PCI-e to PCI extender for Scope ( experiment going to be a solution :) )

PC Configurations, motherboards, etc, etc

Moderators: valis, garyb

User avatar
garyb
Posts: 21976
Joined: Sun Apr 15, 2001 4:00 pm
Location: ghetto by the sea

Re: PCI-e to PCI extender for Scope ( experiment going to be a solution :) )

Post by garyb » Thu Jul 04, 2019 7:39 am

no. :)

bosone
Posts: 1481
Joined: Sun Mar 25, 2001 4:00 pm
Location: Italy
Contact:

Re: PCI-e to PCI extender for Scope ( experiment going to be a solution :) )

Post by bosone » Fri Jul 12, 2019 5:55 am

It arrived today! super fast from China/Hong-Kong!!
I hope to test it on the next week. I came to the conclusion to setup an additional case, and to bring the extender and the scope+pulsar boards to this second case. otherwise i have no way to install it in my current configuration.
I will also detach my 2 hard disks to this second case, so that i maybe remove more sources of heating in my system.
i'll keep you informed! :)

snoopy4ever
Posts: 359
Joined: Tue Feb 19, 2002 4:00 pm
Location: Costa Rica

Re: PCI-e to PCI extender for Scope ( experiment going to be a solution :) )

Post by snoopy4ever » Fri Jul 12, 2019 6:14 am

bosone wrote:
Fri Jul 12, 2019 5:55 am
It arrived today! super fast from China/Hong-Kong!!
I hope to test it on the next week. I came to the conclusion to setup an additional case, and to bring the extender and the scope+pulsar boards to this second case. otherwise i have no way to install it in my current configuration.
I will also detach my 2 hard disks to this second case, so that i maybe remove more sources of heating in my system.
i'll keep you informed! :)
cool bosone !!!! pls keep us posted and good luck with the tests ... I see performance coming :D

bosone
Posts: 1481
Joined: Sun Mar 25, 2001 4:00 pm
Location: Italy
Contact:

Re: PCI-e to PCI extender for Scope ( experiment going to be a solution :) )

Post by bosone » Fri Jul 12, 2019 11:44 pm

Just a dumb question before I start: should I download and install some driver??

bosone
Posts: 1481
Joined: Sun Mar 25, 2001 4:00 pm
Location: Italy
Contact:

Re: PCI-e to PCI extender for Scope ( experiment going to be a solution :) )

Post by bosone » Sat Jul 13, 2019 12:03 am

... nevemind. the question was really dumb!

http://eshop.sintech.cn/pcie-express-x1 ... p-977.html

"No drivers required"

:P

bosone
Posts: 1481
Joined: Sun Mar 25, 2001 4:00 pm
Location: Italy
Contact:

Re: PCI-e to PCI extender for Scope ( experiment going to be a solution :) )

Post by bosone » Tue Jul 16, 2019 10:39 pm

sad news: It is not working on my system!!!!

the driver installed but with two cards on the PCI extender i got a communication error with a DSP of a board and some more errors.
so SFP is not loading at all.

i have tried to install just one card (scope 15 dsp) removing the pulsar (6 DSP): SFP is starting but i see no improvement at all in PCI performances. I can load 9 masterverb either with the PCI extender or in the standard configuration.

so i'll simply give up... :(
maybe is my gigabyte board.

i also tried two different PCIe slots but in one of them the system is not starting at all.

if someone wants to try i can give him the board for something less than what i paid it...

David
Posts: 687
Joined: Wed Jan 09, 2002 4:00 pm
Location: Modular IV

Re: PCI-e to PCI extender for Scope ( experiment going to be a solution :) )

Post by David » Thu Jul 18, 2019 2:48 am

I tried this on my system too with an oem card with the same chip (£13) with a similar outcome on a Scope 5 installation
Also a gigabyte board
2 boards pulsar 1 & 2
Both cards install drivers
Pulsar 1 had board communication error but was corrected by reloading dsps
Keyfile import sucess
Then error : installation error or invalid key! Cant start Scope application
Scope 5 doesn't load

It's the same with either card in either combination or on their own with xite running or without
I'll keep fiddling, at least both these boards are still ok

Had a moment where pulsar2 was seen as an Xite device but that went nowhere too!

bosone
Posts: 1481
Joined: Sun Mar 25, 2001 4:00 pm
Location: Italy
Contact:

Re: PCI-e to PCI extender for Scope ( experiment going to be a solution :) )

Post by bosone » Thu Jul 18, 2019 2:55 am

my idea is that you can use the PCI extender to add a single card to your system but can not rely on it to use 2 cards or to increase the PCI bandwidth performance. in fact i had the same masterverb count with or without the PCI extender (using only the scope board)

in my case i could probably add a third card but i don't really need it...

