LiquidEDGE Xite tips. How to avoid annoying stuff!

The Sonic Core XITE hardware platform for Scope

Moderators: valis, garyb

JoPo
Posts: 2306
Joined: Wed Jun 05, 2002 4:00 pm
Location: VRRAAaaooOôOooommmh
Contact:

Re: LiquidEDGE Xite tips. How to avoid annoying stuff!

Post by JoPo »

Sure ! You'll obtain the same result !

Mehdi, je ne savais pas que tu étais propriétaire d'une Xite-1 ! J'espère que tu reviendras dans le coin plus souvent.... :) C'est bien dommage qu'on ne te croise plus trop... Et pas mal de nouveaux utilisateurs de Scope aimeraient avoir la fameuse BBII !

I must add also the bad adventure that just happend to me...
Like I explained here, I had also a project that was impossible to open. After all tests my knowledge allows me to do (and of course the tip here too), the project was still impossible to open. I tried to open my project template and it was impossible too ! So I started to believe my Xite-1 hardware has a problem..! Argh ! :o
Then, on a completly empty project, I tried to launch an STM4896 and it crashed Scope (after a looong time= 1 or 2 mn) before it's loaded. But I could launch 6 or 7 (I didn't tried more) STM2448 ! And any other Scope devices !
All those tests took around 5 hours ! I was sick at heart and started to plan to send the Xite-1 unit in Germany.... Horrible ! First time in 18 or 19 years of Creamware / S|C use with a hardware issue ! But if it was a hardware issue, why would I be able to load any other Scope devices ?
Then, I remembered that I had some issue with my old STM4896 preset file. So, I decided to delete it. Then the STM4896 loaded perfectly !! :o :roll: :) :D

This is incredible ! I didn't hear or read any issue like that one ; or I don't remember. That's why I wanted to give this info : make that test before to send your hardware in Germany ! :P
Apparently, this happend also to other people... See Ronnie reply down page here : http://forums.scopeusers.com/viewtopic.php?f=36&t=34730
> > > > > > > > > > > > --- Musica --> here ! ---< < < < < < < < < < < <
Liquid EDGE
Posts: 1087
Joined: Sun Apr 04, 2004 4:00 pm
Location: Brighton England
Contact:

Re: LiquidEDGE Xite tips. How to avoid annoying stuff!

Post by Liquid EDGE »

I'm on cubase 5 now. Points 1 & 2 for cubase are no longer an issue!
Liquid EDGE
Posts: 1087
Joined: Sun Apr 04, 2004 4:00 pm
Location: Brighton England
Contact:

Re: LiquidEDGE Xite tips. How to avoid annoying stuff!

Post by Liquid EDGE »

Since initial release of Scope 7 SB404. (Step sequencer part of the synth now fully functional)
Last edited by Liquid EDGE on Mon Feb 17, 2020 2:23 am, edited 2 times in total.
Liquid EDGE
Posts: 1087
Joined: Sun Apr 04, 2004 4:00 pm
Location: Brighton England
Contact:

Re: LiquidEDGE Xite tips. How to avoid annoying stuff!

Post by Liquid EDGE »

Since scope v7 (initial release) the sts samplers would not load for me! (I still use win XP 32bit sp3 OS)

For STS samplers to work on v7 (on win xp 32bit sp3 OS, as the samplers probably work fine on win7 to 10 32bit OS)

Do this.........

For Scope v7 initial release pull over these files from Scope v5.1 and overwrite the v7 ones.
From and to folder SCOPE XITE/App/Dsp
s3kimix.dsp
s4kimix.dsp
From and to folder SCOPE XITE/App/Sys
KGPar2.sys
KGPar3.sys
TStretch.sys

Thanks to RA for working it out.
User avatar
valis
Posts: 6517
Joined: Sun Sep 23, 2001 4:00 pm
Location: West Coast USA
Contact:

Re: LiquidEDGE Xite tips. How to avoid annoying stuff!

Post by valis »

Should I move this to the Xite forum and sticky?
Liquid EDGE
Posts: 1087
Joined: Sun Apr 04, 2004 4:00 pm
Location: Brighton England
Contact:

Re: LiquidEDGE Xite tips. How to avoid annoying stuff!

