Finally worked out the Pultec trick !

Tips and advice for getting the most from Scope. No questions here please.

Moderators: valis, garyb

dante

Finally worked out the Pultec trick !

Post by dante »

Having always read about a 'trick' on Pultec emulated EQ plugins of boosting and attenuating the same frequency, and having bought a Black Friday special to try : The idea is that normally if you boost a bass frequency (e.g. 100Hz) it will increase the overall gain of the track. But by attenuating the same frequency you can get the bass boost without the overall gain increasing. This is subtly different from boosting the bass @ 100Hz then reducing the overall gain (which affects all frequencies not just the boosted 100Hz one).

Can anyone confirm this is what is actually referred to as 'the Pultec trick' ?
tlaskows

Re: Finally worked out the Pultec trick !

Post by tlaskows »

How is the sound? Sorry, OT again. I had the UAD-2 one and it was pretty good. I am still learning how to use an equalizer :(

Maybe you can google the pulteq trick...

-Tom
tlaskows

Post by tlaskows »

Yeah, I just googled it. Sounds like you're doing it right :D

-Tom
Music Manic

Post by Music Manic »

That's the part I love about the Pultec. I know about the spat but Pultec is absolutely beautiful 60Hz and below. Adds such power without getting messy.
dante

Post by dante »

Softube dropped the price on their tubetech (pultec emu) from $350 to $220, still to expensive for me so I went for the Kuassa EVE MP5 sore dick deal at $40 and modelled on the Pultec MEQ-5 and EQP-1A. It has the same Boost / Atten controls on the low EQ band, it works at 20,30,60 and 100hz. I played with it & sounded good but with many of these toys Ill need to play with it over time to get a feel for its usefulness. Its a quick way to get more bass without raising overall gain so far.
tlaskows

Post by tlaskows »