Should I buy Noah EX or Scope or Arturia synths?

Discuss the Creamware Noah

Moderators: valis, garyb

Jupiter4

Post by Jupiter4 »

Hi, I am pleased that I found this forum as this is the only place that there appears to have Noah owners. I am considering buying a Noah but have a few questions I was hoping that you might be able to help with.

I grew up on vintage synths (well, they were new back then in 1984) and have stuck with them for years. I have only just started using MIDI, I have a Roland master keyboard with 4 MIDI out ports and play three modules from this (I also have some vintage gear as well). I record audio only to a Yamaha MD8 (8 track recorder) and sometimes use my MC909 sequencer. I do have a proper music computer (4 year old Carillon P3 - a bit slow now - will not run any Arturia synths) but do not use it because I find a computer (mouse) interface uninspiring - maybe I am set in my ways.

I have slimmed down my synth collection considerably and am now looking to have a few 'modelled' vintage synths as they take up less space and do not have noise issues etc. The Noah EX seems an attractive option, especially as the price is £539 new. I like the idea of a hardware box but I have read various complaints about the Noah and lack of support. I bought Roland and Yamaha gear new 6 years ago and they have not missed a beat, I wonder if the Noah will be the same with the latest software?