looking into/modding existing devices ?

A place for developers to share ideas and assist each other in solving problems.

Moderators: valis, garyb

Post Reply
nebelfuerst
Posts: 92
Joined: Tue Jun 23, 2009 10:55 am

looking into/modding existing devices ?

Post by nebelfuerst » Mon Jul 16, 2018 12:53 pm

Is there a way to look into or even modify existing devices ?
If I load some devs into SDK7, everything seems to be locked..

mausmuso
Posts: 385
Joined: Wed Apr 25, 2001 4:00 pm

Re: looking into/modding existing devices ?

Post by mausmuso » Mon Jul 16, 2018 2:14 pm

Yes everything is locked and you can't modify them.
I believe you can load devices into an empty module and then link the controls of the originals to a new panel layout.
I have not done this but I remember reading about it sometime back.
Likely not what you want do though.
maus

nebelfuerst
Posts: 92
Joined: Tue Jun 23, 2009 10:55 am

Re: looking into/modding existing devices ?

Post by nebelfuerst » Tue Jul 17, 2018 12:02 pm

What makes me wonder are devices of creamware which are modded, e.g. minimod or bluesynth from Hummel or PinkBigmixer.
These seem to be modded original synths. Is there a way to unlock or are there devices which were not locked available ?

User avatar
valis
Posts: 4567
Joined: Sun Sep 23, 2001 4:00 pm
Location: West Coast USA
Contact:

Re: looking into/modding existing devices ?

Post by valis » Tue Jul 17, 2018 12:55 pm

Those were also made a very long time ago. There have been various efforts at additional levels of protection in the Scope ecosystem beyond the keying system which we directly interact with as end users. I would imagine locking the SDK down was a necessity when people like Timeworks, Brainworx and so on became interested in the platform. But that's just off the top of my head, I have no internal knowledge of such things and will defer here to anyone who is more informed and experienced...

DragonSF
Posts: 339
Joined: Sun Nov 08, 2015 4:28 pm

Re: looking into/modding existing devices ?

Post by DragonSF » Tue Jul 17, 2018 3:37 pm

If you are in a business relation with S|C you can ask Holger, if he could unlock a specific device (if it's owned by S|C) and send it to you.

User avatar
astroman
Posts: 7989
Joined: Fri Feb 08, 2002 4:00 pm
Location: Germany

Re: looking into/modding existing devices ?

Post by astroman » Wed Jul 18, 2018 3:47 am

valis wrote:
Tue Jul 17, 2018 12:55 pm
... I would imagine locking the SDK down was a necessity when people like Timeworks, Brainworx and so on became interested in the platform. But that's just off the top of my head, I have no internal knowledge of such things and will defer here to anyone who is more informed and experienced...
it was a problem much earlier, when developers realized there was no effective way to hide their individual algorithmic approaches from curious eyes. Quantec (Yardstick makers) quit before even starting for that reason and Warp69 once mentioned it here ages ago.

User avatar
valis
Posts: 4567
Joined: Sun Sep 23, 2001 4:00 pm
Location: West Coast USA
Contact:

Re: looking into/modding existing devices ?

Post by valis » Wed Jul 18, 2018 5:08 am

So that was a safe guess :)

Post Reply