ScopeRise Repurposed - DAW Guides.

Compare notes on how to get the most from Scope devices, etc.

Moderators: valis, garyb

Post Reply
User avatar
dante
Posts: 4786
Joined: Sat Nov 24, 2001 4:00 pm
Location: Melbourne Australia
Contact:

ScopeRise Repurposed - DAW Guides.

Post by dante »

Now with the Mixbus article, I've dredged up a few other old DAW articles so now we have Cubase, Studio One, Reason and Mixbus covered. If you use another DAW other than these and you think you can cover it, let me know.

http://www.hitfoundry.com/

I'm also looking to add some opinions about what the future of Scope may hold. Mine will be along the lines of minimal effort - repurposing what already exists. Add comments here if you've got ideas about the future of Scope but keep em brief. Ill give myself a 300 word limit at absolute max.
nebelfuerst
Posts: 313
Joined: Tue Jun 23, 2009 10:55 am

Re: ScopeRise Repurposed - DAW Guides.

Post by nebelfuerst »

I started with a very old cubase, then tried samplitude and currently endet up with ableton live and bitwig.
The DAWs are just a better vdat to me, as I try to keep all effects in scope. All equipment is synchronised by midiclock.

As I use the mini-mixer to hand over to my DAW and the DAW summary is feed in to the scope mixer, I somewhat feel that this is not the idea solution. I have to manually mute the DAW-input, as I otherwise end up in feedback loops.
Is there an elegant solution to this in your Xite-project ?
\\\ *** l 0 v e | X I T E *** ///
User avatar
dante
Posts: 4786
Joined: Sat Nov 24, 2001 4:00 pm
Location: Melbourne Australia
Contact:

Re: ScopeRise Repurposed - DAW Guides.

Post by dante »

Not sure I understand the problem, but if you post your scope project and Ableton I/O window and any other relevant screenshots I might be able to figure it out.

I was actually hoping someone with Ableton would chime in as it would be great to cover that DAW in ScopeRise. Its one of the most mentioned around the traps including here at PZ.

Could be the last piece of the puzzle.
User avatar
garyb
Moderator
Posts: 22843
Joined: Sun Apr 15, 2001 4:00 pm
Location: ghetto by the sea

Re: ScopeRise Repurposed - DAW Guides.

Post by garyb »

there should be a setting to disable software input monitoring. Cubase, Samplitude, Reason and Cakewalk have had this for years and years. i'm sure Ableton and Bitwig do as well.
User avatar
dante
Posts: 4786
Joined: Sat Nov 24, 2001 4:00 pm
Location: Melbourne Australia
Contact:

Re: ScopeRise Repurposed - DAW Guides.

Post by dante »

good thinking - :

https://help.ableton.com/hc/en-us/artic ... ng-in-Live
ableton-live-monitoring
ableton-live-monitoring
abelton-live.jpg (136.77 KiB) Viewed 1155 times
User avatar
valis
Posts: 6396
Joined: Sun Sep 23, 2001 4:00 pm
Location: West Coast USA
Contact:

Re: ScopeRise Repurposed - DAW Guides.

Post by valis »

Set to 'off' if you monitor directly via Scope while recording.
"Auto" for software monitoring rather than Scope.
'In' is basically 'on' (to process external signals always).
nebelfuerst
Posts: 313
Joined: Tue Jun 23, 2009 10:55 am

Re: ScopeRise Repurposed - DAW Guides.

Post by nebelfuerst »

@Dante: I'll supply some screenshots howto integrate ableton in a few days, as I'm currently in overload.

I will try to rethink my scope&DAW workflow. Maybe it's as simple as disabling input monitoring.
\\\ *** l 0 v e | X I T E *** ///
User avatar
dante
Posts: 4786
Joined: Sat Nov 24, 2001 4:00 pm
Location: Melbourne Australia
Contact:

Re: ScopeRise Repurposed - DAW Guides.

Post by dante »

Great thanks Nebelfuerst. Much appreciated.
User avatar
valis
Posts: 6396
Joined: Sun Sep 23, 2001 4:00 pm
Location: West Coast USA
Contact:

Re: ScopeRise Repurposed - DAW Guides.

Post by valis »

If not using software monitoring, note the part that says Why are my recordings out of sync?
Post Reply