Autogate new plugin

A place to talk about whatever Scope music/gear related stuff you want.

Moderators: valis, garyb

Post Reply
User avatar
JoPo
Posts: 2126
Joined: Wed Jun 05, 2002 4:00 pm
Location: VRRAAaaooOôOooommmh
Contact:

Autogate new plugin

Post by JoPo » Thu Jun 14, 2018 5:39 am

Don't know if you tried the autogate but whatever I set it up, change preset, curves, volume, it outputs always exactly the same thing ! :o
> > > > > > > > > > > > --- Musica --> here ! ---< < < < < < < < < < < <

User avatar
dante
Posts: 3791
Joined: Sat Nov 24, 2001 4:00 pm
Location: Melbourne Australia
Contact:

Re: Autogate new plugin

Post by dante » Thu Jun 14, 2018 1:28 pm

Not so in my tests : http://www.hitfoundry.com/issue_27/sc7_mast.htm ( select 'SC-AutoGate' from menu ).

The only downside on my system I have to have Scope 'Show Desktop' mode turned off in order for any SC devices to load.
Last edited by dante on Thu Jun 14, 2018 1:32 pm, edited 2 times in total.

User avatar
dante
Posts: 3791
Joined: Sat Nov 24, 2001 4:00 pm
Location: Melbourne Australia
Contact:

Re: Autogate new plugin

Post by dante » Thu Jun 14, 2018 1:31 pm

.

User avatar
JoPo
Posts: 2126
Joined: Wed Jun 05, 2002 4:00 pm
Location: VRRAAaaooOôOooommmh
Contact:

Re: Autogate new plugin

Post by JoPo » Fri Jun 15, 2018 6:01 am

Thank you, Dante. Actually, I always use the 'hide desktop' screen mode.

I just tried it on my pci cards and it works as it should but not on the xite. Maybe some dsp or else file..? I don't know how to find which dsp files a Scope device uses.
If some of xite user would test it ?
> > > > > > > > > > > > --- Musica --> here ! ---< < < < < < < < < < < <

User avatar
dante
Posts: 3791
Joined: Sat Nov 24, 2001 4:00 pm
Location: Melbourne Australia
Contact:

Re: Autogate new plugin

Post by dante » Fri Jun 15, 2018 12:01 pm

The 'Show Desktop' off issue with SC devices happens on both my PCI and XITE - and on both Windows 8 and Windows 10 (both 64 bit).

dawman
Posts: 13201
Joined: Sun Jul 24, 2005 4:00 pm
Location: PROJECT WINDOW

Re: Autogate new plugin

Post by dawman » Sat Jun 16, 2018 8:01 pm

Dante I finally read the link above.
Really great site.

What is a Quad Space Shepard Generator?

I can’t wait to get this.
The Channel looks like a great tool.
Sure hope they are screenset capable.

Awesomeness...

User avatar
dante
Posts: 3791
Joined: Sat Nov 24, 2001 4:00 pm
Location: Melbourne Australia
Contact:

Re: Autogate new plugin

Post by dante » Sat Jun 16, 2018 11:03 pm

dawman wrote:
Sat Jun 16, 2018 8:01 pm
Dante I finally read the link above.
Really great site.

What is a Quad Space Shepard Generator?
Good question. I've asked here, asked Holger....nothing definitive. Historically it should generate a continuously rising or falling tone. I remember that sound from a Music Concrete lesson decades ago. However, there is suggestion that this is more a surround effect.

User avatar
spacef
Posts: 2515
Joined: Sun Jun 17, 2001 4:00 pm
Contact:

Re: Autogate new plugin

Post by spacef » Sun Jun 17, 2018 1:26 am

you should find info on shepard generators on the web. it generates sur-imposed LFOs creating a infinite sweep up or down by acoustic illusion.

""The Shepard Tone is an auditory illusion, whose pitch sounds like it is ascending or descending, yet never seems to get any higher or lower. "" (taken from https://mynoise.net/NoiseMachines/shepa ... erator.php --- > there is audio on this page, playing automatically the shepard, and the graphic at the top of the page is actually an app : you can change sliders etc)


I works in polyphonic mode only, mono may not work.

That's all I know about it :-)

dawman
Posts: 13201
Joined: Sun Jul 24, 2005 4:00 pm
Location: PROJECT WINDOW

Re: Autogate new plugin

Post by dawman » Sun Jun 17, 2018 6:38 am

Can’t wait to fuck around with that too.
First time in a decade I wasn’t all over something to upgrade Scope.
Wasn’t planning on working as much as I am.
I’m in 3 x bands here as the Tahoe area is a refuge for a Bay Area migrants.
The place is packed with musicians and gigs.
Not enough keyboard players I guess.
August has 2 weeks I blocked out for Disneyworld. It’s for the kids, which means during the hot ass day Ill have my rack in the hotel room in the AC. Fuck standing in line with screaming rug rats..

Liquid EDGE
Posts: 860
Joined: Sun Apr 04, 2004 4:00 pm
Location: Brighton England
Contact:

Re: Autogate new plugin

Post by Liquid EDGE » Mon Jun 18, 2018 5:56 am

Have you tried assigning autogate to dsp#2 jopo?

Not touched the plug in yet. Will have a look as I have an Xite-1 like you.

dawman
Posts: 13201
Joined: Sun Jul 24, 2005 4:00 pm
Location: PROJECT WINDOW

Re: Autogate new plugin

Post by dawman » Fri Aug 17, 2018 4:41 pm

I’m thinking AutoGate is used to create timing tricks.
Listen to Barack video below.
Start @ 1:20.
Around 1:26 is where I’m hearing really fresh production tricks.
Does AutoGate do this?

Love this girls talent and whoever is involved in the production.


https://youtu.be/W3ebfGbeeyQ

User avatar
valis
Posts: 4618
Joined: Sun Sep 23, 2001 4:00 pm
Location: West Coast USA
Contact:

Re: Autogate new plugin

Post by valis » Fri Aug 17, 2018 6:12 pm

Sounds like it's been pitched corrected & resampled to me, that's a normal thing in the 'future bass' genres (which was called 'future step' in the UK a few years back). Most of these guys use ableton so that tightly gated sound comes from the envelope controls on clips, which you get in tracks and in simpler/sampler. Some use FLStudio...and I know less about the Fruity Generators since I never used that particular app.

However, trying to replicate tricks leads to new tricks! So go for it, vocode/pitch correct before a gated effect and see how you like the result.

dawman
Posts: 13201
Joined: Sun Jul 24, 2005 4:00 pm
Location: PROJECT WINDOW

Re: Autogate new plugin

Post by dawman » Fri Aug 17, 2018 7:52 pm

I lack these skills, but Scope4Live Jr. has FL Studio.
I’m going to get busy with him, but he’s more of a Cardi B. type of producer.

Thanks Val

Post Reply