Osmose - 3 dimensional key action

Please remember the terms of your membership agreement.

Moderators: valis, garyb

Post Reply
User avatar
dante
Posts: 4371
Joined: Sat Nov 24, 2001 4:00 pm
Location: Melbourne Australia
Contact:

Osmose - 3 dimensional key action

Post by dante »

Could this be the most expressive keyboard yet ?

https://youtu.be/-hY1lhf9BNU

I think Jordan Rudess thinks so

https://youtu.be/wNjxe49-_Cw

petal
Posts: 2354
Joined: Sun Sep 15, 2002 4:00 pm
Location: Copenhagen
Contact:

Re: Osmose - 3 dimensional key action

Post by petal »

I find it very interesting, both the interface and the synth engine (yes, it is running on Shark DSP's). I have always been doing weird vibrato movements with my fingers on the keys. With the Osmose I'll finally have a chance to find out how they sound :)

For the last few days I've been thinking about buying my ticket in the second wave here before the 31th of december.

It seems like an excellent tool for ambient/cinematic stuff:

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=g90ZFTGh4cA

David
Posts: 732
Joined: Wed Jan 09, 2002 4:00 pm
Location: Modular IV

Re: Osmose - 3 dimensional key action

Post by David »

It's tempting with the eagan matrix built in and looks a lot of fun to play.
A touch é on every key would bring the note accuracy of a keyboard and the fluidity of a real instrument a bit closer.
But the Osmose sure comes close, temptingly close.

User avatar
Bud Weiser
Posts: 1863
Joined: Tue Sep 14, 2010 5:29 am
Location: nowhere land

Re: Osmose - 3 dimensional key action

Post by Bud Weiser »

I´d buy it when ready and working reliable,- hate "deposit" purchases, the wait for delivery,- then get some hardware rev 0.x.
I´d also prefer 61 keys over 49,- but no deal breaker ...

For sure it´s VERY (!!!) expressive and even there´s the internal HA EaganMatrix soundengine included,- very probably a cool controller for upcoming Solaris 1HU "blackbox" module !

:)

Bud

petal
Posts: 2354
Joined: Sun Sep 15, 2002 4:00 pm
Location: Copenhagen
Contact:

Re: Osmose - 3 dimensional key action

Post by petal »

I would also have prefered 61 keys, but they have no plans to put out bigger keybeds atm.

The only reason I havn't bought it yet, is the potential issues of buying early hardware editions on newly developed technology.

On the other hand, there is a 33% discount if you buy it before the 31th of december. Delivery will be the second batch due in the fall 2020. By that time, reviews of the first batch should have been out for a few months. Once it is ready for dilivery in the fall you have the choise to cancel the order and get your money back.

The GAS is strong in this one...

User avatar
dante
Posts: 4371
Joined: Sat Nov 24, 2001 4:00 pm
Location: Melbourne Australia
Contact:

Re: Osmose - 3 dimensional key action

Post by dante »

What is ‘GAS’ ?

petal
Posts: 2354
Joined: Sun Sep 15, 2002 4:00 pm
Location: Copenhagen
Contact:

Re: Osmose - 3 dimensional key action

Post by petal »

GAS = Gear Acquisition Syndrome ;)

The feeling you have, when you have found "the next new thing" and you want to buy it really bad :)

User avatar
dante
Posts: 4371
Joined: Sat Nov 24, 2001 4:00 pm
Location: Melbourne Australia
Contact:

Re: Osmose - 3 dimensional key action

Post by dante »

Yeah I would like to buyed it but my GAS is going to a Intel i9 9900 based system although someone is telling me to check out its successor the 10900 series.

User avatar
valis
Posts: 5711
Joined: Sun Sep 23, 2001 4:00 pm
Location: West Coast USA
Contact:

Re: Osmose - 3 dimensional key action

Post by valis »

I would likely wait for the 10900 as well, as the chipset isn't going to change much and the improvements in efficiency will mean that power delivery won't need to be refactored dramatically from motherboard makers. Ie, stability will not be a likely issue.

User avatar
dante
Posts: 4371
Joined: Sat Nov 24, 2001 4:00 pm
Location: Melbourne Australia
Contact:

Re: Osmose - 3 dimensional key action

Post by dante »

Well the 'X" version is available of the 10900 at a higher cost. Really I'm only just pushing the i7 4790 limits, so don't think Ill wait. Im jumping from 4 core to 8 core so that should be enough.

Post Reply