Definitive Scope PCI card host PC?

Please remember the terms of your membership agreement.

Moderators: valis, garyb

petal
Posts: 2258
Joined: Sun Sep 15, 2002 4:00 pm
Location: Copenhagen
Contact:

Re: Definitive Scope PCI card host PC?

Post by petal » Thu Jun 14, 2018 10:26 am

OK - I'll give it a go then. Thank you very much!

petal
Posts: 2258
Joined: Sun Sep 15, 2002 4:00 pm
Location: Copenhagen
Contact:

Re: Definitive Scope PCI card host PC?

Post by petal » Tue Jun 19, 2018 11:16 am

OK - I have now build a new system with an I7-4790k on an ASUS H81-PLUS motherboard.

I have 3 PCI cards in there and my XITE and they all seem to work.

I got 10 Masterwerbs Pros without any problems on the PCI-cards, and got a PCI-Limit error on the 11th.
Last edited by petal on Tue Jun 19, 2018 12:57 pm, edited 1 time in total.

User avatar
garyb
Posts: 22024
Joined: Sun Apr 15, 2001 4:00 pm
Location: ghetto by the sea

Re: Definitive Scope PCI card host PC?

Post by garyb » Tue Jun 19, 2018 11:29 am

looking good...

User avatar
t_tangent
Posts: 743
Joined: Sun Dec 28, 2003 4:00 pm
Location: UK

Re: Definitive Scope PCI card host PC?

Post by t_tangent » Tue Jun 19, 2018 5:41 pm

Thanks for the update petal. Useful info for when I need to upgrade. :)

petal
Posts: 2258
Joined: Sun Sep 15, 2002 4:00 pm
Location: Copenhagen
Contact:

Re: Definitive Scope PCI card host PC?

Post by petal » Tue Jun 19, 2018 11:20 pm

I bought everything second hand and reused a few things from my old system, so it was a pretty cheap upgrade.

pdistefano
Posts: 22
Joined: Sun Jun 01, 2014 5:15 pm

Re: Definitive PC?

Post by pdistefano » Wed Mar 06, 2019 3:50 pm

bigovum wrote:
Sat Jan 13, 2018 1:52 am
Since my original post I had a funny five minutes and dug our my original old PC, pre my HP Xeon (recommended here). It’s super quiet based on an Asus A8n sli socket 939 Nvidia chipset. 1gb of memory, 128mb GeForce 6600 pciex graphics card, and a small 60gb SSD. Instead of reinstalling Windows (my normal preference), I cleaned the existing install of Win 7 Pro 32bit (daughter had taken it over), fully updated it, and turned off some of the things...

I’ve got 1 scope card, 1 pulsar card and a pulsar srb. I could only fit the scope into my case by removing an hd bay and sacrificing the SRB; so only two cards went in: 19 DSP will do :). It’s worth bearing in mind that I’m looking to use this as a mixer for my synths and then feed into a Mac for recording. (Any midi fader recommendations?)

So, I fired it all up, installed 5.1, imported my key file. And shit me, it all worked first time. Even at 1080p moving the windows is silky smooth; ulli at 3ms at 48khz, all good. I randomly dropped in some devices; minimax, STM16, Timeworks reverb, prodissey, and a masterberb pro. Not even a murmur. So, I started piling in the stereo masterverb pros. Every time I added one I was waiting for the bad news. It topped out at 12 with no problems at all and all the other stuff. Holy shit balls. :)

Now I’ve got ADAT linking it to a Focusrite 18i20 and an Octopre, giving 16 ins in total which I mix down to 8, back into the Mac via the 18i20 for recording in Ableton. This is so ace; literally overnight I have a well specced mega desk for live sequencing and mixing, creative fx, and no sacrifice of control.

Anyway, I’ve just saved myself 800 quid. Still more real world tests to do. Happy to share any setup info if helpful (bios tweaks, windows tweaks, ADAT and midi routing, etc).

AMD, who’d have thunk it? :D

Thanks all. Cheers. Mark.
He he! Yep I've been using an (now ancient) AMD Asus A8V as a main machine since around early 2000's & it's stood the test of time. I did the same thing few years back with a single core AMD that was sitting around half pulled apart, got a $20 hard drive and with a few hours work had a 3rd additional processing with 3x scope cards on XP home. Isolated, scope pci has proven rock solid on the older machines that were built for pci cards (I think my old one has 6x pci slots) and I doubt upgrading provides significant performance improvement to the scope environment as a stand-alone situation. That said when you bring the DAW/native/ASIO aspects into it that changes it and it depends on personal workflow etc. Personally I'd rather draw the line, accept certain resource limitations and get on with making music, rather than making computers......

User avatar
Secret Test Kitchen
Posts: 29
Joined: Wed Mar 15, 2017 7:15 pm

Re: Definitive Scope PCI card host PC?

Post by Secret Test Kitchen » Fri Mar 22, 2019 6:00 pm

petal wrote:
Tue Jun 19, 2018 11:16 am
I have 3 PCI cards in there and my XITE and they all seem to work.
Just curious......

Does having an XITE knock down the performance of the PCI cards? Would you get more out of the PCI cards if they were in a separate PC as essentially an old school sound module on steroids?

petal
Posts: 2258
Joined: Sun Sep 15, 2002 4:00 pm
Location: Copenhagen
Contact:

Re: Definitive Scope PCI card host PC?

Post by petal » Sat Mar 23, 2019 8:54 am

That is not my experience.

To me it is simply like having two scope systems in the same machine :)

asiofixer
Posts: 40
Joined: Fri May 03, 2019 9:25 am

Re: Definitive Scope PCI card host PC?

Post by asiofixer » Thu May 16, 2019 2:40 am

Hello
for pci scope card the better is to take this chipset:
LGA775 or better LGA 771 with dual quad xeon 8 or 16 go SSD sata 2
OS WIN7x64 if it works
it works on DELLT 7400 (but only one pci 33 mhz)
hp proliant had many xeon board with more pci slot
supermicro had wonder full motherboard but win7 no compatible
fujitsu also made lga771 with more pci slot
a difficult choice making work scope pci with nowdays os and plugins but with a lga 771 dual xeon quad 16 go ram ssd sata 2
it should rock hard

Post Reply