Cracks and Pops - which line filter ?

An area for people to discuss Scope related problems, issues, etc.

Moderators: valis, garyb

User avatar
dante
Posts: 3937
Joined: Sat Nov 24, 2001 4:00 pm
Location: Melbourne Australia
Contact:

Re: Cracks and Pops - which line filter ?

Post by dante » Thu Nov 08, 2018 5:13 pm

spacef wrote:
Thu Nov 08, 2018 1:35 pm
i have the same problem for a few weeks now. the back ups is dead (apc pro-1500, 5 or 6 years old only).... I can't record anything without clicks and static spike noises now... What would you recommend ?
Thor

User avatar
spacef
Posts: 2622
Joined: Sun Jun 17, 2001 4:00 pm
Contact:

Re: Cracks and Pops - which line filter ?

Post by spacef » Fri Nov 09, 2018 2:01 am

I can't find such a thing over here.... what's the generic name of such device? (ie, power supply? hum suppressor? etc etc).

JoPo
Posts: 2306
Joined: Wed Jun 05, 2002 4:00 pm
Location: VRRAAaaooOôOooommmh
Contact:

Re: Cracks and Pops - which line filter ?

Post by JoPo » Fri Nov 09, 2018 4:35 am

spacef wrote:
Thu Nov 08, 2018 1:35 pm
i have the same problem for a few weeks now. the back ups is dead (apc pro-1500, 5 or 6 years old only).... I can't record anything without clicks and static spike noises now... What would you recommend ?
Isn't it just the battery that would be dead ?
So, since your ups is dead, you removed it and now, you have click noise ? :o

I've found that :
http://www.e44.com/connectique/connecte ... 25010.html
Or that :
https://www.conrad.fr/ce/fr/overview/02 ... parasitage?

But not any audio dedicated filter (which are much more expensive for, I bet, the same thing inside...) Take care to the Ampère value ! It's around I=P/U, so for a 10A filter, the max power should be around P=UI = 240x10 = 2400W, in reality, it's a bit more complicated but this method gives you an idea of what filter you should find (if you know what power there is on your supply !).
> > > > > > > > > > > > --- Musica --> here ! ---< < < < < < < < < < < <

User avatar
spacef
Posts: 2622
Joined: Sun Jun 17, 2001 4:00 pm
Contact:

Re: Cracks and Pops - which line filter ?

Post by spacef » Fri Nov 09, 2018 7:34 am

JoPo wrote:
Fri Nov 09, 2018 4:35 am

Isn't it just the battery that would be dead ?
So, since your ups is dead, you removed it and now, you have click noise ? :o

I've found that :
http://www.e44.com/connectique/connecte ... 25010.html
Or that :
https://www.conrad.fr/ce/fr/overview/02 ... parasitage?
the battery is dead but I haven't removed the ups yet, I must move a whole bunch of furniture to access the wall plug.
I will put a phase reversable plug first ( Schuko plug), then something else.

As I haven't removed the back ups, it could be something else, but it coincides in timing. Then I found this thread which describes the exact same problem so it could be that. What is certain is that the electricty is not great where i am now, i know it can be better.
Will keep you posted when solved.

User avatar
dante
Posts: 3937
Joined: Sat Nov 24, 2001 4:00 pm
Location: Melbourne Australia
Contact:

Re: Cracks and Pops - which line filter ?

Post by dante » Fri Nov 09, 2018 2:32 pm

spacef wrote:
Fri Nov 09, 2018 2:01 am
I can't find such a thing over here.... what's the generic name of such device? (ie, power supply? hum suppressor? etc etc).
I would say generically it comes under 'Power Protection and Filtration'.

https://www.thortechnologies.com.au/product/smart-duo/

I bought it from a hi-fi shop - so thought well that's targeted towards audio

https://klappav.com.au/

I haven't really looked at hifi stuff for so long - looks like some cool products nowadays....including Marantz etc. Been so caught up in DAW / recording hi-tech over the last decades I forgot about this kinda stuff.

JoPo
Posts: 2306
Joined: Wed Jun 05, 2002 4:00 pm
Location: VRRAAaaooOôOooommmh
Contact:

Re: Cracks and Pops - which line filter ?

Post by JoPo » Sat Nov 10, 2018 4:07 am

I would take care with that kind of hifi shop ! Some people can spend fortunes for improving the sound quality ! They know that and sale cheap devices 10 times the price ! Or even useless gear.
For instance, hifi fans buy cables which carry only digital data 10 times more expensive and they are convinced the sound is better ! But it's digital data, not analog ! :roll: And of course, the cable manufacturer says what hifi crazy people want to hear !

