PlanetZ@scopeusers.com

Scope Users Community
It is currently Sun Oct 22, 2017 11:47 pm

All times are UTC - 8 hours




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 6 posts ] 
Author Message
 Post subject: Roland D70 4 Modular II ( no effects 8 X 8 )
PostPosted: Tue Jul 06, 2010 6:57 pm 
Offline

Joined: Sun Jul 24, 2005 4:00 pm
Posts: 12782
Location: PROJECT WINDOW
Use this in a 4 AUX or 8 Buss mixer.
Delay AUX 1
SSB Modulator AUX 2
Chorus S AUX 3
Master Flanger AUX 2

download/file.php?id=7672

download/file.php?id=7673

Attachment:
untitled.JPG

_________________
https://soundcloud.com/jimmyvee/sets/solaris-demos-1
http://soundcloud.com/jimmyvee/sets/sol ... akt-tunes/


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: Re: Roland D70 4 Modular II ( no effects 8 X 8 )
PostPosted: Tue Jul 13, 2010 12:06 am 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Sat Nov 24, 2001 4:00 pm
Posts: 3638
Location: Melbourne Australia
I wouldn't mind a D70 ( had some great sounds ) but trying to load this I got a license prompt - I guess coz I don't have Flexor :(

From memory D70 was based on a Roland 80's technology called 'LA', using samples for attack and synth for the decay. Advanced for it's day - I had its little brother module the MT32 back in '87 also advanced in its day as one of the first multi-timbral modules and definately the first to have seperate reverb and chorus sends on each channel.

The choon reminds me of some Edgar Froese...


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: Re: Roland D70 4 Modular II ( no effects 8 X 8 )
PostPosted: Tue Jul 13, 2010 2:28 am 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Thu May 24, 2001 4:00 pm
Posts: 3180
Actually the D-70 was based upon the 'U' series of instruments rather than 'LA' and worked differently to the D-50 etc. I think the circuit boards even have U-70 written on them. We had one at work and it was a lovely board.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: Re: Roland D70 4 Modular II ( no effects 8 X 8 )
PostPosted: Tue Jul 13, 2010 12:44 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Sat Nov 24, 2001 4:00 pm
Posts: 3638
Location: Melbourne Australia
Ok yeah it was the D50 I was thinking off...


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: Re: Roland D70 4 Modular II ( no effects 8 X 8 )
PostPosted: Wed Jul 14, 2010 5:45 am 
Offline

Joined: Sun Jul 24, 2005 4:00 pm
Posts: 12782
Location: PROJECT WINDOW
The D70 was U based and not LA based, but the partials used in the D50 were available and the 4 partial / 4 preset architecture was standard.
The 76 ( ? ) 73 note 4 x zone controller features allowed me to blend the samples from the Roland S760's into the performance presets and even had a Sony Trinitron CRT on stage which back in 93 was a big deal. I would use that keyboard only with a rack of analog synths and SCSI samplers. I use to hear guys saying you need another controller for looks. I would tell them sure, you carry it for me and I'll buy one, but using a single controller was where I really learned how to use controllers and MIDI live. Extra keyboards were a crutch IMHO. It shows more skill using 1 and using it well. That doesn't address the all i,portamt "look ", but I didn't care about cosmetics when I have to pack my own gear........
When I get time mext week I will re post this.
I keep forgetting that a single Module from Mod IV can screw things up.
I was under the impression that the patch would load and the modules from ModIV just wouldn't be accesible.
Since I use the 8 x 2 swtich from Mod IV and Shroomz' High Times VU, I will repost w/o the switch.
It's really nice though as you can mute each section, isolat it, then use the K meters and really dial in the levels.
Sorry, didn't think it was a showstopper.

_________________
https://soundcloud.com/jimmyvee/sets/solaris-demos-1
http://soundcloud.com/jimmyvee/sets/sol ... akt-tunes/


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: Re: Roland D70 4 Modular II ( no effects 8 X 8 )
PostPosted: Wed Jul 14, 2010 12:25 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Sat Nov 24, 2001 4:00 pm
Posts: 3638
Location: Melbourne Australia
Can you blend the 4 partials with a joystick type controller like Vectron ? I saw a Scope device for this recently ( a joystick linked to the 2 corresponding knobs - one for each axis ). But you need physical ones ( better than an on screen one controlled by mouse IMHO ). if I was trying to get the most control out of live I would be looking for a bank of these 2 axis joysticks ( some spring loaded to autocentre and some not ).

Actually that gives me an idea - I still have a trackball at home from my live gaming days - might see what that can do on Leslie emulation - one axis for lower rotor speed and other for upper. One movement controls relative ( and/or absolute ) speeds of the rotors....


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 6 posts ] 

All times are UTC - 8 hours


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 6 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  

Donate to help support this community


Powered by phpBB © 2000, 2002, 2005, 2007 phpBB Group