Luna 2496 I/O box issues

An area for people to discuss Scope related problems, issues, etc.

Moderators: valis, garyb

shockwave1312

Luna 2496 I/O box issues

Post by shockwave1312 »

Hi, I am relatively new to the scope system but Ive had a Luna card for ages but just didn't use it and forgot i had it, until recently when I was clearing stuff out over lockdown, so now I'm getting my head around it and how the routing works, I've managed to route the I/O box as channels on traktor DJ and route to an external mixer , which works fine but I get this god awfull noise from the box ,it can only be described as low system noise/interference. even when I move the mouse about I can hear it ,is there any way I can stop it from happening? Is it something to do with the type of FireWire cable I'm using ? As I had to acquire that for the I/O box as it didn't come with one. Is it something to do with IRQ conflicts or something like that I don't know?
I also use a Novation X-Station keyboard as a soundcard sometimes and I don't get any that interference from it .

Hope someone can help ,thanks
garyb

Re: Luna 2496 I/O box issues

Post by garyb »

sounds like there is a ground issue somewhere in the audio chain. it's a hum or buzz, right?
the X-Station has nothing to do with that, if the noise doesn't go away when you don't have it connected to anything.

this is not a Scope issue, necessarily. whenever you have several (audio) things connected together, there is the chance of a ground loop. studio basics 101. :) try googling for info about audio ground loops.
shockwave1312

Post by shockwave1312 »

Hi, thanks for the reply .

It's not realy a hum or a buzz sound , its sounds more like electrical interference from my pc. If I could add an audio clip it would help.
the19thbear

Post by the19thbear »

had the same with the luna box back in the day.
The combination of unbalanced signals no grounding and an old PSU caused issues.

My suggestion: