Broken ADAT port?

An area for people to discuss Scope related problems, issues, etc.

Moderators: valis, garyb

bgarlow

Broken ADAT port?

Post by bgarlow »

Hi,

The ADAT in port on my Scope card doesn't seem to work, and I'm hoping someone has some tips on troubleshooting. I have a 15 DSP and a 6 DSP card in my pc, both z-link. When I connect the Scope card to my Presonus FireStudio via ADAT, I get no signal into the Scope card, and the ADAT "LED" in the scope software settings isn't lit up. If I try the same setup, same cables, etc. on the Power Pulsar card, it works fine - I get signal in and the ADAT "LED" in the software is lit up for the Pulsar. The output on the Scope card does work, just not the input.

Do I have a bad ADAT in port, or is there something else I can try? I've never used the ADAT ports before, so if it's broken its been that way for years.

thanks,
Brent
Stompa81

Post by Stompa81 »

Im a very new scope user so my help is going to be pretty minimal. Im also A Optical Fibre technician so I will make a Few suggestions on what i think may be wrong on the physical side of things, and Im not even sure If this appliies to ADAT ports, but I hope this will give you A starting point.

1) Is the TX(transmit) port of Scope ADAT connected to RX(recieve) on your Fire Studio and vice versa??

2) If you can hire one, Get an optical Light meter and take some light readings through your patch cords, im not too sure of ADAT spec. light levels, but im sure you should get a reading between -20 dBm and -40 dBm(mabye even less,in Telco Terms -10 dBm will transmit 25KM along single mode fibre).