Scope update

A place to talk about whatever Scope music/gear related stuff you want.

Moderators: valis, garyb

tomas
Posts: 43
Joined: Sun Jan 13, 2002 4:00 pm

Scope update

Post by tomas »

Hi people I just wanted to say how cool I actually think that the new update is compatible with the first generation cards. honestly my card is about 15 years old and it still works. And that for a fair price.
I just wanted to say that.

Cheers Tomas

Wolferich
Posts: 79
Joined: Mon Dec 20, 2004 4:00 pm
Location: Switzerland
Contact:

Re: Scope update

Post by Wolferich »

I want to underline the a.m. statement.

i started with >Triple dat in 1996 or so. In the beginning it was a mess because the product was ahead of ist time. Since I went on to Pulsar things permanently improved until maturity. Todays Support for this old Hardware is outstanding and the perspective for further updates and Upgrades (I'm ready to pay for) is really great.

AndyP13
Posts: 25
Joined: Sat Dec 01, 2007 2:16 am

Re: Scope update

Post by AndyP13 »

Just got the V7 update and installed it - when I double click the Icon to load up the SC software I get a box saying -

Cannot start software because board(s) or driver not properly installed. Please check installation,
When I click OK I get another box saying -
Cannot gain access to the SCOPE hardware

dawman
Posts: 13826
Joined: Sun Jul 24, 2005 4:00 pm
Location: PROJECT WINDOW

Re: Scope update

Post by dawman »

You guys make me want to buy some cards again.

Music Manic
Posts: 1633
Joined: Wed May 15, 2002 4:00 pm
Contact:

Re: Scope update

Post by Music Manic »

AndyP13 wrote:Just got the V7 update and installed it - when I double click the Icon to load up the SC software I get a box saying -

Cannot start software because board(s) or driver not properly installed. Please check installation,
When I click OK I get another box saying -
Cannot gain access to the SCOPE hardware
Disable driver signing.

User avatar
garyb
Moderator
Posts: 22335
Joined: Sun Apr 15, 2001 4:00 pm
Location: ghetto by the sea

Re: Scope update

Post by garyb »

there is no need to disable driver signing.
the new driver is signed and compliant.

what driver is installed?
device manager, find the card in the list, right click "properties", driver tab.

Music Manic
Posts: 1633
Joined: Wed May 15, 2002 4:00 pm
Contact:

Re: Scope update

Post by Music Manic »

garyb wrote:there is no need to disable driver signing.
the new driver is signed and compliant.

what driver is installed?
device manager, find the card in the list, right click "properties", driver tab.
Driver version 7. I'm having the same problem. Yellow error sign on cards in device manager. Windows 7 has restricted connection to cards. Only works when I disable signing.

User avatar
garyb
Moderator
Posts: 22335
Joined: Sun Apr 15, 2001 4:00 pm
Location: ghetto by the sea

Re: Scope update

Post by garyb »

windows7 ?

did you install the security patch from the install instructions?

windows 7 has an older driver signing algorithm. it only recognizes that the driver is signed after the patch.

Music Manic
Posts: 1633
Joined: Wed May 15, 2002 4:00 pm
Contact:

Re: Scope update

Post by Music Manic »

garyb wrote:windows7 ?

did you install the security patch from the install instructions?

windows 7 has an older driver signing algorithm. it only recognizes that the driver is signed after the patch.
No don't remember seeing the patch, I just ran the installer from the ftp I will look for it later.

User avatar
garyb
Moderator
Posts: 22335
Joined: Sun Apr 15, 2001 4:00 pm
Location: ghetto by the sea

Re: Scope update

Post by garyb »

it's in the pdf that was(or should have been) attached to the email that the key came on, right next to the receipt.

always rtfm(assuming it was there). :lol:

Music Manic
Posts: 1633
Joined: Wed May 15, 2002 4:00 pm
Contact:

Re: Scope update

Post by Music Manic »

garyb wrote:it's in the pdf that was(or should have been) attached to the email that the key came on, right next to the receipt.

always rtfm(assuming it was there). :lol:
Lol ye it was. Thanks for hiding it.

Is there an SDK manual anywhere?

Thanks.

