1 core at 100% on Xite but not on PCI

The Sonic Core XITE hardware platform for Scope

Moderators: valis, garyb

Post Reply
nebelfuerst
Posts: 313
Joined: Tue Jun 23, 2009 10:55 am

1 core at 100% on Xite but not on PCI

Post by nebelfuerst »

Since I own Xite, one core is busy at 100%.
On PCI-cards, the CPU stays at 1%.
Is this normal on Xite or just a bad configuration of my PCIe-card ?
\\\ *** l 0 v e | X I T E *** ///
User avatar
dante
Posts: 4786
Joined: Sat Nov 24, 2001 4:00 pm
Location: Melbourne Australia
Contact:

Re: 1 core at 100% on Xite but not on PCI

Post by dante »

Ok you meant host cpu not DSP :D
Last edited by dante on Thu Oct 07, 2021 5:15 pm, edited 1 time in total.
User avatar
Spindrift
Posts: 100
Joined: Mon May 18, 2020 1:04 am

Re: 1 core at 100% on Xite but not on PCI

Post by Spindrift »

Xite 1D on Win 10, and the CPU usage of my Scope process is usually 0-1%.
However I have noticed that each instance of OscilloScope add a constant increase of the CPU usage by a couple of %.

Do you see the CPU usage even with a blank project? Otherwise, try to eliminate devices and see if there is a specific culprit.
nebelfuerst
Posts: 313
Joined: Tue Jun 23, 2009 10:55 am

Re: 1 core at 100% on Xite but not on PCI

Post by nebelfuerst »

I'll have to dig more into this.
Sometimes, after playing with scope for hours, I noticed the CPUload to be 25% on a 4 core machine. I never noticed this on pci before.
I just tried Xite and the CPUload was below 5% on a pretty loaded project.
Even using MidiOX and samplitude on the same machine didn't raise CPUload.
I have to confess, that there's a TV app with an usb-tv-stick, which I occasionally use.. maybe ?

So this weekend I will repeat all my bad habbits on my scope machine to get to the point of CPUload 25% .
\\\ *** l 0 v e | X I T E *** ///
User avatar
Spielraum
Posts: 605
Joined: Fri Apr 18, 2014 1:11 pm
Location: Raumschiff Erde

Re: 1 core at 100% on Xite but not on PCI

Post by Spielraum »

#native:
if multicore is not supported, only the first core is loaded.
#dsps in the xite:
sometimes only the last dsp is extremely stressed, and the others are slumbering to themselves.
#on dreamteam:
at least that's how it is here with 12core and xite-1 (11 years young system)
|̲̅̅●̲̅̅|̲̅̅=̲̅̅|̲̅̅●̲̅̅] Lange Welle ~ Mittelwelle ~ Kurze Welle ~ Ultra Kurze Welle
User avatar
valis
Posts: 6396
Joined: Sun Sep 23, 2001 4:00 pm
Location: West Coast USA
Contact:

Re: 1 core at 100% on Xite but not on PCI

Post by valis »

If Task Manager isn't showing you which process is using 100% of a core (should be noticeable), then try Process Hacker

Not all Scope projects are the same, 'async' code and delay line based modules (reverb, delay etc) as well as high asio channel counts can all contribute to cpu load. If you can't reproduce it from ANY project, try to share the one that's causing the problem (screengrab is enough, include dsp meter and let us see all devices/modules in the project.)

Please do process hacker first to eliminate other apps from causing the issue.
Post Reply