Some Keys not working

An area for people to discuss Scope related problems, issues, etc.

Moderators: valis, garyb

Post Reply
catscratch
Posts: 271
Joined: Wed Nov 29, 2006 7:05 am

Some Keys not working

Post by catscratch » Wed Jul 10, 2019 6:19 am

I should take this up with support directly but thought I'd ask here first. I'm in the middle of the rather long process of installing on a new system and some keys are not working . I get stuck in an endless loop of "invalid key" messages. This is happening with some of the Zarg (John Bowen) synths and Formula x (Ocean Swift) specifically. Suggestions?

CS

User avatar
garyb
Posts: 22140
Joined: Sun Apr 15, 2001 4:00 pm
Location: ghetto by the sea

Re: Some Keys not working

Post by garyb » Wed Jul 10, 2019 7:10 am

are you sure that you are using post v5 keys?

they don't go bad. this is a support issue.

catscratch
Posts: 271
Joined: Wed Nov 29, 2006 7:05 am

Re: Some Keys not working

Post by catscratch » Wed Jul 10, 2019 7:13 am

...and now the ghost Dynomic and Saw are giving errors...can't find file xxxx. But the files are there and in the correct folder.

I really dislike setting up a new system! Sorry if I'm sounding frustrated.

I haven't done this for years and feel like I'm forgetting something or maybe the install files are not correct? All files were recently downloaded from SC.

catscratch
Posts: 271
Joined: Wed Nov 29, 2006 7:05 am

Re: Some Keys not working

Post by catscratch » Wed Jul 10, 2019 7:18 am

garyb wrote:
Wed Jul 10, 2019 7:10 am
are you sure that you are using post v5 keys?

they don't go bad. this is a support issue.
Do you mean there are new keys for app version 7? This is a fresh install of 7.

petal
Posts: 2272
Joined: Sun Sep 15, 2002 4:00 pm
Location: Copenhagen
Contact:

Re: Some Keys not working

Post by petal » Wed Jul 10, 2019 7:30 am

If you have a backup of an old installation, you can "just" copy the "keyfile" (in SCOPE\APP\BIN) from the backup and put it at the same place (copy over the installed keyfile).

If I remember correctly, you are now ready to install without the need for keys, because they are already there :)

catscratch
Posts: 271
Joined: Wed Nov 29, 2006 7:05 am

Re: Some Keys not working

Post by catscratch » Wed Jul 10, 2019 7:37 am

petal wrote:
Wed Jul 10, 2019 7:30 am
If you have a backup of an old installation, you can "just" copy the "keyfile" (in SCOPE\APP\BIN) from the backup and put it at the same place (copy over the installed keyfile).

If I remember correctly, you are now ready to install without the need for keys, because they are already there :)

I do have ver. 5 installed on anther machine. I'll try this.

Thank you Patel.

User avatar
garyb
Posts: 22140
Joined: Sun Apr 15, 2001 4:00 pm
Location: ghetto by the sea

Re: Some Keys not working

Post by garyb » Wed Jul 10, 2019 7:48 am

no, v7 uses v5 keys for optional devices.

be sure you have 64bit files. be sure that you don't mix up PCI and XITE files.
you could also install v7 on top of an old v5 installation that has all the correct files in place.

catscratch
Posts: 271
Joined: Wed Nov 29, 2006 7:05 am

Re: Some Keys not working

Post by catscratch » Wed Jul 10, 2019 12:24 pm

garyb wrote:
Wed Jul 10, 2019 7:48 am
no, v7 uses v5 keys for optional devices.

be sure you have 64bit files. be sure that you don't mix up PCI and XITE files.
you could also install v7 on top of an old v5 installation that has all the correct files in place.
Thanks g. Ran out of time and patience for today. Back at it tomorrow.

Post Reply