Mike preamps

The Sonic Core XITE hardware platform for Scope

Moderators: valis, garyb

crae

Mike preamps

Post by crae »

I am an amateur bedroom demo solo bod who records multiple vocals of myself a la Beach Boys or Beatles (32 vocal tracks isn't uncommon).
I have a decent Mike which I plug directly into an Xite-1's Mike preamp input.
My question is - what am I missing by not spending £3,000 on an external hardware Mike preamp which I can't afford?
garyb

Re: Mike preamps

Post by garyb »

well, if you can't afford it, you lose nothing.
the XITE preamps do stack up very well against really high-end pres, but of course, the very expensive pres generally are superior. it's not a night and day difference, however. it's a subtle one. the XITE mic pres are truly studio quality. they are not embarrassed in the company of their betters.
jksuperstar

Post by jksuperstar »

that, was a great description. I also think the hi-z operation of those preamps is also incredibly sensitive and clear to input signals. Really better than anything else I've used on instruments like guitar or bass.
crae

Post by crae »

Thanks chaps - that's reassuring - all the project studios described in mags such as Sound on Sound make a big deal of external HW Mike preamps - but hey - they don't have Xite
yayajohn

Post by yayajohn »

I've often wondered that myself about those really expensive pre-amps and what they sound like for that amount of money. Problem is unless you get you hands on one or work in a pro studio you might never get a chance to hear them. I've always liked the sound going into/out of the Xite pre-amps so that is reassuring that my ears are not deceiving me. If it is only a subtle difference then there is really no way you could justify spending that much for a home studio setup.

Dan
astroman

Post by astroman »

in most homestudio setups the room has more influence on the sound than the preamp