Post by Liquid EDGE »

Yeah I was wondering where it should go.
It’s xite specific really. Though they are tips etc.
User avatar
valis
Posts: 6517
Joined: Sun Sep 23, 2001 4:00 pm
Location: West Coast USA
Contact:

Re: LiquidEDGE Xite tips. How to avoid annoying stuff!

Post by valis »

No that was perfect, and if this solution works for non-Xite too it should be put in one of the threads where faxinadu was testing imo.
Liquid EDGE
Posts: 1087
Joined: Sun Apr 04, 2004 4:00 pm
Location: Brighton England
Contact:

Re: LiquidEDGE Xite tips. How to avoid annoying stuff!

Post by Liquid EDGE »

For fully working sequencers on Xite. Add cwm stuff and spacef new stuff such as kron!
Liquid EDGE
Posts: 1087
Joined: Sun Apr 04, 2004 4:00 pm
Location: Brighton England
Contact:

Re: LiquidEDGE Xite tips. How to avoid annoying stuff!

Post by Liquid EDGE »

Here’s some extra info about DSP usage to add to the list. (In my studio I created DSP2 sub folders to Chuck in all the things that need to be assigned or have been or just won’t work because of the sequencer atom issue that would need DSP2(older shark chip)

9.DSP Usage...
In general, DSPs 7-10 have the most inter-DSP connections, and provide the best place for mixer's to live (STM2448x go here) with the other DSPs intended for synths/FX on channels as such:
7 : 11, 15
8 : 12, 16
9 : 13, 17
10: 14, 18
Dsp assignments are not always loaded in the same order, unless you use the manual dsp assignment dialogue on each module/device before you save the project.
10.DSP2 folders are for patches/modules/devices that either need to be assigned to DSP2, are using DSP2 to work! Or have a sequencer element that your not going to get to work (such as Solaris)..
Liquid EDGE
Posts: 1087
Joined: Sun Apr 04, 2004 4:00 pm
Location: Brighton England
Contact:

Re: LiquidEDGE Xite tips. How to avoid annoying stuff!

Post by Liquid EDGE »

Since upgrading to 64bit this is what I’ve found!

After installing all the necessary 64 bit additionals for plug ins I have..
das masterit eq, C350, Mattomat, convolveq & Solaris would crash the system!

Long story short.

Use the masterit eq light and C350L, reinstall the 64bit additional files for your other plug ins (in my case John Bowen, gost & convolveq ones) and all seems to be working fine. For some reason the crashing of C350 & Masteriteq also messes with other devices that need 64bit specific files. 🤷‍♂️
Pointed out by Dante, basically, the file Das Coeff11.sys that would get C350, Masteriteq & legend working in 64bit only works up to windows 7…

So all in all, all good, the only thing lost from transitioning to 64bit was sts and vdat!
Last edited by Liquid EDGE on Wed Nov 24, 2021 1:58 am, edited 3 times in total.
User avatar
valis
Posts: 6517
Joined: Sun Sep 23, 2001 4:00 pm
Location: West Coast USA
Contact:

Re: LiquidEDGE Xite tips. How to avoid annoying stuff!

Post by valis »

If memory serves there's an effect (forget its name, thought it was SSB Delay but that loads fine) and some modular modules that will also crash the system under 64bit. I would love to remember which they are, so if anyone knows please speak up. I meant to reference threads about this but they're old enough that I am not finding them in the time I took to post this.
Liquid EDGE
Posts: 1087
Joined: Sun Apr 04, 2004 4:00 pm
Location: Brighton England
Contact:

Re: LiquidEDGE Xite tips. How to avoid annoying stuff!

Post by Liquid EDGE »

valis wrote: Tue Nov 23, 2021 5:27 pm If memory serves there's an effect (forget its name, thought it was SSB Delay but that loads fine) and some modular modules that will also crash the system under 64bit. I would love to remember which they are, so if anyone knows please speak up. I meant to reference threads about this but they're old enough that I am not finding them in the time I took to post this.
It’s most likely the sample oscillators (as no sample/audio playback plug ins work on 64bit yet such as sts and vdat) and maybe some of the seq modules, but that’s not a 64bit issue, it’s a “old sharc chip” & “new sharc chip” compatibility issue. So most likely it’s just the sample oscillators.. (sts and vdat crash the system, so I’d assume all sample playback “devices” behave the same).
Last edited by Liquid EDGE on Wed Nov 24, 2021 1:49 am, edited 1 time in total.
Liquid EDGE
Posts: 1087
Joined: Sun Apr 04, 2004 4:00 pm
Location: Brighton England
Contact:

Re: LiquidEDGE Xite tips. How to avoid annoying stuff!