Anyway... I would check the sound after removing the ups before to buy any filter ! :wink: As the issue happend exactly at the same time it stoped to work, I bet it's the cause.
> > > > > > > > > > > > --- Musica --> here ! ---< < < < < < < < < < < <

User avatar
dante
Posts: 3937
Joined: Sat Nov 24, 2001 4:00 pm
Location: Melbourne Australia
Contact:

Re: Cracks and Pops - which line filter ?

Post by dante » Sat Jun 15, 2019 7:20 pm

I found a post on a Reason or UAD forum that spoke of WiFi causing interference in recording setups, and says the High performance setting stopped the Wifi interference. I tried it - as Ive had this issue for ages now - a little less since buyed the line filter - but still there - and low and behold - I have had crackle free sessions since I tweaked this yesterday !!!!! WTF ? WTF ? Who would have thought of this ???? DOH ! But its WORKING !!!! woohooo
High Performance Power Settings.jpg
High Performance Power Settings.jpg (81.65 KiB) Viewed 763 times

User avatar
spacef
Posts: 2622
Joined: Sun Jun 17, 2001 4:00 pm
Contact:

Re: Cracks and Pops - which line filter ?

Post by spacef » Sat Jun 15, 2019 9:41 pm

Thanks JoPo, for some reason I was in "normal usage".... i've set it up to high perf...seems ok but too soon to say...
not sure why it was in "normal mode"....

User avatar
dante
Posts: 3937
Joined: Sat Nov 24, 2001 4:00 pm
Location: Melbourne Australia
Contact:

Re: Cracks and Pops - which line filter ?

Post by dante » Sat Jun 15, 2019 10:31 pm

JoPo ?

User avatar
spacef
Posts: 2622
Joined: Sun Jun 17, 2001 4:00 pm
Contact:

Re: Cracks and Pops - which line filter ?

Post by spacef » Sat Jun 15, 2019 11:39 pm

Sorry Dante :-) mixed replies and posters.... + i really need goggles nowadays.....

User avatar
garyb
Posts: 22017
Joined: Sun Apr 15, 2001 4:00 pm
Location: ghetto by the sea

Re: Cracks and Pops - which line filter ?

Post by garyb » Sun Jun 16, 2019 8:03 am

there is nothing special about performance mode. it merely disables much of the power saving functions that can be turned off by "changing plan settings".

User avatar
dante
Posts: 3937
Joined: Sat Nov 24, 2001 4:00 pm
Location: Melbourne Australia
Contact:

Re: Cracks and Pops - which line filter ?

Post by dante » Sun Jun 16, 2019 1:10 pm

Well, heres the article :

https://uadforum.com/support-troublesho ... g2019.html

"Is seems that the wifi chip sends other polar patters while not beeing in high performance mode".

User avatar
garyb
Posts: 22017
Joined: Sun Apr 15, 2001 4:00 pm
Location: ghetto by the sea

Re: Cracks and Pops - which line filter ?

Post by garyb » Sun Jun 16, 2019 3:00 pm

"patters"?

whatever. if it works, that's great. sounds like a wifi adapter problem...

User avatar
dante
Posts: 3937
Joined: Sat Nov 24, 2001 4:00 pm
Location: Melbourne Australia
Contact:

Re: Cracks and Pops - which line filter ?

Post by dante » Sun Jun 16, 2019 3:13 pm

I would think patters = patterns - and beeing = being :)

Terms like 'polar patterns' I've seen in the microphone manual as the direction the mic picks up sound from. e.g. there's a switch on my mic power box where I can select the pick up 'patters' :)

What the hell a WiFi device is doing sending Polar Patterns I dunno. But if the fix works, it works I guess - Ill take it even if by coincidence.

User avatar
garyb
Posts: 22017
Joined: Sun Apr 15, 2001 4:00 pm
Location: ghetto by the sea

Re: Cracks and Pops - which line filter ?

Post by garyb » Sun Jun 16, 2019 4:21 pm

agree 100%

User avatar
valis
Posts: 4986
Joined: Sun Sep 23, 2001 4:00 pm
Location: West Coast USA
Contact:

Re: Cracks and Pops - which line filter ?

Post by valis » Sun Jun 16, 2019 8:33 pm

Sounds more like the device goes into a lower power mode and lags in responding to system requests for i/o. Most of these modern Wifi/ether/etc chipsets are PIO mode, like USB, which means that they are dumb IC's and driven by a software stack on your CPU. In 'high performance' mode they are always ready & processing data, so the stream is consistent and the interrupt handling is handed off fine. Intel chipsets are still coprocessed for LAN & Wifi, fwiw (and Bluetooth).

Post Reply