XITE-1 On Hexacore yet ?

The Sonic Core XITE hardware platform for Scope

Moderators: valis, garyb

Post Reply
User avatar
dante
Posts: 3864
Joined: Sat Nov 24, 2001 4:00 pm
Location: Melbourne Australia
Contact:

XITE-1 On Hexacore yet ?

Post by dante » Fri Feb 01, 2019 4:03 pm

Has anyone got XITE-1 (or XITE-1D) running on an Intel Hexacore (or Octocore) setup yet ? If so, details (mobo, Xeon, i7, i9 etc OS etc) ?

User avatar
JoPo
Posts: 2218
Joined: Wed Jun 05, 2002 4:00 pm
Location: VRRAAaaooOôOooommmh
Contact:

Re: XITE-1 On Hexacore yet ?

Post by JoPo » Sat Feb 02, 2019 3:59 am

I run flawlessly my Xite-1 on a dual XEON with the Asus WS C621E SAGE.
http://forums.scopeusers.com/viewtopic.php?f=5&t=35788

But I'm not sure it's the right info you're looking for... :D
> > > > > > > > > > > > --- Musica --> here ! ---< < < < < < < < < < < <

User avatar
dante
Posts: 3864
Joined: Sat Nov 24, 2001 4:00 pm
Location: Melbourne Australia
Contact:

Re: XITE-1 On Hexacore yet ?

Post by dante » Sat Feb 02, 2019 4:36 pm

How many cores in each Xeon ? I need total core counts here.

User avatar
JoPo
Posts: 2218
Joined: Wed Jun 05, 2002 4:00 pm
Location: VRRAAaaooOôOooommmh
Contact:

Re: XITE-1 On Hexacore yet ?

Post by JoPo » Sun Feb 03, 2019 4:11 am

They are both xeon gold 6136 with 12 cores / 24 threads each. Scope and Xite work flawlessly with the C621 chipset.

I must precise that it's really not a good solution if you want to work with the shortest latency as possible ! With 3ms latency, I don't get better perf result than with my older computer : I7 4790K. I'm lucky because I don't need short latency, so with 13ms, 44.1khz, the dual cpu is unbeatable !
You can understand the reason in that very instructive video : https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=GUsLLEkswzE. It's about the difference between CPU perf and real time perf. That difference is crucial and specifically for daw applications on any computer.

And why a dual cpu computer is not better than a single cpu for low latency daw apps is explained here : https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=0il7xdpUPB8.

Maybe you're already aware of those computer characteristics but I wasn't ! And it's only when I build up my dual cpu pc and I realized that its performances were very disappointing with low latency that I searched explanations. :D

To take advantage of the full nowadays computer (with lot of cores) in daw apps, I'm quite sure only a daw itself is unable to do so : you'll reach the max real time perf before the max cpu perf, the use of vep instances in the same computer could be a good solution because you can setup vep to use only the number of cores of your choice. Anyway, it's the best solution I found in order to take advantage of all the dual xeon power.
Because I learned also (but it's logical !) that a dual cpu computer is amazing with multitask. So, distributing its power to several apps : daw, vep instances, etc, is the solution.
> > > > > > > > > > > > --- Musica --> here ! ---< < < < < < < < < < < <

dawman
Posts: 13372
Joined: Sun Jul 24, 2005 4:00 pm
Location: PROJECT WINDOW

Re: XITE-1 On Hexacore yet ?

Post by dawman » Sun Feb 03, 2019 7:59 pm

To be honest I use 13msec.@44.1k/256
I don’t even think latency is s problem anymore.

What’s odd, my old 1U i7-3770k rig was funky at those settings w/ Scope 5.1 too.

Pygmy Audio Farms
Posts: 663
Joined: Wed Jan 09, 2002 4:00 pm
Location: Modular IV

Re: XITE-1 On Hexacore yet ?

Post by Pygmy Audio Farms » Mon Feb 04, 2019 1:58 am

Gigabyte aorus z390 master
Z390
i9 9900k 8-core 16 thread 16mb l3 cache
RAM: 32gb
Windows 10 64-bit
XITE-1

Pygmy Audio Farms
Posts: 663
Joined: Wed Jan 09, 2002 4:00 pm
Location: Modular IV

Re: XITE-1 On Hexacore yet ?

Post by Pygmy Audio Farms » Mon Feb 04, 2019 2:07 am

Gaslight_Twilights wrote:
Sat Mar 10, 2018 3:25 pm
Alrigqht, Gents, update:

I pussed out on the AMD Threadripper and ended up going with the Intel Coffee Lake 6-core (3.7GHz) and Asus Rog Maximus Hero X (Z370A). I installed Scope 7, it found XITE during the installation right away, and everything installed without any issues, and Scope is running flawlessly. I installed Windows 10 Home and Scope on a 2TB Samsung SSD and i also ended up getting 2× 4TB Western Digital HDD's. Oh, and 32GB RAM. This computer is insanely fast and everything is running just fine. Thanks for everyone's input.

dawman
Posts: 13372
Joined: Sun Jul 24, 2005 4:00 pm
Location: PROJECT WINDOW

Re: XITE-1 On Hexacore yet ?

Post by dawman » Mon Feb 04, 2019 4:44 am

Pygmy Audio Farms wrote:
Mon Feb 04, 2019 1:58 am
Gigabyte aorus z390 master
Z390
i9 9900k 8-core 16 thread 16mb l3 cache
RAM: 32gb
Windows 10 64-bit
XITE-1
Great news

User avatar
dante
Posts: 3864
Joined: Sat Nov 24, 2001 4:00 pm
Location: Melbourne Australia
Contact:

Re: XITE-1 On Hexacore yet ?

Post by dante » Mon Feb 04, 2019 9:59 pm

Pygmy Audio Farms wrote:
Mon Feb 04, 2019 1:58 am
Gigabyte aorus z390 master
Z390
i9 9900k 8-core 16 thread 16mb l3 cache
RAM: 32gb
Windows 10 64-bit
XITE-1
Awesome great thanks Ill check it out.

dawman
Posts: 13372
Joined: Sun Jul 24, 2005 4:00 pm
Location: PROJECT WINDOW

Re: XITE-1 On Hexacore yet ?

Post by dawman » Mon Feb 04, 2019 11:16 pm

I didn’t care much for 5000/6000/7000 series much.
And the i7 7700k is a step up from i7 4790k.
So better Chips better Cores, sounds nice.

Post Reply