Post by Liquid EDGE »

Gary B sums it up nicely..

XTC mode does not work in 64bit, the STS samplers and any sample OSCs that use the STS sample player do not work in 64bit. some sequencer modules do not work in 64bit. the Wave destination does not work in 64bit. of the other functions and possibilities(hundreds of plugins including most OLD free plugins), just about everything works. the few niggling bugs all have easy work-arounds(for example, delays used outside of inserts crash, but using a multifx module avoids the problem).”
User avatar
Bud Weiser
Posts: 2190
Joined: Tue Sep 14, 2010 5:29 am
Location: nowhere land

Re: LiquidEDGE Xite tips. How to avoid annoying stuff!

Post by Bud Weiser »

Liquid EDGE wrote: Wed Nov 24, 2021 1:48 am Gary B sums it up nicely..

XTC mode does not work in 64bit, the STS samplers and any sample OSCs that use the STS sample player do not work in 64bit. some sequencer modules do not work in 64bit. the Wave destination does not work in 64bit. of the other functions and possibilities(hundreds of plugins including most OLD free plugins), just about everything works. the few niggling bugs all have easy work-arounds(for example, delays used outside of inserts crash, but using a multifx module avoids the problem).”
Good summary !

On my Win7 Pro SP1 x64 / SCOPE v7.0 x64 system, I also found a few Flexor III presets crashing SCOPE w/ BSOD.
I guess they contain a critical module like tapedelay64 or such.

I´m not sure if all modular modules work correctly in 64Bit and I´ll never find out precisely since I´m not a modular expert at all.

I also have an issue w/ ZARG RD-drum on that system,- no audio as expected.
There IS audio,- but it´s just only weird noises and level meters in mixer are busy always even I don´t play a note.
I have installed ALL the ZARG 64Bit files !
On my Win7 32Bit machine, it runs flawlessly.

:)

Bud
Liquid EDGE
Posts: 1087
Joined: Sun Apr 04, 2004 4:00 pm
Location: Brighton England
Contact:

Re: LiquidEDGE Xite tips. How to avoid annoying stuff!

Post by Liquid EDGE »

I’m impressed with how little was lost switching to 64bit.
I still have my 32bit set up. I switch the hard drive on my pc before boot up (can’t have dual boot as I need to go in bios to change the ide set up between ide and ahci depending on if it’s 32bit or 64bit). Got a neat caddy to quickly switch hard disks.

So I still have easy access to the best of both worlds. For example I have maschine, the version I have only works where it’s installed as they removed the ability to activate old software and it’s not supported anyway on win10 64bit.. so rather than upgrade everything for the sake of it I can switch between what I have depending on what I want to do, with scope in full flow on the 32bit set up and pretty much 95% there on the win10 set up.
I clone the hard drives atm, as my xp set up I’d never be able to build it again. And if either os HD dies it’s much easier to just slot in a clone rather than reinstall everything again.
Liquid EDGE
Posts: 1087
Joined: Sun Apr 04, 2004 4:00 pm
Location: Brighton England
Contact:

Re: LiquidEDGE Xite tips. How to avoid annoying stuff!

Post by Liquid EDGE »

Bud Weiser wrote: Wed Nov 24, 2021 6:40 am
Liquid EDGE wrote: Wed Nov 24, 2021 1:48 am Gary B sums it up nicely..

XTC mode does not work in 64bit, the STS samplers and any sample OSCs that use the STS sample player do not work in 64bit. some sequencer modules do not work in 64bit. the Wave destination does not work in 64bit. of the other functions and possibilities(hundreds of plugins including most OLD free plugins), just about everything works. the few niggling bugs all have easy work-arounds(for example, delays used outside of inserts crash, but using a multifx module avoids the problem).”
Good summary !

On my Win7 Pro SP1 x64 / SCOPE v7.0 x64 system, I also found a few Flexor III presets crashing SCOPE w/ BSOD.
I guess they contain a critical module like tapedelay64 or such.

I´m not sure if all modular modules work correctly in 64Bit and I´ll never find out precisely since I´m not a modular expert at all.

