Cubase Step Designer (missing) presets

A place to talk about whatever Scope music/gear related stuff you want.

Moderators: valis, garyb

Post Reply
Neil B

Cubase Step Designer (missing) presets

Post by Neil B »

I have Cubase 4.5.2 (legal of course) running on Win XP.

I was watching a YouTube video on Cubase 6 Step Designer the other day and wondered "has my version got this?"

So, yes it has, but I haven't got any presets for it.
There isn't a folder under presets either.

Can anyone tell me if there were presets in this version please and if so, how on earth can I get hold of them (I really don't want to do a re-install).

p.s - I know it's more of a "toy" than a real bit of Cubase, but I hate it when I seem to be something missing.

Neil

User avatar
Ben Walker
Posts: 824
Joined: Mon Apr 23, 2001 4:00 pm
Contact:

Re: Cubase Step Designer (missing) presets

Post by Ben Walker »

I remember having the same problem.

I think that the 4th post in this thread helped me solve it:
http://www.steinberg.net/forum/viewtopic.php?p=34444

Neil B

Re: Cubase Step Designer (missing) presets

Post by Neil B »

Hi Ben and thanks for replying

Sadly this isn't the case for me.
Agreed, it's for Cubase 6 and Win 7 as opposed to Cubase 4.5 and Win XP, but I've had a look down this line and it doesn't solve my problem.

Every other folder is there bar the Step Designer folder for presets.
The only other curious thing, (that may well be a red herring), is that in Cubase (4.5.2) Plug-in Information - Midi Plugins, all the plugins have the file Cubase4.exe except for Step Designer, which has stepdesigner.dll.

Hmm, anybody got a folder of Cubase 4.5.2 Stepdesigner presets for me? Must be legal, surely.

Thanks

Liquid EDGE
Posts: 938
Joined: Sun Apr 04, 2004 4:00 pm
Location: Brighton England
Contact:

Re: Cubase Step Designer (missing) presets

Post by Liquid EDGE »

I'm still on cubase 4.5.2 and using xp.
I'll have a look for you. :)
Why not just send an email to Steinberg support though. It's not exactly a scope issue is it. :P

Neil B

Re: Cubase Step Designer (missing) presets

Post by Neil B »

No, I know it isn't a Scope issue, but you guys here have just about every base covered anyway :D

Actually, I haven't contacted Steinberg because Plan A was here and then Steinberg (much easier and much more helpful).
On top of that I expect to get a reply from them saying 4.5 is no longer supported, nor is Win XP !!!!!!!!

I never got a reply from them on why I had no Wavelab presets for most of the effects (many years ago).
Let's face it with Steinberg, if you're not up to date and continually spending money with them, they don't want to know.
Oops, I didn't say that did I?

Liquid EDGE
Posts: 938
Joined: Sun Apr 04, 2004 4:00 pm
Location: Brighton England
Contact:

Re: Cubase Step Designer (missing) presets

Post by Liquid EDGE »

Going to the studio saturday. I'll let you know. :)

Neil B

Re: Cubase Step Designer (missing) presets

Post by Neil B »

Liquid EDGE wrote:Going to the studio saturday. I'll let you know. :)
You're a star !!

Oh, while you're there -

Wavelab 4.1 presets
your X-ite if you have one
Any spare cash you may have lying around........

Just kidding :D

Post Reply