iPad Pro Apps Need Advice.

A place to talk about whatever Scope music/gear related stuff you want.

Moderators: valis, garyb

dawman
Posts: 13491
Joined: Sun Jul 24, 2005 4:00 pm
Location: PROJECT WINDOW

iPad Pro Apps Need Advice.

Post by dawman » Sat Apr 13, 2019 11:27 am

I have pics below of the numerous ports available to me, I’m clueless to what I’ll need for apps cables, etc.
So I’ll explain what my first goal is.

On the left side of my Physis K4 is 9 knobs 9 faders 9 buttons, 4 x Bank buttons that are each another 9/9/9 set up.
To get to bank 2/3 or 4 I must hit a Bank button.
My first goal is to have an app on iPad Pro that can be a replica of the Physis Banks mentioned above.
I don’t like switching between banks while playing, so the iPad Pro would be the 2nd bank button and second set of 9/9/9 controls.
In other words I want a layout of 18 knobs 18 faders and 18 buttons.
Basically exposing the 2nd bank.

Any suggestions are appreciated and also confused about cables, etc.

Each controller mentioned above can send messages out of any of the USB Ports or 8 x MIDI Ports.
06A8DAF4-08FC-42C7-911C-9A3B60C47B98.jpeg
06A8DAF4-08FC-42C7-911C-9A3B60C47B98.jpeg (3.83 MiB) Viewed 1122 times
E6A5152F-3276-4DDE-B19A-96EFA5B549DA.jpeg
E6A5152F-3276-4DDE-B19A-96EFA5B549DA.jpeg (3.7 MiB) Viewed 1122 times

User avatar
dante
Posts: 3910
Joined: Sat Nov 24, 2001 4:00 pm
Location: Melbourne Australia
Contact:

Re: iPad Pro Apps Need Advice.

Post by dante » Sat Apr 13, 2019 1:27 pm

Well, TB Midi Stuff https://itunes.apple.com/us/app/tb-midi ... d480953919 allowed me to make the surface I wanted on the iPad. Some options here :

https://www.scopeusers.com/ScopeRise/is ... d_mast.htm

jksuperstar
Posts: 1576
Joined: Mon Nov 15, 2010 12:57 pm

Re: iPad Pro Apps Need Advice.

Post by jksuperstar » Sat Apr 13, 2019 3:30 pm

Sounds like you just need buttons, so most apps can do this. If you want a few knobs/sliders/x-y pads for morphing several CC's at the same time, I think:

MIDI designer Pro 2 is the best app for live use...the visuals work well for that.

LEMUR is super powerful, but more complex to build a patch. But, it really can do anything.

If you catch them on sale, you probably won't spend much more that $40 for both.

jksuperstar
Posts: 1576
Joined: Mon Nov 15, 2010 12:57 pm

Re: iPad Pro Apps Need Advice.

Post by jksuperstar » Sat Apr 13, 2019 3:40 pm

Also an iPad Camera Adapter gives you the USB host port out of the iPad. Get one that allows you to charge & use USB at the same time. I've had no problems with 3rd party adapters, since Apple wants $80 for theirs.

Then over USB, you can host a USB hub, and any midi class compliant devices (anything that doesn't need a driver installed when used on a PC).

dawman
Posts: 13491
Joined: Sun Jul 24, 2005 4:00 pm
Location: PROJECT WINDOW

Re: iPad Pro Apps Need Advice.

Post by dawman » Sat Apr 13, 2019 4:59 pm

Lots of options here, thanks guys.
For now just exposing the hidden 2/3 and 4th banks of the Physis K4 on the surface of the iPad Pro is a good start.
The Camera cable is needed, and maybe even use editors in real-time where I can hear the adjustments.
This is where the send and return to Physis via USB or MIDI should be useful.

Ankyu

User avatar
valis
Posts: 4917
Joined: Sun Sep 23, 2001 4:00 pm
Location: West Coast USA
Contact:

Re: iPad Pro Apps Need Advice.

Post by valis » Sat Apr 13, 2019 5:57 pm

TouchOSC deserves more than a mere mention as well.

