Creamware Power Pulsar 15DSP PCI for sale

Have Scope hardware to sell or trade? NO DEALER POSTING ALLOWED.

Moderators: valis, garyb

macogil
Posts: 8
Joined: Tue Jun 15, 2010 12:52 pm

Creamware Power Pulsar 15DSP PCI for sale

Post by macogil » Sun Nov 06, 2016 3:02 am

Hello all!

Up for auction in ebay is my beloved Power Pulsar 15DSP PCI card. Comes with the option CLASSIC 20 I/O cable. Also included is SCOPE V5.1 with great plugins. I add to the package the nice WC Pro-One v3 synth plugin!

I sell because I don't have time to play with it anymore :'-(. I hope it goes to a good home where they can bring out its true potential!

Here is the link if you want to check it out:

http://www.ebay.es/itm/CREAMWARE-SONIC- ... Swo4pYHwKg

Good luck in the bid!

micmac34
Posts: 22
Joined: Wed Nov 09, 2016 3:11 am

Re: Creamware Power Pulsar 15DSP PCI for sale

Post by micmac34 » Thu Nov 10, 2016 1:13 am

Just a question regarding the pulsar. It comes with 20 ios, but how do you use them ?

I mean, how do you connect it with jack/rca gear/instruments ?

Is there a cable with 20 ios ? or do you have to use ADAT (if so, how?)

Thanks for the answer, i might be interrested but I need to know...

Regards.

Liquid EDGE
Posts: 853
Joined: Sun Apr 04, 2004 4:00 pm
Location: Brighton England
Contact:

Re: Creamware Power Pulsar 15DSP PCI for sale

Post by Liquid EDGE » Fri Nov 11, 2016 11:56 pm

2nd revision card? ulli?

macogil
Posts: 8
Joined: Tue Jun 15, 2010 12:52 pm

Re: Creamware Power Pulsar 15DSP PCI for sale

Post by macogil » Sun Nov 13, 2016 8:03 am

micmac34 wrote:Just a question regarding the pulsar. It comes with 20 ios, but how do you use them ?

I mean, how do you connect it with jack/rca gear/instruments ?

Is there a cable with 20 ios ? or do you have to use ADAT (if so, how?)

Thanks for the answer, i might be interrested but I need to know...

Regards.
Hello micmac34,

The classic 20 I/O system consists of:

- stereo analog
- stereo s/pdif
- 2x ADAT optical
- MIDI IN/OUT/THRU

You can see pics of the cable in the ebay link

Of course, if you want to simultaneously have the additional ADAT channels, you will need an standart external ADAT converter module.

I hope that answered your question

Regards

macogil
Posts: 8
Joined: Tue Jun 15, 2010 12:52 pm

Re: Creamware Power Pulsar 15DSP PCI for sale

Post by macogil » Sun Nov 13, 2016 8:14 am

Liquid EDGE wrote:2nd revision card? ulli?
Hello Liquid Edge,

I don't know how to tell whether this is 2nd revision card or not (maybe should be by the fact of using third party plugins like the Pro One. The label is dated: 10.12.02. If not maybe you can tell by the serial number XEZ8YX00B

Tell me if this was of any help

Regards

User avatar
53E7
Posts: 181
Joined: Mon Jan 23, 2012 11:45 am
Location: New York

Re: Creamware Power Pulsar 15DSP PCI for sale

Post by 53E7 » Sun Nov 13, 2016 10:10 pm

Looking at the auction photos, the card is a first generation and not the 2nd revision. It has the extra SHARC on the bottom. The 2nd revision only has two rows of 7 SHARCS (one on each side, back to back).

micmac34
Posts: 22
Joined: Wed Nov 09, 2016 3:11 am

Re: Creamware Power Pulsar 15DSP PCI for sale

Post by micmac34 » Tue Nov 15, 2016 6:02 am

What is the difference between v1 and v2 pulsar ?
Is there a difference for the ULLI ? I mean is it possible to use this V1 pulsar with the lowest latency without any issue ?
(like my old luna boards...)

Also, is it possible to link it with my luna boards (to add the 3 more dsps of the luna to the 15 of the pulsar, and still use
the z-link option of the luna...)

I see the connectors on the pulsar that look exactly the same as the ones I have on the luna so...
Maybe I can even buy some cheap scope/luna boards and add more than one with the additional connectors of the pulsar ???

User avatar
Bud Weiser
Posts: 1395
Joined: Tue Sep 14, 2010 5:29 am
Location: nowhere land

Re: Creamware Power Pulsar 15DSP PCI for sale

Post by Bud Weiser » Tue Nov 15, 2016 8:40 am

53E7 wrote:Looking at the auction photos, the card is a first generation and not the 2nd revision. It has the extra SHARC on the bottom. The 2nd revision only has two rows of 7 SHARCS (one on each side, back to back).
I understood there were also 15DSP 2nd gen cards existing and if it is 1st or 2nd gen depends on how low ULLI latency goes.
My 15DSP card goes down to 7ms @44.1 KHz SR and it has only 2 ADAT I/Os.

I understood 1st gen Power Pulsar cards had 3 ADAT I/Os.

Up to now I understood, 14 DSP cards were called SCOPE Pro and not Power Pulsar anymore.