I also have an issue w/ ZARG RD-drum on that system,- no audio as expected.
There IS audio,- but it´s just only weird noises and level meters in mixer are busy always even I don´t play a note.
I have installed ALL the ZARG 64Bit files !
On my Win7 32Bit machine, it runs flawlessly.

:)

Bud
I’m going through the flexor patches, and yes some patches crash, so far it’s one’s that contain “sampleOSC”.
It has allowed me to load the patch, but it’s playing the patch that crashes it. And what I’ve noticed is that if the audio sample doesn’t get to play to the end or loop it doesn’t crash, it’s as soon as the sample gets to the end and would then loop is when it crashes.
User avatar
Bud Weiser
Posts: 2190
Joined: Tue Sep 14, 2010 5:29 am
Location: nowhere land

Re: LiquidEDGE Xite tips. How to avoid annoying stuff!

Post by Bud Weiser »

So, for Flexor III and possibly other modular patches (Modular IV ???) too,- we´d need a list which factory patches use "SampleOSC" and "Tapedelay64" .mdl ...
Unfortunately, this is not visible before loading a patch.

It´s interesting sample loops cause the crash.
I had the impression memory access already does.

:)

Bud
Liquid EDGE
Posts: 1087
Joined: Sun Apr 04, 2004 4:00 pm
Location: Brighton England
Contact:

Re: LiquidEDGE Xite tips. How to avoid annoying stuff!

Post by Liquid EDGE »

I’ll provide a list soon. 😊

I’ve had “whinging” about some ram not getting loaded for a couple of the patches that loaded but then went on to crash, some didn’t “whinge” about anything but then went on to crash, all contained sampleOSC
Liquid EDGE
Posts: 1087
Joined: Sun Apr 04, 2004 4:00 pm
Location: Brighton England
Contact:

Re: LiquidEDGE Xite tips. How to avoid annoying stuff!

Post by Liquid EDGE »

Here are the patches to avoid!
The patches under DSP2 don’t crash the system but contain seq modules that don’t update unless you do the 0 voice back to whatever voices you were using. If you were to get the seq modules into dsp2 they would work perfectly.

I’ll upload how I split the patch 808 groover as an example.

In the pictures, where the drop down list overlaps I’ve hi lighted the last patch in that list with the mouse curser.

I may have missed stuff. But you shouldn’t experience any crashes avoiding these few patches I’ve pointed out.
Attachments
3D802FF0-94C8-4E77-9382-F1D1324B5A24.jpeg
3D802FF0-94C8-4E77-9382-F1D1324B5A24.jpeg (4.59 MiB) Viewed 215 times
689A2729-C318-4660-8482-BD2019F3A7B5.jpeg
689A2729-C318-4660-8482-BD2019F3A7B5.jpeg (5.79 MiB) Viewed 218 times
EA3B414B-B791-43FA-BE27-A325960D7580.jpeg
EA3B414B-B791-43FA-BE27-A325960D7580.jpeg (4.77 MiB) Viewed 219 times
1B608F2E-EF7A-4B05-AD52-6C0D15452552.jpeg
1B608F2E-EF7A-4B05-AD52-6C0D15452552.jpeg (4.91 MiB) Viewed 220 times
3805A085-E3E4-4130-AFCD-8FE8BD439513.jpeg
3805A085-E3E4-4130-AFCD-8FE8BD439513.jpeg (4.49 MiB) Viewed 221 times
Liquid EDGE
Posts: 1087
Joined: Sun Apr 04, 2004 4:00 pm
Location: Brighton England
Contact:

Re: LiquidEDGE Xite tips. How to avoid annoying stuff!

Post by Liquid EDGE »

Some more!
Attachments
FB13F6A5-F35C-4944-BBCA-AC21F93B3D97.jpeg
FB13F6A5-F35C-4944-BBCA-AC21F93B3D97.jpeg (5.85 MiB) Viewed 213 times
5098955B-D093-4102-ACB5-8C72E3667731.jpeg
5098955B-D093-4102-ACB5-8C72E3667731.jpeg (5.49 MiB) Viewed 213 times
24FF8819-C08E-4C14-8A32-51CC95DED331.jpeg
24FF8819-C08E-4C14-8A32-51CC95DED331.jpeg (5.96 MiB) Viewed 213 times
Post Reply