scope newbie need mixing help

A space for learning and studying the Scope environment and music-making in general.

Moderators: valis, garyb

bebecrystal

scope newbie need mixing help

Post by bebecrystal »

hello im new to scope and have never worked with a mixer outside of cubase so kinna confused dont really know what to do regarding how to mix this way with 2 mixers. Should i keep all faders in cubase mixer at 0db and then rought tracks to scope and do all balancing there. how do u guys do it>? thanks
Cochise

Re: scope newbie need mixing help

Post by Cochise »

Yes that's the way.
Sometimes i find usefull to assign several Cubase mixer channels to the same ASIO out(s) to have kind of subgroups.
dante

Post by dante »

Heres how I do it :

http://www.hitfoundry.com/issue_01/cubase.htm

or with reason

http://www.hitfoundry.com/issue_04/propmast.htm

or some people prefer XTC mode

http://www.hitfoundry.com/issue_04/cub_xtc.htm

Level wise I normally keep Cubase mixer levels to about 1/2 way that gives good headroom in Scope STM mixer.
View ScopeRise latest issue at www.hitfoundry.com
bebecrystal

Post by bebecrystal »

thanks for the replys and that link with how to rought stuff is perfect! and so i keep all faders on in cubase mixer set at 0db. just one more thing about the levels,
Level wise I normally keep Cubase mixer levels to about 1/2 way that gives good headroom in Scope STM mixer.
could u please be a little more specific, about how much average peak levels (-"x"db to -"x"db )/maximum peak level ? thanks
Cochise

Post by Cochise »

Imho, it couldn't be a relevant issue, once signals are in digital domain... just avoid clipping.
bebecrystal

Post by bebecrystal »

and in scope mixer? is scope mixer still digital domain, that is working like cubase mixer? or does it work like outboard analog mixers?
Cochise

Post by Cochise »