KrOn - CV/DSP modulator

General discussion for SpaceF Devices

Moderators: valis, spacef

dawman
Posts: 14097
Joined: Sun Jul 24, 2005 4:00 pm
Location: PROJECT WINDOW

Re: KrOn - CV/DSP modulator

Post by dawman »

I wasn’t dissing tweaking, just want to automate that since my hands were busy elsewhere playing.
Love the Jove Filter. Nice range and juicy bacon.

Your dream rack has dual ES3 Modules. Nice.
How many large is it?
User avatar
spacef
Posts: 2880
Joined: Sun Jun 17, 2001 4:00 pm
Contact:

Re: KrOn - CV/DSP modulator

Post by spacef »

you can see the price and power specs under the image https://www.modulargrid.net/e/racks/view/1332651
that would be around 3 Grands for 32 centimers long (1 hp is 0.5 cm) and 3U height (I think that's close to 30 cm high). Can be cheaper with 2nd hand modules but the great ones are not often re-sold. There are 3 or 4 modules with price above 350 €... and I just added a power supply because one is short by 200 mA. i will probably never own them all (not for budget but because i might not want them anymore, or there will be better things in the future)

this one is probably closer to reality https://www.modulargrid.net/e/racks/view/1231482
plug-ins for scope
SpaceF website
SC website
User avatar
Spindrift
Posts: 42
Joined: Mon May 18, 2020 1:04 am

Re: KrOn - CV/DSP modulator

Post by Spindrift »

Nice rack! I'm curios, how do you manage without an ES-6?

Here is my always changing plan: https://www.modulargrid.net/e/racks/view/1197769
Wanting to keep it no larger than 6U 64HP, and focus on analogue stuff and ability to do a lot of FM modulation as well as pinging, which are the things where it is huge difference with analogue compared to digital to my ears.

Of scope filters, the only one I found that pings in a usable way is Flexor allpass, and one can some good sounds from it, but still very weak and limited compared to something like Filter 8 (or Twin Peak Resonator which I don't have yet, but seems really great for pings).

Could possibly replace Themistos with an Disting EX or a couple of Pico VCO's, since I will mostly use them to generate pure waveforms to feed the Generate 3, and for that digital is great. But will cost about the same and maybe be a bit crammed.
dawman
Posts: 14097
Joined: Sun Jul 24, 2005 4:00 pm
Location: PROJECT WINDOW

Re: KrOn - CV/DSP modulator

Post by dawman »

Okay Mehdi, I’m sold on a Modular rack but only want to do Filtering of certain signals from my XITE-1 or A16 or my Maschine +. All have Analog outputs. I could use ADAT if need be.

Which Kron would I need, and I want the filter you speak of in the YT video, don’t need anything except a rack for filtering.

Apologies for not knowing anything and needing your consultation.
But I will buy stuff ASAP because I need this rig up and running.

Ankyu
User avatar
spacef
Posts: 2880
Joined: Sun Jun 17, 2001 4:00 pm
Contact:

Re: KrOn - CV/DSP modulator

Post by spacef »

@Spindrift: I don't have any modulator in the rack, so I don't need an ES6 (which is a CV to ADAT, ie the counterpart of ES3 which is ADAT to CV)
For audio I simply use the xlr inputs of xite, with mini jack to xlr cables.

@Jimmy
For the filter, I think you talk about the Jove Filter by System 80?. It is comlpletely sold out in shops. I contacted them in June to know whether they were planning a 10 HP version of Jove (or a re-run), and they were actually doing a 10 HP version. Get in touch with them to know about release dates (they said " 'somewhere in fall or end of 2020"). They did an 8HP version last year, limited run, and it pre-sold out rather quickly...

You could build your own micro-box modular. You get wood panels cut at some hardware store, then order the rails and the screws.
Check on modular grid to create a mock up of your future rack. You just need a power supply unit and the chosen filter. If you want to use modulators, you would need an ADAT to CV converter (Es3 expert sleeper). For just a filter Mini-KrOn is more than enough. You could also use the K16 sequencers/modulators from BB3. For such a small rack, you should make sure you get a power supply with soft ribbons because the other ones with hard rails will not fit into the rack.

