Bummer

An area for people to discuss Scope related problems, issues, etc.

Moderators: valis, garyb

dawman
Posts: 13227
Joined: Sun Jul 24, 2005 4:00 pm
Location: PROJECT WINDOW

Bummer

Post by dawman » Mon Aug 06, 2018 10:29 pm

New Windows 10 build seemed ready to go.
Installed the new Scope 7, had to reseat the Card, etc. disable driver signing, then found the drivers, all looked good.
But as soon as I go to start Scope, the little blue circle appears, the mouse arrow freezes and I’m in lockdown.
Have to unplug the power, etc.
Same stuff over and over.
Reinstalled from CD wiped the drive clean, repeated all of the above, same freeze.

I’ve never had this happen before so I’m stumped.
Anyone ever see this behavior?

Scope was being it’s usual finicky self, but I know the tricks to get the set up working.

Just never saw this before.

Any idears?

User avatar
garyb
Posts: 21664
Joined: Sun Apr 15, 2001 4:00 pm
Location: ghetto by the sea

Re: Bummer

Post by garyb » Mon Aug 06, 2018 11:13 pm

windows 10?

there should be no need to do things like disable driver signing with v7. that driver is signed.

dawman
Posts: 13227
Joined: Sun Jul 24, 2005 4:00 pm
Location: PROJECT WINDOW

Re: Bummer

Post by dawman » Tue Aug 07, 2018 12:03 am

Well I put the PCI-e 1X Card in the 16X Slot and everything loaded up just fine.
Seems the PCI-e 1X Slot caused the freeze.

But now Scope imports the keyfile successfully too, but stops dead in its tracks because of an installation error or invalid activation key message.

Where should I place my keyfile?
It goes to App/Bin, but doesn't seem to like that.
So I copy my recent keyfile to Projects Folder, no Bueno....

At least the drivers and the app work after 4 installs of Windows 10.
I need some drugs or Jager after this.

dawman
Posts: 13227
Joined: Sun Jul 24, 2005 4:00 pm
Location: PROJECT WINDOW

Re: Bummer

Post by dawman » Tue Aug 07, 2018 6:21 am

garyb wrote:
Mon Aug 06, 2018 11:13 pm
windows 10?

there should be no need to do things like disable driver signing with v7. that driver is signed.
Is there a way to reverse the #7 option in the Start Up Settings?
I’m thinking maybe that being on now has messed up the installation?

Also I have the Logo/Shortcut thins and the Keyfile on the Desktop.
They both have little green checkboxes with a check on them.

I’m so no t used to 10 I can’t even figure out a way to show Printscreen/paste using a Bitmap instance to show pictures.

He’ll I bought this board because of the NMVe layout right under the 3 fans at a horizontal angle, and it actually has a PCI-e 1X slot.
Would love to get that working as it’s a real snug fit.
Only trouble I ever have with other 4U and 1U builds is that it somes losse sometimes and scares the hell out of me at a soundcheck...

dawman
Posts: 13227
Joined: Sun Jul 24, 2005 4:00 pm
Location: PROJECT WINDOW

Re: Bummer

Post by dawman » Tue Aug 07, 2018 7:12 am

Finally figured out how to take a snapshot.
001.jpg
001.jpg (16.21 KiB) Viewed 504 times

Ripper
Posts: 205
Joined: Tue Jan 08, 2013 5:33 am

Re: Bummer

Post by Ripper » Tue Aug 07, 2018 7:17 am

The key file should be in the bin folder and Scope run as admin.
I have V7 PCI with Windows 10 and have no issues on that regard.

dawman
Posts: 13227
Joined: Sun Jul 24, 2005 4:00 pm
Location: PROJECT WINDOW

Re: Bummer

Post by dawman » Tue Aug 07, 2018 7:21 am

Yep tried that folder since it was default. Tried desktop, tried placement in projects folder, not sure that the importing of keyfile is the issue.
002.jpg
002.jpg (51.89 KiB) Viewed 503 times

Ripper
Posts: 205
Joined: Tue Jan 08, 2013 5:33 am

Re: Bummer

Post by Ripper » Tue Aug 07, 2018 7:28 am

I usually put the file itself in the folder. Don't remember if i have used that import function.

dawman
Posts: 13227
Joined: Sun Jul 24, 2005 4:00 pm
Location: PROJECT WINDOW

Re: Bummer

Post by dawman » Tue Aug 07, 2018 7:38 am

Odd though because it shows the import was a success.
It’s followed by the installation error message, then goes blank.
So we have connections, and imports workings, it’s the validation or installation.

I’m trying to figure out a way to reverse the disable driver signing trick I used, which now seems unnecessary according to others.

