XITE-1 PC CONFIGURATION REFERENCE

The Sonic Core XITE hardware platform for Scope

Moderators: valis, garyb

David
Posts: 708
Joined: Wed Jan 09, 2002 4:00 pm
Location: Modular IV

Re: XITE-1 PC CONFIGURATION REFERENCE

Post by David » Tue Jan 22, 2019 1:21 am

Scope 7

No glitches... glitches was part of the cut and paste question, there's no glitches in the build

using a asrock fatal1ty z97 for scope 5.1 and pci cards. No glitches there either running with a passive cpu heatsink and one large case fan, minimal noise

dawman
Posts: 13673
Joined: Sun Jul 24, 2005 4:00 pm
Location: PROJECT WINDOW

Re: XITE-1 PC CONFIGURATION REFERENCE

Post by dawman » Tue Jan 22, 2019 6:35 am

8) I see said the blingpd man.

User avatar
Sounddesigner
Posts: 955
Joined: Sat Jun 02, 2007 11:06 pm

Re: XITE-1 PC CONFIGURATION REFERENCE

Post by Sounddesigner » Wed Jan 23, 2019 8:26 pm

Pygmy Audio Farms wrote:
Sun Jan 20, 2019 4:15 am
motherboard: Gigabyte aorus z390 master
chipset: Z390
processor: i9 9900k
RAM: 32gb
Graphics card: nvidia passive dual monitor
OS: Windows 10 64-bit
ssd, liquid cool cpu etc makes a silent pc
Does it work? (i.e., GREAT!, NOT AT ALL!, Occasional Glitches, Frequent Glitches): Great, silent

XITE-only or XITE+ScopePCI (please list): XITE-1
That i9 9900K 8-core processor is probably the most powerfullest so far now that is confirmed to work with SCOPE XITE-1. Looks like a super beastly system you have there. Thanks for posting your specs here, such info just may be some seriouse help to someone else looking for a true powerhouse system!

User avatar
dante
Posts: 4022
Joined: Sat Nov 24, 2001 4:00 pm
Location: Melbourne Australia
Contact:

Re: XITE-1 PC CONFIGURATION REFERENCE

Post by dante » Sat Oct 26, 2019 4:01 pm

Sounddesigner wrote:
Wed Jan 23, 2019 8:26 pm
Pygmy Audio Farms wrote:
Sun Jan 20, 2019 4:15 am
motherboard: Gigabyte aorus z390 master
chipset: Z390
processor: i9 9900k
RAM: 32gb
Graphics card: nvidia passive dual monitor
OS: Windows 10 64-bit
ssd, liquid cool cpu etc makes a silent pc
Does it work? (i.e., GREAT!, NOT AT ALL!, Occasional Glitches, Frequent Glitches): Great, silent

XITE-only or XITE+ScopePCI (please list): XITE-1
That i9 9900K 8-core processor is probably the most powerfullest so far now that is confirmed to work with SCOPE XITE-1. Looks like a super beastly system you have there. Thanks for posting your specs here, such info just may be some seriouse help to someone else looking for a true powerhouse system!
So the below system should work with XITE-1D ?

https://www.scorptec.com.au/bundle/CPU/ ... S-PRO-WIFI
i9-9900KF Gigabyte Z390
i9-9900KF Gigabyte Z390
i9-9900KF.jpg (271.97 KiB) Viewed 1615 times

dawman
Posts: 13673
Joined: Sun Jul 24, 2005 4:00 pm
Location: PROJECT WINDOW

Re: XITE-1 PC CONFIGURATION REFERENCE

Post by dawman » Sun Oct 27, 2019 8:20 am

AMD seems to be working with Scope too according to a couple guys using them here.
I know Ive always like the fastest biggest stuff but I havent needed more CPU Power since the first i7’s.

Along the way PianoTeq Kontakt, Zebra2 and Omnisphere made their apps more efficient so even my i7 4790k now is @ 50% ror my common workload.

Sure like AMD but I’ve got my eyes on the i3 10350k 4.1 Quad due out next Spring.
SSE4, AVX and AVX 2 is what our ASIO Apps are benefitting from. And Intels approach has been what developers have focused on.
Since AMD a few developers have decided to abandon Mac all together, like Melda, who wrote a rather convincing article for his reasons.

But this only means developers now have AMD and its very active firmware crews, and Intel as choices.
Life is good.

I would have gone with AMD but they still havent said anything about a quad.
Extra cores even hyperthreading just diminishes the focus audio apps need on faster GHz and brute strength.
At least for now.
Zebra2 and Omnisphere need single core performance.

Dont care what brand its called.
So far Intel still has me looking at them.

