caps, but the smaller SMD caps are easy.
I will check my Pulsar 2 card soon.
I will post picture in this week, and a part list of caps.

Regard Kjetil. Norway

User avatar
sandrob
Posts: 1103
Joined: Fri Sep 28, 2001 4:00 pm
Location: Slavonski Brod - Croatia
Contact:

Re: Pulsar wont wok

Post by sandrob » Wed Oct 03, 2018 3:44 am

hewlet wrote:
Wed Oct 03, 2018 3:11 am
Hi.
I have desoldered all the capasitors on my Scope 15dsp card.
It was little tricky with the larg caps, but the smaller SMD caps are easy.
I will check my Pulsar 2 card soon.
I will post picture in this week, and a part list of caps.

Regard Kjetil. Norway
I hope everything will work properly.

hewlet
Posts: 38
Joined: Thu Jul 08, 2010 11:38 am

Re: Pulsar wont wok

Post by hewlet » Wed Oct 10, 2018 4:31 am

Posting some pictures and info later today .

hewlet
Posts: 38
Joined: Thu Jul 08, 2010 11:38 am

Re: Pulsar wont wok

Post by hewlet » Thu Oct 11, 2018 11:49 am

Capacitators marked with red is 47uF 6.3v
The two caps marked yellow are 47uf 16v
The blue mark is cleaned solder pads without a 47uF 6.3v.

I have ordred parts from Elfa, and i have to double check if the dimension is correct.

I can upload a video of how i recap the board next week :)

The I/O plate also ned recap, but i will check that later.
Attachments
Pulsar pcb recap 2.jpg
Pulsar pcb recap 2.jpg (1.53 MiB) Viewed 267 times

User avatar
sandrob
Posts: 1103
Joined: Fri Sep 28, 2001 4:00 pm
Location: Slavonski Brod - Croatia
Contact:

Re: Pulsar wont wok

Post by sandrob » Thu Oct 11, 2018 10:45 pm

hewlet wrote:
Thu Oct 11, 2018 11:49 am
Capacitators marked with red is 47uF 6.3v
The two caps marked yellow are 47uf 16v
The blue mark is cleaned solder pads without a 47uF 6.3v.

I have ordred parts from Elfa, and i have to double check if the dimension is correct.

I can upload a video of how i recap the board next week :)

The I/O plate also ned recap, but i will check that later.
Thank you!!! :)

Post Reply