JADZIA

Scope device files created using the Scope SDK

Moderators: valis, garyb

Post Reply
soren_jepsen
Posts: 65
Joined: Sat Feb 06, 2010 12:52 pm

JADZIA

Post by soren_jepsen »

Errhh, derh....duuhhh...happppyyy birthday - nononono ;-p

FINALLY it's here :-) Turned out those envelopes was a pest to get working with presets. The circuit didn't take too long, but this interface has taken me FOREVER!

I need to thank Simon (Shark), Will (w_ellis), Claus (DragonSF), Yaron (faxinadu) and Roy (roy thinnes)!!!!!! Without your kind help this wouldn't have happened!

It leans heavily on a certain synth from the 90's. No fx, and a rather limited set of waveforms. It "only" has 2 "tones" - each with 1 osc, 2 lfo's and 3 dedicated envelopes. There IS a certain amount of aliasing on the oscs! Anyway, here it is, with a nice little set of presets. Enjoy the 90's ;-)
Jadzia.zip
(1011.17 KiB) Downloaded 91 times
Cheers
Søren
JadziaTeaser.PNG
JadziaTeaser.PNG (321.13 KiB) Viewed 4436 times
Last edited by soren_jepsen on Sun Jul 28, 2019 10:15 am, edited 1 time in total.

petal
Posts: 2289
Joined: Sun Sep 15, 2002 4:00 pm
Location: Copenhagen
Contact:

Re: JADZIA

Post by petal »

:)

User avatar
faxinadu
Posts: 1573
Joined: Wed Nov 01, 2006 3:12 am
Location: israel
Contact:

Re: JADZIA

Post by faxinadu »

jadzia as in jadzia dax? :)

nice synth mate!!!
Scope, Android, Web, PC Plugins and Sounds:
http://www.oceanswift.net
Music
https://faxinadu.bandcamp.com/

soren_jepsen
Posts: 65
Joined: Sat Feb 06, 2010 12:52 pm

Re: JADZIA

Post by soren_jepsen »

Heh, I only just saw that now :-) Nah, it's a diminutive of the name Jade. I chose it as a reference to the synth that inspired this one, and the diminutive form since it doesnt have everything the "original" has :-)

User avatar
Spielraum
Posts: 369
Joined: Fri Apr 18, 2014 1:11 pm
Location: Raumschiff Erde

Re: JADZIA

Post by Spielraum »

looks great man,
based on the workflow pg800 (roland mks70) ~~
|̲̅̅●̲̅̅|̲̅̅=̲̅̅|̲̅̅●̲̅̅] Lange Welle ~ Mittelwelle ~ Kurze Welle ~ Ultra Kurze Welle
many thanks to all developers who let me share their "open" sdk ideas to complete them
save scope, make familyware!

User avatar
valis
Posts: 5363
Joined: Sun Sep 23, 2001 4:00 pm
Location: West Coast USA
Contact:

Re: JADZIA

Post by valis »

:D
Attachments
Dax_reaction_to_temporal_investigations_people.jpg
Dax_reaction_to_temporal_investigations_people.jpg (79.45 KiB) Viewed 3874 times

User avatar
Spielraum
Posts: 369
Joined: Fri Apr 18, 2014 1:11 pm
Location: Raumschiff Erde

Re: JADZIA

Post by Spielraum »

uijuijuihh
nicy+thx
|̲̅̅●̲̅̅|̲̅̅=̲̅̅|̲̅̅●̲̅̅] Lange Welle ~ Mittelwelle ~ Kurze Welle ~ Ultra Kurze Welle
many thanks to all developers who let me share their "open" sdk ideas to complete them
save scope, make familyware!