You’ll also want to look at:

AudioBus3 - for the inter-app communication inside iOS, essential
AudioCopy - if you use any apps that can record audio internally or manipualte samples
MidiMux - the best app to connect to external MIDI devices and your desktop DAW that I've found
and either “Link to Midi” or “MIDI Link Sync” (I just have both) for when you are performing alongside someone using Ableton Live. Your iPad Pro can then sync to Ableton Link and feed midi clock to your other devices to keep effects in sync.

Lastly, the Audiobus forums are one of the best places to discuss iOS related music apps and such.

dawman
Posts: 13491
Joined: Sun Jul 24, 2005 4:00 pm
Location: PROJECT WINDOW

Re: iPad Pro Apps Need Advice.

Post by dawman » Sat Apr 13, 2019 10:50 pm

Just some easy stuff for now.
52F48602-4158-4AD9-92E3-6FFA54DD257B.jpeg
52F48602-4158-4AD9-92E3-6FFA54DD257B.jpeg (3.82 MiB) Viewed 1040 times
Attachments
7D968372-26FD-41EF-94D5-971693D559A4.jpeg
7D968372-26FD-41EF-94D5-971693D559A4.jpeg (3.81 MiB) Viewed 1040 times

User avatar
valis
Posts: 4917
Joined: Sun Sep 23, 2001 4:00 pm
Location: West Coast USA
Contact:

Re: iPad Pro Apps Need Advice.

Post by valis » Sat Apr 13, 2019 11:08 pm

Lookin good Jimmy =]

dawman
Posts: 13491
Joined: Sun Jul 24, 2005 4:00 pm
Location: PROJECT WINDOW

Re: iPad Pro Apps Need Advice.

Post by dawman » Sun Apr 14, 2019 2:39 pm

Well now that I decided to use MIDI Designer Pro 2 I’m curious if Scope Mixers send out MIDI CC information.

Here’s my new Goal.
Send prgm Chang messages from Physis K4 (ch. 1# ) which in turn load PRJ Preset List (snapshots) that load mix # 1 out of 128 mixes/
If Scope Mixers send out data this could be captured in my iPad Pro where I’ve got a layout that is volume for Master + 12 channels.
iPad Pro via MIDI Design also has trim values for all 4 aux, plus 4 aux for each channel.

So whatever snapshot of the project window gets recalled, the same values would be recieved on the iPad Pro.

I would use a MIDI IN of the K4 which is programmable so I could route the data to the USB Port that iPad Pro is hooked up to.

I already have Scope MIDI Out going to my HX-3 Organ module (ext. hardware) this is the drawbar devices from SpaceF. I would need a MIDI Router here that would receive one MIDI Out from Scope, then send data to the HX-3 and the K4, which is then routed to the iPad via USB.

Sure is complicated but this us Scopes strength, routing.

Please tell me Scope Mixers send MIDI Out.
They have a MIDI Out seperate from MIDI In on all Mixers...

Ankyu

User avatar
garyb
Posts: 21936
Joined: Sun Apr 15, 2001 4:00 pm
Location: ghetto by the sea

Re: iPad Pro Apps Need Advice.

Post by garyb » Sun Apr 14, 2019 3:38 pm

yes, they do.

dawman
Posts: 13491
Joined: Sun Jul 24, 2005 4:00 pm
Location: PROJECT WINDOW

Re: iPad Pro Apps Need Advice.

Post by dawman » Sun Apr 14, 2019 9:29 pm

Right on, I’m going to have fun with MDPro 2.

You can actually take a picture of a Strymon Pedal, overlay controllers on it, then add 44 more controllers for every reverb algo and parameters.
I’ll take a pic of the STM 1248 (customized in paint), just 12 channels and only 4 of 6 Auxs.

User avatar
garyb
Posts: 21936
Joined: Sun Apr 15, 2001 4:00 pm
Location: ghetto by the sea

Re: iPad Pro Apps Need Advice.

Post by garyb » Mon Apr 15, 2019 7:38 am

you will need to assign midi controller numbers to the faders, buttons or knobs that you wish to automate, of course...

dawman
Posts: 13491
Joined: Sun Jul 24, 2005 4:00 pm
Location: PROJECT WINDOW

Re: iPad Pro Apps Need Advice.

Post by dawman » Mon Apr 15, 2019 8:03 am

That’s always been the case for live mixing.

PRJ Project List is used to Zero Out Mixers. Each new tune sends the data to over ride manually the default mixer status.
I just remembered something. Check the acct #.

dawman
Posts: 13491
Joined: Sun Jul 24, 2005 4:00 pm
Location: PROJECT WINDOW

Re: iPad Pro Apps Need Advice.

