WTB: PII card with Scope 4.5 keys Mix / Master

Have Scope hardware to sell or trade? NO DEALER POSTING ALLOWED.

Moderators: valis, garyb

Post Reply
MojaMonkey
Posts: 5
Joined: Mon Jul 02, 2018 4:12 am

WTB: PII card with Scope 4.5 keys Mix / Master

Post by MojaMonkey »

PM me if you have old cards / keys, I'm doing a retro build. Thanks!


--------------------------------




Hi guys

Sorry for the possibly dumb question. I'm coming back to scope after 15 odd years. Building a workstation that is (long story) limited to Windows 2K and therefore Scope 4.5.

I think I remember that the keys are locked to the hardware so I need a card that has keys for this old version.

Hopefully what I'm saying is correct. I'd really like a Pulsar II with Mix and Master plus Synth and Samplar keys obviously alongside the 4.5 keys to install the platform.

If keys can be bought seperately then I'd be up for that too.

Please PM if you have something for sale.

Thanks in advance!
Last edited by MojaMonkey on Sat May 15, 2021 12:44 am, edited 1 time in total.
User avatar
valis
Posts: 6225
Joined: Sun Sep 23, 2001 4:00 pm
Location: West Coast USA
Contact:

Re: Buying a card with Scope 4.5 keys

Post by valis »

Scope 7 will run on everything back to XP, not sure about Win2k for even 4.5 (nor why you'd want that over XP tbh).

You're correct the keys are locked to a given card in question, fyi.

I see boards on here frequently, and occasionally on Reverb/Ebay as well. Good luck!
User avatar
garyb
Moderator
Posts: 22759
Joined: Sun Apr 15, 2001 4:00 pm
Location: ghetto by the sea

Re: Buying a card with Scope 4.5 keys

Post by garyb »

v7 should work, too. it works in XP, so it should be ok in 2K.

yeah, i'd rather run XP than 2K....
MojaMonkey
Posts: 5
Joined: Mon Jul 02, 2018 4:12 am

Re: Buying a card with Scope 4.5 keys

Post by MojaMonkey »

Thanks for the replies guys very helpful.

It's an old Silicon Graphics workstation which only has a custom hardware abstraction layer for W2K so XP is unfortunately not an option.

I've tried installing Scope 5 but it needs XP so expect 7 will as well.

But thanks to you info I will message some sellers and see if they have older keys they can include.

Much appreciated!
User avatar
valis
Posts: 6225
Joined: Sun Sep 23, 2001 4:00 pm
Location: West Coast USA
Contact:

Re: Buying a card with Scope 4.5 keys

Post by valis »

SGI .. what's the CPU? MIPS or XEON?
MojaMonkey
Posts: 5
Joined: Mon Jul 02, 2018 4:12 am

Re: Buying a card with Scope 4.5 keys

Post by MojaMonkey »

It's a quad slot 2 Xeon. Visual Workstation 540 is the model number. It makes no sense but has been a fun covid hobby.
User avatar
valis
Posts: 6225
Joined: Sun Sep 23, 2001 4:00 pm
Location: West Coast USA
Contact:

Re: Buying a card with Scope 4.5 keys

Post by valis »

Interesting, I missed those models when I was using SGI's. I did use comparable machines, but not with the same software I used on SGI (Softimage/Alias) until later.
User avatar
kylie
Rank-o-phile
Posts: 2130
Joined: Tue Jul 25, 2006 4:00 pm
Location: Dresden / Germany

Re: WTB: PII card with Scope 4.5 keys Mix / Master

Post by kylie »

I came back here after a lot of years, too. My primary motivation was to sell my old scope stuff (well, most of) since it is getting difficult to find hardware to support more than one PCI card at a time, unlike back then. I'm kinda sure that we'll find something for you. Only I have to fetch them from wherever I put them over the last years. Of course everything will be tested before sending anywhere. I had keyfiles for every card I own, and there is more than one with a 4.x keyfile. I already asked Gary if SC still offers a keyfile retrieval mechanism like they did in the old days. We'll get you covered, I'm sure.

If you're interested, drop me a note.

-kylie-
--
I'm sorry, but my karma just ran over your dogma.
Post Reply