User avatar
valis
Posts: 4941
Joined: Sun Sep 23, 2001 4:00 pm
Location: West Coast USA
Contact:

Re: PCI-e to PCI extender for Scope ( experiment going to be a solution :) )

Post by valis » Thu Jul 18, 2019 10:14 am

Since I've been reading this thread piecemeal and am at work, has someone been able to use this solution as a way to ADD more PCI slots to a system that has 1 working slot? Ie, your 'master' Scope card is in the physical PCI slot and these simply add 2 more electrical connections to expand your Scope cards, but the primary card remains in the PCI slot that is attached to the motherboard...?

bosone
Posts: 1481
Joined: Sun Mar 25, 2001 4:00 pm
Location: Italy
Contact:

Re: PCI-e to PCI extender for Scope ( experiment going to be a solution :) )

Post by bosone » Thu Jul 18, 2019 10:45 am

I would say that the PCI extender will add just 1 PCI slot. so you should be able to keep 1 card on the main board and 1 card on the PCI extender.

User avatar
valis
Posts: 4941
Joined: Sun Sep 23, 2001 4:00 pm
Location: West Coast USA
Contact:

Re: PCI-e to PCI extender for Scope ( experiment going to be a solution :) )

Post by valis » Thu Jul 18, 2019 11:16 am

Thanks, so a highly compatible motherboard plus one of these is an option for those who wish to go that route.

I'm still running a P4 era dual xeon rig that is rather loud, largely due to being a SCSI based machine with 10k rpm drives. Being able to move that box to a modern low thermal solution would be great, imo, and I would prefer something newer than Core2Quad. So this opens up options quite a bit.

User avatar
garyb
Posts: 21976
Joined: Sun Apr 15, 2001 4:00 pm
Location: ghetto by the sea

Re: PCI-e to PCI extender for Scope ( experiment going to be a solution :) )

Post by garyb » Thu Jul 18, 2019 4:55 pm

sure, but unless you really wanted cutting edge, z87/97 motherboards and processors take no additional hardware and would still be a major step up for you.

User avatar
valis
Posts: 4941
Joined: Sun Sep 23, 2001 4:00 pm
Location: West Coast USA
Contact:

Re: PCI-e to PCI extender for Scope ( experiment going to be a solution :) )

Post by valis » Thu Jul 18, 2019 11:48 pm

I was thinking perhaps AMD, but who know...won’t do that until winter at least.

User avatar
at0m
Posts: 4637
Joined: Sat Jun 30, 2001 4:00 pm
Location: Bubble Metropolis
Contact:

Re: PCI-e to PCI extender for Scope ( experiment going to be a solution :) )

Post by at0m » Thu Jul 18, 2019 11:58 pm

et voila:
27DSPviaPCIe-2-PCI.png
27DSPviaPCIe-2-PCI.png (42.54 KiB) Viewed 320 times
For now, I've added this 6DSP XTC-card with no IO, and I've only loosely hung it inside the PC case. No MV testing, just loaded yesterday's project.

The ultimate test ofc would be to move all 3 DSP cards to those expansion cards (I have 2), for those motherboards who don't even have PCI slots. But I don't have a need for that nor a proper machine for that now, and also..
The ADAT connectors on my other cards (Scope, Pulsar2) aren't too convenient to remove and insert (quite some force is required for that, damn metal connectors on the cables), so this is ok for me - for now. Later I may go look for an extra IO board, but I'll have to jump that bridge when I cross it ;p
more has been done with less

David
Posts: 687
Joined: Wed Jan 09, 2002 4:00 pm
Location: Modular IV

Re: PCI-e to PCI extender for Scope ( experiment going to be a solution :) )

Post by David » Tue Jul 23, 2019 12:33 am

Gigabyte aorus z390 no pci slots
Added oem pcie to pci card with same chip
Loads with Pulsar2
8 Masterverbs
No errors

Also loading a Pulsar 1 rev1 - but this card can cause worldclock errors when loaded alongside Pulsar2 in certain pcie slots, however which combination doesn't work hasn't been fully tested

Thank you for the heads up on this solution - it's much quieter this way than a 2nd pc

Post Reply