User avatar
t_tangent
Posts: 792
Joined: Sun Dec 28, 2003 4:00 pm
Location: UK

Re: JADZIA

Post by t_tangent »

Yes thanks Soren, will try this later. Looks very cool

Ambient Source
Posts: 88
Joined: Thu Nov 29, 2012 7:12 am
Contact:

Re: JADZIA

Post by Ambient Source »

hi, it wont load on my xite 1d, 'missing DSP check instalation'

User avatar
t_tangent
Posts: 792
Joined: Sun Dec 28, 2003 4:00 pm
Location: UK

Re: JADZIA

Post by t_tangent »

Unfortunately crashed my Scope 5.1 PCI setup with BSOD. Haven't tried on other setup yet.

soren_jepsen
Posts: 65
Joined: Sat Feb 06, 2010 12:52 pm

Re: JADZIA

Post by soren_jepsen »

@t_tangent
Damn.....I'm using Scope7. I'm away from home until friday, but I'll try to revert to Scope 5, and test it there.

@Ambient source
hmmm, dunno what that is.....did you copy the dll file to Scope's dll folder? What version of Scope are you running?

Anyone else have issues, please let me know!


Cheers
Søren

User avatar
t_tangent
Posts: 792
Joined: Sun Dec 28, 2003 4:00 pm
Location: UK

Re: JADZIA

Post by t_tangent »

Thanks for the hint Soren, I forgot to copy the dll file to App -> Dll folder. I have done that now, and no more BSOD, so the device loads ok now, but I now get error message "Can't find DSP file Jadzia - Please check installation."

If I ignore this and ok the message the graphics all seem to work, but no sound. I have tried a couple of times but still no go.
But no worries, will wait until you get back and have time to check that, so no hurry. :)

But yeah, it looks great and I like the virtual LCD display, and thanks again. :)

Ambient Source
Posts: 88
Joined: Thu Nov 29, 2012 7:12 am
Contact:

Re: JADZIA

Post by Ambient Source »

hi i'm running scope 7, I get the "Can't find DSP file Jadzia - Please check installation." error message
the graphics load but no sound

User avatar
yayajohn
Posts: 1321
Joined: Thu Mar 01, 2007 5:01 pm
Location: Everywhere....Nowhere

Re: JADZIA

Post by yayajohn »

Thank you Soren! Really nice synth. I love the layout and workflow and esp. how the # of voices can be set per the preset. Genius!
The midi activity in the eye of the Raven is a nice touch too :)

User avatar
t_tangent
Posts: 792
Joined: Sun Dec 28, 2003 4:00 pm
Location: UK

Re: JADZIA

Post by t_tangent »

Just tried Jadzia on my studio DAW which is Windows 7 64bit running Scope 7 PCI 64bit and Scope 7 XITE 64bit, and I am happy to say it worked perfectly on both the PCI cards and XITE-1. I guess on my other tester Scope pc it may be some runtime update is needed so I will try checking that, but yes it works great on the main studio system. Like Yaya says, it has some nice little touches in the design too. Nice work there Soren, and thanks again.

User avatar
Marco
Posts: 1260
Joined: Thu Oct 10, 2013 4:27 pm
Location: Ödenwald

Re: JADZIA

Post by Marco »

This synth is so unusual, it is worth to make a demo Song..... Let's See what I can do.
:wink: out and about for music production. Are you still configguring your Studio :lol: music first!

User avatar
roy thinnes
Posts: 628
Joined: Thu Jan 09, 2003 4:00 pm
Location: Graz
Contact:

Re: JADZIA

Post by roy thinnes »

Hi Søren,
thanks for this synth device, sounds really good!
Interesting to see how you've got these Roland-style envelopes working. Good job!

Synth works stable here on PCI 64bit, but with a few glitches:

- If Bp is used, polyphony is restricted (maybe somehow dsp-related?)
- Wave/MW not working here
- Wave/AT: doesn't work as PM source, instead boosts Lfo1 as PM source
- Filter/AT: not working here
Probably a Xite/Pci thingy, I just wanted to let you know.

Nagging:
- Display values are hard to recognize. (I see you wanted to copy the original synth's display - maybe some darker background would have done it?)
- no envelope slope controls
- envelope vel controls behave exactly the opposite way as expected, for example filter env:
positive values: high vel>low filter cf; low vel>high cf, negative values: high velo>high cf, low velo> low cf
- no NoOfVoices display (is it stored in Presets btw?)

Other than that, it's good to see someone is still making a synth device with new circuit ideas (Osc waves, Env)! Please keep on :)

Post Reply