User avatar
Peter Drake
Posts: 90
Joined: Thu Nov 08, 2018 12:27 pm
Location: Outer Milky Way

Re: XITE-1 PC CONFIGURATION REFERENCE

Post by Peter Drake » Sun Oct 27, 2019 11:50 am

A little off-topic here, but I'm wondering where are the "low-hanging" gains to run VST stuff more capably/efficiently?

In my own use-case I run a modest i5 processor (four core 3.2 GHz) with a fairly modest graphics card. Some things run blazingly fast even with multiple instances while other things seem to tax the system tremendously. An example of the former is any of the Valhalla DSP stuff, and of the latter Melda MMultiAnalyzer (which requires a minimum of two instances to really do its thing) I'm also currently getting Izotope RX7 to do a very detailed 5 minute spectrogram that looks like it will take a long while, but that's probably another story.

I know just enough to probably be seriously misinformed, but my leading theories on bottlenecks are:

1. Code. Specifically the parsimony, or how "lean-and-mean" the underlying programming is.

2. Floating point operations. I know that in basic digital mathematics that different operations can eat up a great deal more or fewer cycles of the hardware and/or code.

3. Graphic demands. VST plugs and programs have tremendously differing graphic characteristics, as in the example of Valhalla/Melda above, and I speculate that may correlate to how strained the computer is by their demands. I theorize that I may be able to increase capacity by dropping in a more serious graphics card, but I also have an idea those devices are primarily optimised for gamers and/or video editors and may not offer much in our little corner of computing.

I don't want to go out on the expensive bleeding edge of computer hardware, just wondering if there are tweaks close to what I have that would make things work better.

An additional detail that may be relevant is that I have a motherboard/case/BIOS capable of doing serious gamer-level overclocking and cooling, which I've never tried because I don't want to take the chance of damaging my Scope cards by doing something weird/nonstandard.

User avatar
Sounddesigner
Posts: 955
Joined: Sat Jun 02, 2007 11:06 pm

Re: XITE-1 PC CONFIGURATION REFERENCE

Post by Sounddesigner » Sun Oct 27, 2019 6:37 pm

dante wrote:
Sat Oct 26, 2019 4:01 pm
Sounddesigner wrote:
Wed Jan 23, 2019 8:26 pm
Pygmy Audio Farms wrote:
Sun Jan 20, 2019 4:15 am
motherboard: Gigabyte aorus z390 master
chipset: Z390
processor: i9 9900k
RAM: 32gb
Graphics card: nvidia passive dual monitor
OS: Windows 10 64-bit
ssd, liquid cool cpu etc makes a silent pc
Does it work? (i.e., GREAT!, NOT AT ALL!, Occasional Glitches, Frequent Glitches): Great, silent

XITE-only or XITE+ScopePCI (please list): XITE-1
That i9 9900K 8-core processor is probably the most powerfullest so far now that is confirmed to work with SCOPE XITE-1. Looks like a super beastly system you have there. Thanks for posting your specs here, such info just may be some seriouse help to someone else looking for a true powerhouse system!
So the below system should work with XITE-1D ?

https://www.scorptec.com.au/bundle/CPU/ ... S-PRO-WIFI

i9-9900KF.jpg

It should work, i don't see why it would'nt. I'm judging by Pygmy Audio Farms's specs in his post so i can't say with 100% certainty it will work. All we can do is look at someone else's working specs and copy them as much as possible and thats often the safe way. v7 of SCOPE eliminated a lot of issues with latest computers and SCOPE so more compatibility success stories have been posted and it's less risky now.

Let us know how it goes with that Weapon-Of-Mass-Destruction DoomsDay Device :) . That i9 8-core with XITE-1D is extremely powerfull and i'm sure it will be a dream machine for you for many many years.

User avatar
astroman
Posts: 8138
Joined: Fri Feb 08, 2002 4:00 pm
Location: Germany

Re: XITE-1 PC CONFIGURATION REFERENCE

Post by astroman » Mon Oct 28, 2019 7:41 am

Peter Drake wrote:
Sun Oct 27, 2019 11:50 am
A little off-topic here, but I'm wondering where are the "low-hanging" gains to run VST stuff more capably/efficiently?

In my own use-case I run a modest i5 processor (four core 3.2 GHz) with a fairly modest graphics card. Some things run blazingly fast even with multiple instances while other things seem to tax the system tremendously. An example of the former is any of the Valhalla DSP stuff, and of the latter Melda MMultiAnalyzer (which requires a minimum of two instances to really do its thing) I'm also currently getting Izotope RX7 to do a very detailed 5 minute spectrogram that looks like it will take a long while, but that's probably another story.
There's a rather simple reason based on the very different algorithmic designs of the plugins mentioned.
Valhalla is straight signal coding: input, alter, output - while the Melda or Izotope stuff 'transcodes' the input first into another format (simplified: FFT processing with a huge buffer), then does it's special math and after that transcodes back into regular digital audio output.

