NOAH EX PSU Specs

Discuss the Creamware Noah

Moderators: valis, garyb

grolandais

NOAH EX PSU Specs

Post by grolandais »

Hi all, I need to change my Noah PSU and found it's a PSU of 300 W with quite unusual specs (I mean, unusual for a 300 Watt PSU). If I want the same specs I would need to buy a quite powerful PSU but I don't think it is necessary. I only found corsair 550W to be same specs as my own original from "linkworld".
I read that some people had "Seasonic" PSU ? mine was a "linkworld".

Can anyone who know tell me the original specs of a noah PSU ?
Like someone who can open his easily or who has worked on Noah may be (as an engineer i mean) ?
What are the numbers that really count on PSU specs ? I mean, may be some numbers can be disregarded..... (like, negative phase does not seem relevant, but I don't know).

Linkworld PSU specs
+3.3=18a
+5= 30a
-5=0.3a
+12=15A
-12=0.8a

If I look fpor PSUs with +5V at 30 amperes, then I can only find this in big PSUs.... regular ones like 450 Watte are more around 20 amperes....

so advises welcome.

or if someone changed the PSU successfully, just tell us what is the brand/model....

Thanks in advance.

PS: i want to put a 80+ PSU... so the less power, the better price :-)
astroman

Re: NOAH EX PSU Specs

Post by astroman »

your equation about the PSU is wrong:
you don't pay for the power figure, but for build quality ;)

to give you an idea: I used to run 2 Pulsar One (8 DSPs) in an Intel 815 System (Celeron 1G) reliably for at least 2 years (minimum) 10 hours per day from a 90 Watt PSU (according to it's label).
To torture it even more all fans ran at reduced speed, CPU rarely below 65 Celsius.
After it was relieved from it's DSP burden, the poor thing served for another 4 years as my wife's internet PC.
Btw it's a box 12x12x3 inches - don't ask how I managed to squeeze 2 Pulsars into that... :o :D