Modular patch gui

Anything about the Scope modular synths
Post Reply
asktoby
Posts: 132
Joined: Thu Mar 13, 2003 4:00 pm
Contact:

Modular patch gui

Post by asktoby » Fri Apr 04, 2014 12:03 pm

One thing I wish I had in Modular III is the ability to build a patch and then make a gui for it, just showing the main knobs rather than all the guts inside.

Is there any clever way to do this in Modular III that I haven't thought of?

i.e. imagine you build a crazy full-screen synth, but when you save it you could create a more user-friendly screen that just shows like 6 controls for next time you open it and want to play it.

I've got a half-memory that this is a Modular IV feature, is that right?

fra77x
Posts: 889
Joined: Tue Apr 17, 2001 4:00 pm

Re: Modular patch gui

Post by fra77x » Fri Apr 04, 2014 12:18 pm

..
miii.jpg

asktoby
Posts: 132
Joined: Thu Mar 13, 2003 4:00 pm
Contact:

Re: Modular patch gui

Post by asktoby » Fri Apr 04, 2014 12:20 pm

Aha, thanks! I forgot all about the "Show remote" button in Modular III which is almost exactly what I was after!
Seems like it only supports dials, not switches or faders, and is non-configurable in terms of layout.

Any other options that offer switches, faders, and more configurability?

(You might be able to tell that I've been inspired by Faxi Nadu's videos :) )

fra77x
Posts: 889
Joined: Tue Apr 17, 2001 4:00 pm

Re: Modular patch gui

Post by fra77x » Fri Apr 04, 2014 12:22 pm

a second modular?

asktoby
Posts: 132
Joined: Thu Mar 13, 2003 4:00 pm
Contact:

Re: Modular patch gui

Post by asktoby » Fri Apr 04, 2014 12:24 pm

OK It seems I need to start reading manuals before posting. Just found out that the knobs can control both switches and faders. Happy days.

w_ellis
Posts: 422
Joined: Wed Nov 07, 2001 4:00 pm
Location: London, U.K.

Re: Modular patch gui

Post by w_ellis » Fri Apr 04, 2014 1:10 pm

If you have Max For Live, you could try ScopeSync. Roy Thinnes has shown a good example of building a customised skin for a patch he has built using ScopeSync: http://bcmodular.co.uk/forum/viewtopic.php?f=9&t=186 and the ScopeSync wiki page gives full details on how to go about doing that.

We have a VST version released to our beta testers, but that isn't user-customisable at this stage (although we will be releasing it as open source, if you don't mind getting your hands a bit dirtier!) Get in touch if you'd like to be involved in beta testing.

w_ellis
Posts: 422
Joined: Wed Nov 07, 2001 4:00 pm
Location: London, U.K.

Re: Modular patch gui

Post by w_ellis » Fri Apr 04, 2014 1:13 pm

P.S. Even without using ScopeSync, if you just want to make cut-down control interfaces for modular, you should definitely look at the rest of the BC Modular package, especially the BCM Modules (wiki descriptions here: BCM Modules). Don't be fooled by the GUIs, these don't require any specific hardware.

Yogimeister
Posts: 307
Joined: Sat Jan 12, 2008 10:12 am

Re: Modular patch gui

Post by Yogimeister » Sat Apr 05, 2014 11:48 pm

Wow ... I really need to connect my BCF and install BCM ;)

w_ellis
Posts: 422
Joined: Wed Nov 07, 2001 4:00 pm
Location: London, U.K.

Re: Modular patch gui

Post by w_ellis » Sun Apr 06, 2014 12:01 am

If you do, here's a good place to start: Idiot's Guide to using BC Modular with a Behringer B-Control Device (Part 3 specifically covers BCF setup)

Post Reply