MIDI modules

A place for developers to share ideas and assist each other in solving problems.
YiannisK
Posts: 215
Joined: Wed Dec 03, 2003 4:00 pm
Location: Canada
Contact:

Re: MIDI modules

Post by YiannisK » Thu Feb 23, 2017 7:26 am

Thanks for the explanation but I'm still puzzled.
I understand cc assignments so what's the difference when you use midi in, on a synth and assign cc's normally under scope.
Is this for modular?
Or are these sdk modules for developers?
Sorry for my ignorance.

User avatar
Marco
Posts: 902
Joined: Thu Oct 10, 2013 4:27 pm
Location: Germany

Re: MIDI modules

Post by Marco » Thu Feb 23, 2017 12:46 pm

I can't understand it too, I have no idea why cv
Scope 7 user since 2017 and Scope user since 1998. :o

DragonSF
Posts: 251
Joined: Sun Nov 08, 2015 4:28 pm

Re: MIDI modules

Post by DragonSF » Thu Feb 23, 2017 2:26 pm

CV comes from the analog world. It's just a value, to control anything instead of a pot. And yes, all these modules are for SDK.

YiannisK
Posts: 215
Joined: Wed Dec 03, 2003 4:00 pm
Location: Canada
Contact:

Re: MIDI modules

Post by YiannisK » Thu Feb 23, 2017 8:32 pm

Ok got it!
So with this module could you not implement something in a mixer to maybe have osc
Hui, Mackie control for scope?
Just a thought
Thanks for your efforts in keeping the platform alive with new modules, ideas.

DragonSF
Posts: 251
Joined: Sun Nov 08, 2015 4:28 pm

Re: MIDI modules

Post by DragonSF » Thu Feb 23, 2017 10:36 pm

YiannisK wrote:Ok got it!
So with this module could you not implement something in a mixer to maybe have osc
Hui, Mackie control for scope?
Just a thought
Thanks for your efforts in keeping the platform alive with new modules, ideas.
There are no implementation limits: wherever there is a pot, you can replace it with one of the outputs. Even switches should work (think of pads).

Pygmy Audio Farms
Posts: 643
Joined: Wed Jan 09, 2002 4:00 pm
Location: Modular IV

Re: MIDI modules

Post by Pygmy Audio Farms » Fri Feb 24, 2017 1:35 am

Top stuff, a real boon. Thank you

jksuperstar
Posts: 1475
Joined: Mon Nov 15, 2010 12:57 pm

Re: MIDI modules

Post by jksuperstar » Fri Feb 24, 2017 5:24 am

Wow, that midi in idea deserves a device, that's HUGE. No need for routing through a DAW just to get midi into scope anymore!!

DragonSF
Posts: 251
Joined: Sun Nov 08, 2015 4:28 pm

Re: MIDI modules

Post by DragonSF » Fri Feb 24, 2017 3:41 pm

jksuperstar wrote:Wow, that midi in idea deserves a device, that's HUGE. No need for routing through a DAW just to get midi into scope anymore!!
And no more Midi-Ox fiddling. And you can have as may MIDI-Ins as you like.

User avatar
JoPo
Posts: 1902
Joined: Wed Jun 05, 2002 4:00 pm
Location: VRRAAaaooOôOooommmh
Contact:

Re: MIDI modules

Post by JoPo » Sat Feb 25, 2017 11:25 am

DragonSF wrote:
jksuperstar wrote:Wow, DragonSF, great device!

Is there any filtering or interpolation to smooth 7bit MIDI to 32bit CV?
I can do that. But you'll always have a step, because there is no in-between state. Value is either 54 or 55, but never 54.6. On the other side, if you have an idea, I'm open to suggestions. Another way would be using 14-bit (N)RPN input. I can do that too.
But when you convert midi --> CV a lot of values can be added between 2 CC values, no ?
On the other way, I understand there is no reason... :D
> > > > > > > > > > > > --- Musica --> here ! ---< < < < < < < < < < < <

User avatar
JoPo
Posts: 1902
Joined: Wed Jun 05, 2002 4:00 pm
Location: VRRAAaaooOôOooommmh
Contact:

Re: MIDI modules

Post by JoPo » Sat Feb 25, 2017 11:29 am

YiannisK wrote:Looks great!
Can you give me an example of how I would use this ?
What's it's purpose?
Sorry but I'm not familiar with CV stuff.
Just wondering if there's a use for me in my setup that I might overlook.
Thanks and keep up the great work.
Have a look at Expert sleepers Silent Way : a collection of vst's that generate audio rate modulation signal you can use inside Scope via asio. And you'll use digital CV signals ! No more midi jitter ! Amazing possibilities !
> > > > > > > > > > > > --- Musica --> here ! ---< < < < < < < < < < < <

User avatar
JoPo
Posts: 1902
Joined: Wed Jun 05, 2002 4:00 pm
Location: VRRAAaaooOôOooommmh
Contact:

Re: MIDI modules

Post by JoPo » Sat Feb 25, 2017 11:37 am

Dragon !
The ext. midiinput looks really useful ! I hope you'll release it as a module...!
When I load it into my Xite, I don't have any gui ! .... .... I guess you are still working on it ...
> > > > > > > > > > > > --- Musica --> here ! ---< < < < < < < < < < < <

DragonSF
Posts: 251
Joined: Sun Nov 08, 2015 4:28 pm

Re: MIDI modules

Post by DragonSF » Sat Feb 25, 2017 4:12 pm

JoPo wrote:Dragon !
The ext. midiinput looks really useful ! I hope you'll release it as a module...!
When I load it into my Xite, I don't have any gui ! .... .... I guess you are still working on it ...
Actually, I wanted to finish the basic stuff =SDK device)first, but in that case, I'll make module.