Babysitting for 3 more hours, then I get mess around some more.
I’m confident we’ll figure out what’s wrong.
The hardest trickiest procedures are working, so while this a new one on me, it’s easy probably.

Ripper
Posts: 205
Joined: Tue Jan 08, 2013 5:33 am

Re: Bummer

Post by Ripper » Tue Aug 07, 2018 7:49 am

Do you mean, how to remove the driver signing enforcement thing?


command prompt as admin:
bcdedit /set testsigning off

restart

dawman
Posts: 13227
Joined: Sun Jul 24, 2005 4:00 pm
Location: PROJECT WINDOW

Re: Bummer

Post by dawman » Tue Aug 07, 2018 8:24 am

Awesome, thanks, hope that applies in Windows 10.
I’ve 2 1/2 hours left of babysitting dawman the 3rd.
Then I can have my life back.
This child is the offspring of Lucifer....

Ripper
Posts: 205
Joined: Tue Jan 08, 2013 5:33 am

Re: Bummer

Post by Ripper » Tue Aug 07, 2018 8:25 am

Hehehe.
Yes, it works in W10.

dawman
Posts: 13227
Joined: Sun Jul 24, 2005 4:00 pm
Location: PROJECT WINDOW

Re: Bummer

Post by dawman » Tue Aug 07, 2018 8:52 am

First thing I’ll try when the seed of chunky takes a nap.

Ripper
Posts: 205
Joined: Tue Jan 08, 2013 5:33 am

Re: Bummer

Post by Ripper » Tue Aug 07, 2018 8:56 am

You should save the Scope folder uninstall, reboot and re-install (you know the rest :) )

User avatar
garyb
Posts: 21664
Joined: Sun Apr 15, 2001 4:00 pm
Location: ghetto by the sea

Re: Bummer

Post by garyb » Tue Aug 07, 2018 9:53 am

do NOT disable driver signing. the v7 driver is signed!

the v7 key is just a key. your v5 keyfile is for your additional keys, which don't need to be remade.

copy the v7 key from the email and paste it into the registration window.

Ripper
Posts: 205
Joined: Tue Jan 08, 2013 5:33 am

Re: Bummer

Post by Ripper » Tue Aug 07, 2018 9:57 am

That is what he is going to with the command line command i gave him Gary: put driver signing on again.

User avatar
garyb
Posts: 21664
Joined: Sun Apr 15, 2001 4:00 pm
Location: ghetto by the sea

Re: Bummer

Post by garyb » Tue Aug 07, 2018 10:32 am

ok, but i think his problem is that he isn't using the v7 key. he's using his keyfile, which doesn't have the new v7 key. whether driver signing is off or on, the problem isn't related. :)


senior moments and a lifetime of brain abuse....or that might be me...

Ripper
Posts: 205
Joined: Tue Jan 08, 2013 5:33 am

Re: Bummer

Post by Ripper » Tue Aug 07, 2018 11:21 am

garyb wrote:
Tue Aug 07, 2018 10:32 am
ok, but i think his problem is that he isn't using the v7 key. he's using his keyfile, which doesn't have the new v7 key. whether driver signing is off or on, the problem isn't related. :)


senior moments and a lifetime of brain abuse....or that might be me...
I would be surprised if a long time user like Jimmy was forgetting that! But brain abuse can do some funny trickery! :D

dawman
Posts: 13227
Joined: Sun Jul 24, 2005 4:00 pm
Location: PROJECT WINDOW

Re: Bummer

Post by dawman » Tue Aug 07, 2018 1:32 pm

garyb wrote:
Tue Aug 07, 2018 10:32 am
ok, but i think his problem is that he isn't using the v7 key. he's using his keyfile, which doesn't have the new v7 key. whether driver signing is off or on, the problem isn't related. :)


senior moments and a lifetime of brain abuse....or that might be me...

GaryB was right, I forgot to use the Activation Key.
It’s all good now, just more Native depression.

I did get one PCI Overflow but when I was installing Bidule.
Haven’t seen it since, so I’m probably heading in the right direction now.

User avatar
Bud Weiser
Posts: 1437
Joined: Tue Sep 14, 2010 5:29 am
Location: nowhere land

Re: Bummer

Post by Bud Weiser » Tue Aug 07, 2018 10:03 pm

dawman wrote:
Tue Aug 07, 2018 1:32 pm

GaryB was right, I forgot to use the Activation Key.
It’s all good now, just more Native depression.
I followed this thread w/ some uneasy feeling.
Great it runs now !

B.t.w., are you talking about SCOPEv7/ Win10 installation on the ASUS P10S-M WS / Intel C236 chipset / Intel XEON E3-1275v6 build ?
Or is it the z370 ?

:)

Bud

Post Reply