Intel Xeon X3360

PC Configurations, motherboards, etc, etc

Moderators: valis, garyb

Post Reply
Music Manic
Posts: 1738
Joined: Wed May 15, 2002 4:00 pm
Contact:

Intel Xeon X3360

Post by Music Manic »

Are these any good for audio use row an old machine; do they cause any complications

Thanks
User avatar
valis
Posts: 6910
Joined: Sun Sep 23, 2001 4:00 pm
Location: West Coast USA
Contact:

Re: Intel Xeon X3360

Post by valis »

Very old, I have a machine from the next year that has dual sockets and it runs Scope well but generates a lot of heat for the amount of CPU power on offer. Also will be more dependent on the motherboard you have (or choose) than the Xeon CPU itself. Since that's a single socket Xeon, it will be LGA775 (my dual platform uses a larger socket and has double the ram bandwidth).
User avatar
garyb
Moderator
Posts: 23081
Joined: Sun Apr 15, 2001 4:00 pm
Location: ghetto by the sea

Re: Intel Xeon X3360

Post by garyb »

it should work just fine, if it's enough cpu power.
User avatar
valis
Posts: 6910
Joined: Sun Sep 23, 2001 4:00 pm
Location: West Coast USA
Contact:

Re: Intel Xeon X3360

Post by valis »

v5/v6 Xeon boards from 2015-17 are cheap enough now, as are the non-top CPU SKU's, that this might be a preferable alternative.
Post Reply