PlanetZ@scopeusers.com

Scope Users Community
It is currently Sun Nov 19, 2017 11:50 am

All times are UTC - 8 hours




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 15 posts ] 
Author Message
 Post subject: Stereo modules
PostPosted: Tue Oct 28, 2014 5:59 pm 
Offline

Joined: Wed May 15, 2002 4:00 pm
Posts: 1497
I've noticed there are a lack of stereo modules in Modular. Are there any around I don't know of? I'm looking especially for effects based like filters.

Thanks


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: Re: Stereo modules
PostPosted: Wed Oct 29, 2014 12:08 am 
Offline

Joined: Tue Apr 17, 2001 4:00 pm
Posts: 889
Is their a problem using 2 of the modules you desire?


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: Re: Stereo modules
PostPosted: Wed Oct 29, 2014 7:08 am 
Offline

Joined: Mon Nov 15, 2010 12:57 pm
Posts: 1466
Most "Modular" modules in analog land are mono, not stereo. You can easily use Sharc's BCM modules, since they typically don't have knobs, but control signal inputs instead. So you can use two modules of what you need, then add a third module that is a control knob (or control surface!) and use that 1 signal to control both L/R modules.

Using Sharc's "CLM" modules, you can create sub-modular projects...create mono version with external control, then just place two of those submodules (or 5 for surround)....


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: Re: Stereo modules
PostPosted: Thu Oct 30, 2014 11:37 am 
Offline

Joined: Wed May 15, 2002 4:00 pm
Posts: 1497
jksuperstar wrote:
Most "Modular" modules in analog land are mono, not stereo. You can easily use Sharc's BCM modules, since they typically don't have knobs, but control signal inputs instead. So you can use two modules of what you need, then add a third module that is a control knob (or control surface!) and use that 1 signal to control both L/R modules.

Using Sharc's "CLM" modules, you can create sub-modular projects...create mono version with external control, then just place two of those submodules (or 5 for surround)....


Thanks jk Could you help me setup to BC2000 to control using Sharc's modules. I can load two delay devices and assign the same Midi controller number to the pots in each device I need to control, but is there a better way around it?

Thanks


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: Re: Stereo modules
PostPosted: Thu Oct 30, 2014 12:25 pm 
Offline

Joined: Mon Nov 15, 2010 12:57 pm
Posts: 1466
If you have a BCR/F2000, you can place the BC modules for that controller. Then connect any knob/slider/button control output (instead of MIDI mapped through SCOPE) to the control inputs of the stereo pair of modules you want...this works best if you use the BCM version of those modules...Sharc's modules tend to have Control inputs instead of knobs on the front panel, so they are easier to control from external signals.

Using this method, Sharc has also provided control signal filter modules, which take that signal out of the Control Module and smooths it out for your particular application (so you can make it more smooth, but has more lag, or less smoothing, but faster response). This is very nice to remove any zippering you would get on a delay or a filter cutoff, for example.

Eventually, you can learn to use the CLM sub-project modules, and then use pipes to connect the control signals to each sub-modular project. It keeps the patch clean, and the CLM modules can even be used to load different patches...meaning you have a CLM placeholder, and you can load in different types of delay effects you've developed.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: Re: Stereo modules
PostPosted: Thu Oct 30, 2014 12:46 pm 
Offline

Joined: Tue Apr 17, 2001 4:00 pm
Posts: 889
"but is there a better way around it"

use the sdk.

Musicmanic. In your first question you mentioned filter effects. For filter effects add 2 filters and instead of using the cutoff knobs, use a control val module and connect it to the flters modulation inputs. For standard delay effect there is the tempo stereo delay.
For other delay based modulation effects like flangers etc, use a stereo insert and load a stereo flanger from the list.

If you have a bcr or like the bc modular follow jk's suggestion.

If you want more control use the sdk.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: Re: Stereo modules
PostPosted: Thu Oct 30, 2014 4:02 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Mon Oct 29, 2001 4:00 pm
Posts: 632
Location: No idea. All looks the same down here
It's also worth remembering the control sockets in BC Modular handle both input and output, so you can make a connection between them on two (or more) modules for a master <-> slave control relationship.

