using mono!

Compare notes on how to get the most from Scope devices, etc.
Post Reply
User avatar
FrancisHarmany
Posts: 1077
Joined: Sun Jun 02, 2002 4:00 pm
Location: Haarmania

using mono!

Post by FrancisHarmany » Wed Oct 03, 2007 9:08 am

So I am trying to use more mono SFX in my tracks.

Problem is most of my sources are already stereo!! I can mix the stereo signal into mono, sure. However I am thinking this will create some sort of phase gap in the stereo image.....

Maybe the trick is to only use mono effects on seperate channels of the stereo signal, or start with mono to begin with ?

Am I correct that mixing stuff together like this will create some phase weirdness ? Sure, sure, if it sounds good who cares ? :P

Anyhoo, thoughts are welcome.

hubird

Post by hubird » Wed Oct 03, 2007 9:23 am

if your signal is mono, there's no need to make it stereo.
If the signal is dual mono you can take one side.
If it's real stereo, I wouldn't change that :-)

In case you take one side of a dual-mono signal, you won't suffer from a lower signal-to-noise rate, to name something, as you're in digital domain.

User avatar
FrancisHarmany
Posts: 1077
Joined: Sun Jun 02, 2002 4:00 pm
Location: Haarmania

Post by FrancisHarmany » Wed Oct 03, 2007 9:36 am

Right.

Well I dont feel like double loading/modulating any mono-fx I want to use.
I guess its time for me to start using more mono signals:P

dawman
Posts: 12886
Joined: Sun Jul 24, 2005 4:00 pm
Location: PROJECT WINDOW

Post by dawman » Sat Oct 06, 2007 3:01 pm

Do you have SpaceF's mono FX ?

They are numerous and of high quality.

Beautiful and simple interfaces as well, and as usual every aspect of MIDI control has been implemented.

Post Reply