Now someone might chime in and correct me if I´m wrong.
In fact, I´m not totally sure about what I really have ´cause I got my card from a friend together w/ breakout cable but no box or docs.
I also never looked for some sticker on the card before it went into the machine and now the machine is in stock in my basement until I´ll set up my studio again which won´t happen very soon because of lack of room.

Bud
CFD,- the studio standard :wink:

User avatar
garyb
Posts: 21494
Joined: Sun Apr 15, 2001 4:00 pm
Location: ghetto by the sea

Re: Creamware Power Pulsar 15DSP PCI for sale

Post by garyb » Tue Nov 15, 2016 10:51 am

there most CERTAINLY were 15dsp 2nd gen cards.

User avatar
53E7
Posts: 181
Joined: Mon Jan 23, 2012 11:45 am
Location: New York

Re: Creamware Power Pulsar 15DSP PCI for sale

Post by 53E7 » Tue Nov 15, 2016 11:02 am

Does that mean there was a 3rd revision and the cards with 14DSP’s are really 3rd revisions?
Last edited by 53E7 on Tue Nov 15, 2016 11:49 am, edited 2 times in total.

User avatar
garyb
Posts: 21494
Joined: Sun Apr 15, 2001 4:00 pm
Location: ghetto by the sea

Re: Creamware Power Pulsar 15DSP PCI for sale

Post by garyb » Tue Nov 15, 2016 11:43 am

no, it means that since the 15th dsp was redundant, Creamware removed it to save money and try to extend the company's life. the 14dsp cards were made in the last year or two of Creamware's existence.

User avatar
53E7
Posts: 181
Joined: Mon Jan 23, 2012 11:45 am
Location: New York

Re: Creamware Power Pulsar 15DSP PCI for sale

Post by 53E7 » Tue Nov 15, 2016 11:53 am

That’s really cool that I have all 2nd generation cards. I always thought my main card with all of my plugins was a first generation since it has 15DSP’s, but I can use it at the lowest UULI setting for the lowest latency. I usually use it one step down since I felt it would conserve DSP for more plugins (is that actually true?). Thanks Gary.

User avatar
garyb
Posts: 21494
Joined: Sun Apr 15, 2001 4:00 pm
Location: ghetto by the sea

Re: Creamware Power Pulsar 15DSP PCI for sale

Post by garyb » Tue Nov 15, 2016 1:01 pm

sure. it won't save DSP power, using the card at the second lowest setting, but it will save cpu power.

yeah, latencies below 13ms@44.1k is one of the surest ways to identify the card as second gen.

User avatar
Bud Weiser
Posts: 1395
Joined: Tue Sep 14, 2010 5:29 am
Location: nowhere land

Re: Creamware Power Pulsar 15DSP PCI for sale

Post by Bud Weiser » Tue Nov 15, 2016 8:54 pm

garyb wrote: yeah, latencies below 13ms@44.1k is one of the surest ways to identify the card as second gen.
thx for confirmation !

:)

Bud
CFD,- the studio standard :wink:

User avatar
53E7
Posts: 181
Joined: Mon Jan 23, 2012 11:45 am
Location: New York

Re: Creamware Power Pulsar 15DSP PCI for sale

Post by 53E7 » Tue Nov 15, 2016 9:02 pm

Bud Weiser wrote:thx for confirmation !
+1

micmac34
Posts: 22
Joined: Wed Nov 09, 2016 3:11 am

Re: Creamware Power Pulsar 15DSP PCI for sale

Post by micmac34 » Tue Nov 15, 2016 10:07 pm

So... Is that one a 1st gen or a 2nd gen ? Please OP tell if you can.

If not, what is the minimal latency at 44khz of 1st gen without crackles (i have a fast enough pc : core i7 5930K)

Could you tell us OP what is the minimal latency you get with the board you sell please, whatever version it is ?

With my old luna 2 and regular scope board (same as the luna but produced when creamware went sonic core)
linked with STDM cable, I can use minimal ULLI setting (3ms 44khz) with no crackles at all, 3 synths and effects loaded,
DAW full of tracks, so.... why would this power pulsar not be able to do the same ?

User avatar
garyb
Posts: 21494
Joined: Sun Apr 15, 2001 4:00 pm
Location: ghetto by the sea

Re: Creamware Power Pulsar 15DSP PCI for sale

Post by garyb » Tue Nov 15, 2016 10:16 pm

it would be the same.

a Power Pulsar is always second gen and latency is also affected by the host and what is running in the host.

all second generation cards perform as your do.

buy his card. :lol:

micmac34
Posts: 22
Joined: Wed Nov 09, 2016 3:11 am

Re: Creamware Power Pulsar 15DSP PCI for sale

Post by micmac34 » Tue Nov 15, 2016 11:20 pm

Do you think I can STDM link it with one maybe two of my older luna 2 / scope 3dsp boards ?

User avatar
garyb
Posts: 21494
Joined: Sun Apr 15, 2001 4:00 pm
Location: ghetto by the sea

Re: Creamware Power Pulsar 15DSP PCI for sale

Post by garyb » Wed Nov 16, 2016 12:31 am

sure, if you have the slots on the motherboard.
any three cards can be used together.

micmac34
Posts: 22
Joined: Wed Nov 09, 2016 3:11 am

Re: Creamware Power Pulsar 15DSP PCI for sale

Post by micmac34 » Wed Nov 16, 2016 12:53 am

Ok thanks !!!

Post Reply