Pygmy Audio Farms
Posts: 643
Joined: Wed Jan 09, 2002 4:00 pm
Location: Modular IV

Re: MIDI modules

Post by Pygmy Audio Farms » Sun Feb 26, 2017 12:14 am

DragonSF wrote: Actually, I wanted to finish the basic stuff =SDK device)first, but in that case, I'll make module.
This is a great development, looking forward to this very useful module. Many thanks

User avatar
JoPo
Posts: 1902
Joined: Wed Jun 05, 2002 4:00 pm
Location: VRRAAaaooOôOooommmh
Contact:

Re: MIDI modules

Post by JoPo » Sun Feb 26, 2017 4:28 am

Excellent ! Computer soundcard driver are available in Scope (but doesn't always work perfectly...) and now, we are going to be able to choose any mini input directly in Scope !

:) Dragon, you're making very inovative stuff ! Great ! :)
> > > > > > > > > > > > --- Musica --> here ! ---< < < < < < < < < < < <

User avatar
JoPo
Posts: 1902
Joined: Wed Jun 05, 2002 4:00 pm
Location: VRRAAaaooOôOooommmh
Contact:

Re: MIDI modules

Post by JoPo » Sun Feb 26, 2017 7:20 am

Do you think it would be possible to make a midi delay ?
I believe it doesn't exist as far as I know... Not even a modular module.

A simple device that delays all midi data on its input with time settings, of course ! :D Let's say ... Hhhh ... Up to 1s maxi !? :D

This would be useful for sending exactly the same midi CC modulation to any other parameter but with exactly 150ms delay..! 8)

It's not device ideas I miss but rather time to build them..! :roll:
> > > > > > > > > > > > --- Musica --> here ! ---< < < < < < < < < < < <

DragonSF
Posts: 251
Joined: Sun Nov 08, 2015 4:28 pm

Re: MIDI modules

Post by DragonSF » Mon Feb 27, 2017 12:08 am

JoPo wrote:Dragon !
The ext. midiinput looks really useful ! I hope you'll release it as a module...!
When I load it into my Xite, I don't have any gui ! .... .... I guess you are still working on it ...
Some obstacle is happeing here: As soon as I make a module or putting the device into a surface, I can't connect the MIDI out anymore (and this is not my MIDI-out, it's the MIDI-out of a standard Scope module (Fifo to MIDI).

User avatar
JoPo
Posts: 1902
Joined: Wed Jun 05, 2002 4:00 pm
Location: VRRAAaaooOôOooommmh
Contact:

Re: MIDI modules

Post by JoPo » Mon Feb 27, 2017 10:28 am

ArrrGh ! Very unfortunately, I can't help you at all about this ! :(

Maybe some other developers could ?

Or you could ask on the sdk forum, I'm not sure it's pretty busy...

So ... This message is absolutely useless for you.... Hin hin .. :D Sorry !
> > > > > > > > > > > > --- Musica --> here ! ---< < < < < < < < < < < <

DragonSF
Posts: 251
Joined: Sun Nov 08, 2015 4:28 pm

Re: MIDI modules

Post by DragonSF » Mon Feb 27, 2017 3:30 pm

JoPo wrote:ArrrGh ! Very unfortunately, I can't help you at all about this ! :(

Maybe some other developers could ?

Or you could ask on the sdk forum, I'm not sure it's pretty busy...

So ... This message is absolutely useless for you.... Hin hin .. :D Sorry !
Thanks for recognizing my problems. I think the only one can help is Holger. But maybe I find a way around.

eric
Posts: 157
Joined: Mon Feb 25, 2008 8:40 pm
Location: Peterborough UK
Contact:

Re: MIDI modules

Post by eric » Mon Feb 27, 2017 3:44 pm

Dragon,

Can you include support for polyphonic aftertouch/pressure?

This is a very neglected aspect of MIDI. Especially useful with Modular.

Eric
Your mouse has moved. Windows must be restarted for these settings to take effect.

Eric Northwood - Data Recovery Specialist
http://www.datarecoveryaus.com.au

DragonSF
Posts: 251
Joined: Sun Nov 08, 2015 4:28 pm

Re: MIDI modules

Post by DragonSF » Tue Feb 28, 2017 2:30 am

eric wrote:Dragon,

Can you include support for polyphonic aftertouch/pressure?

This is a very neglected aspect of MIDI. Especially useful with Modular.

Eric
My MIDI modules are completely transparent. I just pass everything the driver supplies to the output (with some clever buffering of course :-) ). But nothing is filtered out.

Post Reply