David
Posts: 708
Joined: Wed Jan 09, 2002 4:00 pm
Location: Modular IV

Re: XITE-1 PC CONFIGURATION REFERENCE

Post by David » Mon Oct 28, 2019 9:07 am

dante wrote:
Sat Oct 26, 2019 4:01 pm

So the below system should work with XITE-1D ?

https://www.scorptec.com.au/bundle/CPU/ ... S-PRO-WIFI

i9-9900KF.jpg
Yup, should do as it's the same stuff on that board. Had no problems. Working out what bios settings to turn off is a conundrum which still has me scratching my head, though nothing I've disabled so far has compromised performance. The Xite card sits nicely in the top x1 slot next to the processor, after much reading I reasoned this slot isn't throttled/shared with an m2 ssd

User avatar
dante
Posts: 4022
Joined: Sat Nov 24, 2001 4:00 pm
Location: Melbourne Australia
Contact:

Re: XITE-1 PC CONFIGURATION REFERENCE

Post by dante » Mon Oct 28, 2019 1:04 pm

dawman wrote:
Sun Oct 27, 2019 8:20 am
My i7 4790k now is @ 50% ror my common workload. Extra cores even hyperthreading just diminishes the focus audio apps need on faster GHz and brute strength.
At least for now.
My i7 4790 peaks out on Harrison Mixbus 32C sometimes (@96Khz). Could be all the circuit modelling. Not that it's critical since at mixdown time it can take as long as it likes. Its just realtime listening and tweaking the mix I can get issues. Rendered mixdown though is clean as a whistle.

Apparently MixBus 32C makes good use of multi core (http://mixbus.harrisonconsoles.com/foru ... -5511.html) . Extra effects are offloaded to the UAD2 Octo mainly.

Same in Reason but that's where I'd like more grunt for say Shreddage etc. So if 8 cores boosts either the VST performance in Reason or Circuit emulation / overall performance in Harrison Mixbus 32C then I'll be happy.

dawman
Posts: 13673
Joined: Sun Jul 24, 2005 4:00 pm
Location: PROJECT WINDOW

Re: XITE-1 PC CONFIGURATION REFERENCE

Post by dawman » Mon Oct 28, 2019 4:56 pm

Ive got an 8086k from Silicon Lottery that actually performs in real time really well.
The extra 2 cores are what I suspect are the reason.
Havent tried it with hyperthreading on yet.
Maybe Ill check it out and see.
Im told hyperthreading and SSE4 have been optimized to help our apps more.
Since Ive upgraded to PTeq 6.6, Kontakt 6, Omni 2.6 and ZebraHZ 2,7 I should check it out.

Cheerz

User avatar
dante
Posts: 4022
Joined: Sat Nov 24, 2001 4:00 pm
Location: Melbourne Australia
Contact:

Re: XITE-1 PC CONFIGURATION REFERENCE

Post by dante » Mon Oct 28, 2019 5:55 pm

Coolness. According to that post mixbus doesnt care about hyperthreads, only FPU's (normally one per core). Since Mixbus looks for a core (or FPU) per bus then max it can use is 12 core/FPU (since it has 12 busses). Ultimately I should maybe get a 12 core system in that case.

robinette
Posts: 46
Joined: Mon Feb 13, 2012 12:51 pm

Re: XITE-1 PC CONFIGURATION REFERENCE

Post by robinette » Fri Nov 01, 2019 8:33 am

dante wrote:
Mon Oct 28, 2019 5:55 pm
Since Mixbus looks for a core (or FPU) per bus then max it can use is 12 core/FPU (since it has 12 busses). Ultimately I should maybe get a 12 core system in that case.
Not quite. Those 12 Mixbus buses are loaded in a maximum of 12 cores. That means that each bus can only be processed in a single core, without being able to spread the load to another core.
But in a project not only those 12 buses are used. There can be an infinite number of tracks in a project and, why not, "have infinity of cores".
Regards.

User avatar
dante
Posts: 4022
Joined: Sat Nov 24, 2001 4:00 pm
Location: Melbourne Australia
Contact:

Re: XITE-1 PC CONFIGURATION REFERENCE

Post by dante » Sun Nov 03, 2019 11:06 pm

Do you use Mixbus Robinette ? If so, what H/W config u got ?

robinette
Posts: 46
Joined: Mon Feb 13, 2012 12:51 pm

Re: XITE-1 PC CONFIGURATION REFERENCE

Post by robinette » Wed Nov 06, 2019 3:20 am

dante wrote:
Sun Nov 03, 2019 11:06 pm
Do you use Mixbus Robinette ? If so, what H/W config u got ?
I use Cubase. At the moment I am only learning Reaper and Mixbus. My processor is an old Quad core Q9550.
My previous comment was about what Harrison's support explains in the link, not from my own experience with a multicore of more than 12 cores.
Greetings.

Post Reply