integer distorts, floating point does not?

Please remember the terms of your membership agreement.

Moderators: valis, garyb

yish313

integer distorts, floating point does not?

Post by yish313 »

Okay ,....I hate these discussions and I am mad at myself for such inquiries.

(pause)

Hey I havent been on here in a while, I moved over to Hardware production and loving it, but I have renewed faith in the Scope platform hmm. It sounds pretty good with my Hardware.

How are you guys doing, and when the hell is the new Scope Frontier coming?..LOL

-----

Anyway, To my point, Floating point gives a theoretical, 1500 db of headroom while, "Fixed" gives you a much more reduced amount of head room; 120db I believe, correct me if I'm wrong((All this is based on research, I'm no programmer).

-----

"Analog" is limited to a fixed DB limit under 200db(again Correct me if I'm wrong) (96db maybe),
_____

24 bit/16 bit software mixing is what most "Hardware"(Keyboards, Drum Machines, Dedicated Recorders ex: Roland 1680, are designed under, correct?) These sound IMHO, better than the vst 32bit FP standard(<----token subjective statement here, no need for rebuttal)...Good Floating Point VST sound design or not.

Of course there's the Issue of ADC, DAC, but that can be solved with Hardware(Apogee, Lucid, etc...)

Floating Point was introduced with the PC right?

Before Floating Point most Hardware designers, used fixed point math in there designs right?(Lexicon, etc)

Floating point gives an unnatural state of ability for music purposes(the threshold of pain is 190db right), than fixed, so why should one lean on floating point extreme possibilities? <---No distortion,... huh!?(Turn the damn volume down) Pristine quality,....huh?(24/16 bit sound cards are all thats available right(output of course).