User avatar
garyb
Moderator
Posts: 22335
Joined: Sun Apr 15, 2001 4:00 pm
Location: ghetto by the sea

Re: Scope update

Post by garyb »

not as such, but there are a number of tutorials.
it's almost self-serve...

ask some developers where to start.

User avatar
faxinadu
Posts: 1576
Joined: Wed Nov 01, 2006 3:12 am
Location: israel
Contact:

Re: Scope update

Post by faxinadu »

start with knowing modular in your sleep :)
Scope, Android, Web, PC Plugins and Sounds:
http://www.oceanswift.net
Music
https://faxinadu.bandcamp.com/

AndyP13
Posts: 25
Joined: Sat Dec 01, 2007 2:16 am

Re: Scope update

Post by AndyP13 »

garyb wrote:windows7 ?

did you install the security patch from the install instructions?

windows 7 has an older driver signing algorithm. it only recognizes that the driver is signed after the patch.
I installed the patch but still the same. Really sick now my studio is out of action.... Tried to reinstall the v5 again but it now will not accept my key ?

User avatar
garyb
Moderator
Posts: 22335
Joined: Sun Apr 15, 2001 4:00 pm
Location: ghetto by the sea

Re: Scope update

Post by garyb »

why not try pm'ing me or writing to support(support is faster, maybe)?
i won't be awake too much longer tonight, it's 12 midnight, but i will be up a short time longer...

unless you have a Z170 chipset and already talked to me and i was no help at all....

the software really does work just fine. there is a reason that you are down.


yes, if you want to go back to v5.1, you will simply have to select the v5 driver. the easiest way to do that is to choose "update" driver", then "don't search", then "select from a list".

Music Manic
Posts: 1633
Joined: Wed May 15, 2002 4:00 pm
Contact:

Re: Scope update

Post by Music Manic »

AndyP13 wrote:
garyb wrote:windows7 ?

did you install the security patch from the install instructions?

windows 7 has an older driver signing algorithm. it only recognizes that the driver is signed after the patch.
I installed the patch but still the same. Really sick now my studio is out of action.... Tried to reinstall the v5 again but it now will not accept my key ?
Try this for the time being.

https://www.drivethelife.com/windows-dr ... vista.html

AndyP13
Posts: 25
Joined: Sat Dec 01, 2007 2:16 am

Re: Scope update

Post by AndyP13 »

Music Manic wrote:
AndyP13 wrote:
garyb wrote:windows7 ?

did you install the security patch from the install instructions?

windows 7 has an older driver signing algorithm. it only recognizes that the driver is signed after the patch.
I installed the patch but still the same. Really sick now my studio is out of action.... Tried to reinstall the v5 again but it now will not accept my key ?
Try this for the time being.

https://www.drivethelife.com/windows-dr ... vista.html

On my way home will try it as soon as I get in - fingers crossed - I did install the card before I realised I had not installed the Win 7 fix. I then downloaded it and installed it but still the same. Should I have uninstalled the SC software and then reinstalled? - I have tried re-installing over the SC software but no luck, and as I said I cant even get V5 working anymore (would rather have V7 though) :-)

Music Manic
Posts: 1633
Joined: Wed May 15, 2002 4:00 pm
Contact:

Re: Scope update

Post by Music Manic »





On my way home will try it as soon as I get in - fingers crossed - I did install the card before I realised I had not installed the Win 7 fix. I then downloaded it and installed it but still the same. Should I have uninstalled the SC software and then reinstalled? - I have tried re-installing over the SC software but no luck, and as I said I cant even get V5 working anymore (would rather have V7 though) :-)
Fyi the security update worked for me. Drivers are no longer locked.

User avatar
garyb
Moderator
Posts: 22335
Joined: Sun Apr 15, 2001 4:00 pm
Location: ghetto by the sea

Re: Scope update

Post by garyb »

delete the entries in the device manager and reboot.
don't allow windows to install drivers. rerun the installer. it should work if the patch is installed.

AndyP13
Posts: 25
Joined: Sat Dec 01, 2007 2:16 am

Re: Scope update

Post by AndyP13 »

garyb wrote:delete the entries in the device manager and reboot.
don't allow windows to install drivers. rerun the installer. it should work if the patch is installed.

Sorry but I dont know what you mean by - delete the entries in the device manager and reboot.'
Do you mean delete my two Sound Cards?

Post Reply