This way for a stereo pair you usually only need the two modules as you can assign MIDI CCs to the sliders on the BC popup panel.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: Re: Stereo modules
PostPosted: Thu Oct 30, 2014 4:10 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Mon Oct 29, 2001 4:00 pm
Posts: 632
Location: No idea. All looks the same down here
...I'd recommend placing all modules for your stereo signal path within one (or more if required) 1DSP CLM modules.

These will force those modules to load on the same DSP and avoid any unwanted phase issues :wink:


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: Re: Stereo modules
PostPosted: Fri Oct 31, 2014 5:20 am 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Wed Jun 05, 2002 4:00 pm
Posts: 1809
Location: VRRAAaaooO├┤Oooommmh
On the other hand, it's a bit a pity to not have stereo CLM module...
It would be convenient is n't it ? :D

_________________
> > > > > > > > > > > > --- Musica --> here ! ---< < < < < < < < < < < <


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: Re: Stereo modules
PostPosted: Fri Oct 31, 2014 6:09 am 
Offline

Joined: Wed May 15, 2002 4:00 pm
Posts: 1497
sharc wrote:
...I'd recommend placing all modules for your stereo signal path within one (or more if required) 1DSP CLM modules.

These will force those modules to load on the same DSP and avoid any unwanted phase issues :wink:


Sharc, I'm reading through the BCModular Wiki site but could you give a simpler rundown to how things work? Basically I want to use two mono modular device, e.g. A filter that has low pass and high pass and have the knobs controlled by one incoming midi command, say from the BC2000.

How do your modules connect to outside world hardware?

Sorry I'm new to modular stuff. What do you use async and sync stuff for, and what are the pipelines?

Thanks


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: Re: Stereo modules
PostPosted: Fri Oct 31, 2014 7:22 am 
Offline

Joined: Fri Apr 01, 2011 4:49 am
Posts: 935
as the sync inputs are audio inputs you can use them for stereo and how i use the clm shells as stereo effects


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: Re: Stereo modules
PostPosted: Fri Oct 31, 2014 7:27 am 
Offline

Joined: Fri Apr 01, 2011 4:49 am
Posts: 935
sync is used for audio

async are used for less intensive control signals that dont require audio rate timing

pipes are async controls that allow 8 async signals down one pipe

any frequency dependent controls need to be sync


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: Re: Stereo modules
PostPosted: Fri Oct 31, 2014 7:54 am 
Offline

Joined: Wed Nov 07, 2001 4:00 pm
Posts: 413
Location: London, U.K.
Hi Music Manic,

Did you go through the tutorial series here? http://bcmodular.wikispaces.com/Idiot%2 ... e+-+Part+1

If you follow those steps, you'll be set up for controlling from the BCR2000. It includes a demo patch and sysex files for setting up the BCR2000 with matching MIDI CC values.

If you want to control two settings at once, it's as simple as putting a patch cable between the two settings and then patching one of them into the relevant BCM module.

Feel free to get in touch directly with me or sharc if you need more assistance!

Thanks,
Will

P.S. The public launch of the new ScopeSync is just around the corner, which will make some of this even easier :)


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: Re: Stereo modules
PostPosted: Fri Oct 31, 2014 7:55 am 
Offline

Joined: Wed Nov 07, 2001 4:00 pm
Posts: 413
Location: London, U.K.
This page is worth a read, to understand the various connection types: http://bcmodular.wikispaces.com/Connections


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: Re: Stereo modules
PostPosted: Fri Oct 31, 2014 8:59 am 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Wed Jun 05, 2002 4:00 pm
Posts: 1809
Location: VRRAAaaooO├┤Oooommmh
jhulk wrote:
as the sync inputs are audio inputs you can use them for stereo and how i use the clm shells as stereo effects


Yeah ! Excellent ! I've got my answer !

Thanks, jhulk..

_________________
> > > > > > > > > > > > --- Musica --> here ! ---< < < < < < < < < < < <


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 15 posts ] 

All times are UTC - 8 hours


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 0 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  

Donate to help support this community


Powered by phpBB © 2000, 2002, 2005, 2007 phpBB Group