May be you could build something bigger in case you want to expand (or you'd just keep the wooden panels and screws, and cut some new rails to make a bigger rack... the thing in eurorack is that there are so many desirable modules that it quickly becomes a high budget. Depends what you do with it. And if you don't like , I think that the modules can be sold fairly easily (well, probably not if it is common and cheap modules).
The rails are aluminum and you can cut them like butter with a metal saw. i applied very gentle pressure and I was done in 5 minutes. It is easy to make a wrong cut... so going slowly is advised.


https://youtu.be/VFNtQRDSUw4?t=774
plug-ins for scope
SpaceF website
SC website
User avatar
spacef
Posts: 2880
Joined: Sun Jun 17, 2001 4:00 pm
Contact:

Re: KrOn - CV/DSP modulator

Post by spacef »

ah I found the pics of the making of my rack :-) There is a back door which is really cool because you don't need to remove any module to access the power plugs. an innovation by SpaceF ;-) (I haven't seen anything like that on commercial racks or cases).
On mine, I can have modules of 8 cm depth max (or they touch door, and I would need to change for deeper side-panels)
Attachments
20200715_114035.jpg
20200715_114035.jpg (51.51 KiB) Viewed 393 times
20200701_003207.jpg
20200701_003207.jpg (56.77 KiB) Viewed 393 times
20200630_234932.jpg
20200630_234932.jpg (93.53 KiB) Viewed 393 times
20200630_221807.jpg
20200630_221807.jpg (50.77 KiB) Viewed 393 times
Holes were moved to put the modules "deeper". here it is 2 or 3 cm from the edge
Holes were moved to put the modules "deeper". here it is 2 or 3 cm from the edge
20200630_221729.jpg (92.85 KiB) Viewed 393 times
plug-ins for scope
SpaceF website
SC website
User avatar
Spindrift
Posts: 42
Joined: Mon May 18, 2020 1:04 am

Re: KrOn - CV/DSP modulator

Post by Spindrift »

spacef wrote: Thu Nov 12, 2020 11:11 am @Spindrift: I don't have any modulator in the rack, so I don't need an ES6 (which is a CV to ADAT, ie the counterpart of ES3 which is ADAT to CV)
For audio I simply use the xlr inputs of xite, with mini jack to xlr cables.
I must say I find it very useful to be able to patch back and forth, although not so much for sending modulation from Eurorack to scope.
But I use it more like a single system than separate instruments, and can use Scope, Eurorack and Grid as part of the same patch.

As I see it, if you have Scope an ES-6 can be seen as a super duper Disting EX++, since you easily can fill in the blanks in the rack when you are making a patch. Need a slew limiter, but doesn't have one in the rack, use the one in Scope. Want to free up your your filter to work as a CV processor, use a Scope filter instead...etc. All back and forth in Eurorack level signals. Then if you find you are always patching back and forth to use the slew limiter in scope, get one to put in the rack for convenience.
User avatar
spacef
Posts: 2880
Joined: Sun Jun 17, 2001 4:00 pm
Contact:

Re: KrOn - CV/DSP modulator

Post by spacef »

I don't think someone with KrOn would need so many back and forth in this case - it depends what you send to the enveloppe follower.
As this is a KrOn's education related thread, I notice that KrOn has two envelope followers. They were made to send asio tracks like drums but you can use any signal. You could also use the EG synced to lfos or notes on or step/val sequencers, to use with a VCA or VCF. The envelope follower has the advantage of being only dependant on what you send to it, independantly of KrOn's midi channel or timing.
Personnally I would use the ES6 if I had some cool eurorack modulator to use inside scope. Now I see that you also use it for audio to adat which is cool too. I went the xlr old school way :-)
Attachments
EF.jpg
EF.jpg (6.83 KiB) Viewed 283 times
kron-tuts001.jpg
kron-tuts001.jpg (89.29 KiB) Viewed 284 times
plug-ins for scope
SpaceF website
SC website
User avatar
Spindrift
Posts: 42
Joined: Mon May 18, 2020 1:04 am

Re: KrOn - CV/DSP modulator

Post by Spindrift »

Ah, didn't notice the env followers with adjustable fall and rise times, nice!

Yes, ES-6 is great for audio signals as well since it of course works at eurorack level, unlike a regular interface which needs padding.
User avatar
spacef
Posts: 2880
Joined: Sun Jun 17, 2001 4:00 pm
Contact:

Re: KrOn - CV/DSP modulator

Post by spacef »

Haviong fun with drums

"Moduls" was updated for a better usage with drums. Now has 4 selectable triggers outputs in addition to the 4 regular outputs.

news: viewtopic.php?f=10&p=347237#p347237

Moduls in action with the T-Drums from my LBH VIII (they are inside a device in SDK, to make them more easy to edit, you can seee a bit of how it is done)
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=r3ECjaQyY4Y
plug-ins for scope
SpaceF website
SC website
Post Reply