AD/DA Converter comparisons?

A place to talk about whatever Scope music/gear related stuff you want.

Moderators: valis, garyb

pdistefano

AD/DA Converter comparisons?

Post by pdistefano »

Throwing out the question.......has anyone stacked up/compared the creamware/scope/ferrofish AD/DA converters directly against anything considered more "high end" such as the Prism or Antelope unit options.....and formed any specific conclusions/opinion?

I have been using Creamware A16 ultra's for approx 15 years, and recently the question arose with a colleague as to whether the benefit of adding additional high end front end outboard equipment (such as a neve 1073) running into it, or similarly the benefit of mixing down/summing externally via a Toft ATB32 channel console (as cI currently do) was that the "sonic potential would/is not being fully being capitalised upon" arguably due to the inferior conversion quality of the scope system converters as opposed to alternative (albeit more expensive) options.

I would think that ultimately until you have an opportunity to hear the difference directly side by side it is impossible to draw any accurate conclusions..

Since I haven;t really known anything much different to my own rig, I can't add anything further to this (tired ;) ) debate, or form an opinion either way, however am interested in any comments/thoughts if anyone has had any experience or researched/tested this in further detail..

Does it really matter/make substantial difference to tracking and mix and save time in not needing to compensate for any arguably "inferior" conversion? I tend to think it's just better to get on with making music with what you know and deal with the quirks of your own rig vs throw into a never-ending quest of equipment upgrade....