Post by dawman » Mon Apr 15, 2019 8:21 am

Mixer + AUXs, and the Strymon Big Sky Reverb so far.
All 12 reverb machines most important parameters, plus larger actual controllers on the pedal.
Easy money now.
4CC1B16E-2225-48CB-B8D7-139ACB618A3E.png
4CC1B16E-2225-48CB-B8D7-139ACB618A3E.png (9.55 MiB) Viewed 881 times
E28B2FAC-B3C6-4C95-90AD-42A3E37C29F8.png
E28B2FAC-B3C6-4C95-90AD-42A3E37C29F8.png (4.71 MiB) Viewed 881 times

dawman
Posts: 13491
Joined: Sun Jul 24, 2005 4:00 pm
Location: PROJECT WINDOW

Re: iPad Pro Apps Need Advice.

Post by dawman » Mon Apr 15, 2019 2:31 pm

Interesting discovery.
Scope sends out MIDI but only if you use the mouse to manually move a fader, etc.

Odd because I watch the faders move by using my faders on the Physis K4.
But this method for some reason won’t send the data out.
Only if I use a mouse....

The experiments will continue.

dawman
Posts: 13491
Joined: Sun Jul 24, 2005 4:00 pm
Location: PROJECT WINDOW

Re: iPad Pro Apps Need Advice.

Post by dawman » Mon Apr 15, 2019 3:53 pm

Sucess.
Long time ago the SpaceF CC Devices sent out MIDI Data, but their outputs needed to be merged with signals from MIDI Source module (Physis K4).

Since Scopes MIDI is kind of weird I thought maybe the Mixer was like SpaceFs Devices, so I merged the signals from the mixer and the MIDI Source Module (Physis K4). These were further merged with SpaceF CC Devices (drawbars on my Hammond Module).

Now Scopes Mixer data and my Hammond Module are directed to XITE-1 MIDI Out.

Data to the Hammond Module is perfect, and the Scope Mixer data is sent into the Physis K4 and redirected to bi directional USB / iPad Pro using MIDI Designer.

Scope will do anything if you have the will to dig deeper.

Fuckin’ A....
9480CEC5-3574-4A34-B6AE-51D39CDFE186.jpeg
9480CEC5-3574-4A34-B6AE-51D39CDFE186.jpeg (251.6 KiB) Viewed 834 times
5FF32F1B-51BF-4FC5-93E4-0C1E137D2F53.png
5FF32F1B-51BF-4FC5-93E4-0C1E137D2F53.png (383 KiB) Viewed 834 times

User avatar
valis
Posts: 4917
Joined: Sun Sep 23, 2001 4:00 pm
Location: West Coast USA
Contact:

Re: iPad Pro Apps Need Advice.

Post by valis » Mon Apr 15, 2019 4:45 pm

:)

dawman
Posts: 13491
Joined: Sun Jul 24, 2005 4:00 pm
Location: PROJECT WINDOW

Re: iPad Pro Apps Need Advice.

Post by dawman » Mon Apr 15, 2019 7:33 pm

Complex, but fully automated now, with bi directional MIDI via iPad Pro.

Untitled.jpg
Untitled.jpg (192.65 KiB) Viewed 810 times

dawman
Posts: 13491
Joined: Sun Jul 24, 2005 4:00 pm
Location: PROJECT WINDOW

Re: iPad Pro Apps Need Advice.

Post by dawman » Mon Apr 15, 2019 7:38 pm

Only thing making me scratch my head is MIDI Out 5 on MIDI Filter says not connected.
Its connected to the Monitor displaying iPad MIDI values.

Any other time Maus Filters shows the connections?

I see said the blind man....

User avatar
yayajohn
Posts: 1199
Joined: Thu Mar 01, 2007 5:01 pm
Location: Everywhere....Nowhere

Re: iPad Pro Apps Need Advice.

Post by yayajohn » Tue Apr 16, 2019 2:23 am

On your screen shot it looks like it's Midi 4 not 5.
Did your route the output to 2 different locations and then disconnect the second?
Try disconnecting and then reconnecting.

Very cool setup. Thanks for posting. Inspiring stuff. 8)

Post Reply