PlanetZ@scopeusers.com

Scope Users Community
It is currently Fri Aug 18, 2017 4:46 am

All times are UTC - 8 hours




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 16 posts ] 
Author Message
 Post subject: Does anybody use midiquest editor and Midi hardware with vst
PostPosted: Thu May 25, 2017 11:35 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Thu Oct 10, 2013 4:27 pm
Posts: 773
Location: On the dark side of the earth
Life could be so easy, but I want it all. Does anyone have experience with the Midi hardware modules and editor eg soundquest and the possible vst integration of your beloved old hardware synthesizers?


Attachments:
Collage 2017-05-26 09_32_03.jpg
Collage 2017-05-26 09_32_03.jpg [ 502.72 KiB | Viewed 530 times ]

_________________
Just musicians discussion! :D
Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: Re: Does anybody use midiquest editor and Midi hardware with
PostPosted: Fri May 26, 2017 12:30 am 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Wed Jun 05, 2002 4:00 pm
Posts: 1707
Location: VRRAAaaooOôOooommmh
Yes.. I still use sounddiver but it's not in vst and soundquest. If you use Cubase, you may find on internet "Cubase midi devices" for your hardware synths already builded. I found one for my Supernova. Really convenient... For my JV 2080, sounddiver is more convenient than soundquest.

_________________
> > > > > > > > > > > > --- Musica --> here ! ---< < < < < < < < < < < <


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: Re: Does anybody use midiquest editor and Midi hardware with
PostPosted: Fri May 26, 2017 1:11 am 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Thu Oct 10, 2013 4:27 pm
Posts: 773
Location: On the dark side of the earth
I'm just trying soundquest and I hate it until now nothing works well.
I have just wasted my time with this shit. But I keep on fighting till the end, and then I will have found a way to make it use. Live isn't easy :x

_________________
Just musicians discussion! :D


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: Re: Does anybody use midiquest editor and Midi hardware with
PostPosted: Fri May 26, 2017 4:12 am 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Thu Oct 10, 2013 4:27 pm
Posts: 773
Location: On the dark side of the earth
The Supernova is a wonderful piece of Hardware synthesizer

_________________
Just musicians discussion! :D


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: Re: Does anybody use midiquest editor and Midi hardware with
PostPosted: Fri May 26, 2017 4:46 am 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Wed Jun 05, 2002 4:00 pm
Posts: 1707
Location: VRRAAaaooOôOooommmh
On my system, soundquest works well only with my JV2080. Even if a Supernova soundquest file exists, I've never being able to use it. Do you use Cubase ? If you do, have a internet research with words like "your synth name + cubase + midi device", maybe you'll find an already made midi device that may control your synth inside Cubase.

And Sounddiver works like a charm but outside your daw...Which is not that bad for me...

_________________
> > > > > > > > > > > > --- Musica --> here ! ---< < < < < < < < < < < <


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: Re: Does anybody use midiquest editor and Midi hardware with
PostPosted: Fri May 26, 2017 5:02 am 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Thu Oct 10, 2013 4:27 pm
Posts: 773
Location: On the dark side of the earth
I guess I will try the sound diver and I hate cubase. I am searching for a good way. I only want to have find a possible way to choose sounds by program names. And edit a little bit, but arranging sounds is important. I don't need a VST integration, because the Midi stream is to slow. If I need a real time influence, then I use scope synths or hardware analog or vst synths.

I guess there is a way I can find.

_________________
Just musicians discussion! :D


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: Re: Does anybody use midiquest editor and Midi hardware with
PostPosted: Sat May 27, 2017 7:47 am 
Offline

Joined: Fri Jun 03, 2005 4:00 pm
Posts: 814
Location: Springfield !
MIDI QUEST is really good - I've not used it much yet but installed it to begin to get it working - It's a hassle to begin with - The tech support is good and someone always replies to emails if you get stuck and mis-understand a compatibility issue.

That was a few years ago and newer versions of Cubase may have "hardware" editors - I wouldn't buy "many" more hardware synths but will keep the ones I've got and use MIDI Quest!


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: Re: Does anybody use midiquest editor and Midi hardware with
PostPosted: Sun May 28, 2017 2:49 am 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Thu May 24, 2001 4:00 pm
Posts: 3169
Tried Midiquest numerous times and nearly always failed. I think there's a thread on Gearslutz where I raised my issues and they responded. Turns out it doesn't work so well with many MIDI patch bays, which makes it completely useless for my needs as I'm not going to directly connect a MIDI cable to each synth as I need it.

Seems the interface is stuck in 1998 too.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: Re: Does anybody use midiquest editor and Midi hardware with
PostPosted: Sun May 28, 2017 3:05 am 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Wed Jun 05, 2002 4:00 pm
Posts: 1707
Location: VRRAAaaooOôOooommmh
:-? But ! Isn't midi quest a part or even the same as sound quest ?
https://www.squest.com/

If I remember well, in soundquest or midi quest the supernova script is impossible to run when the JV2080 works perfectly. If I can run one, it must mean that I understand how it works, which means all synth scripts are not always operational...
In sounddiver, never any issue. And one still can find new synth file or script, don't know how to call it, on internet.

_________________
> > > > > > > > > > > > --- Musica --> here ! ---< < < < < < < < < < < <


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: Re: Does anybody use midiquest editor and Midi hardware with
PostPosted: Sun May 28, 2017 10:13 am 
Offline

Joined: Fri Jun 03, 2005 4:00 pm
Posts: 814
Location: Springfield !
Yes JOPO it is the same company - I'm sure the device is supported - I don't know if it works or not 100% - It's now MIDI QUEST 11 so it must be getting better - Isn't sound diver something on the Apple Mac? - If so it's years old but MIDI QUEST is still being developed by the looks of it


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: Re: Does anybody use midiquest editor and Midi hardware with
PostPosted: Mon May 29, 2017 12:25 am 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Wed Jun 05, 2002 4:00 pm
Posts: 1707
Location: VRRAAaaooOôOooommmh
Well... I spend days to try to use midi quest with my supernova --> impossible when I needed 15 mn for the JV2080 ! And sounddiver works perfectly with both synth !

_________________
> > > > > > > > > > > > --- Musica --> here ! ---< < < < < < < < < < < <


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: Re: Does anybody use midiquest editor and Midi hardware with
PostPosted: Mon May 29, 2017 12:39 am 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Thu Oct 10, 2013 4:27 pm
Posts: 773
Location: On the dark side of the earth
I have 19 synthesizers I hope it works all..... :D
First I use the sound quest, ii had problems, I switch to sound diver if I hat a problem with both I search for and specified editor program. I am shure I will come along. I'm not married with one editor program, so no problem with polygamy :D

_________________
Just musicians discussion! :D


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: Re: Does anybody use midiquest editor and Midi hardware with
PostPosted: Mon May 29, 2017 12:56 am 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Thu Oct 10, 2013 4:27 pm
Posts: 773
Location: On the dark side of the earth
Ahhh Mr akain! Do not use a Midi Patchbay, use more Midi boxes and fixed cables for each device. Nowadays cheap Midi interfaces are available. See mine on the picture 4x4 IO for 55€. Now I have 4 boxes cheaper than a Midi Patchbay

_________________
Just musicians discussion! :D


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: Re: Does anybody use midiquest editor and Midi hardware with
PostPosted: Mon May 29, 2017 4:45 am 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Mon Jun 26, 2006 4:00 pm
Posts: 780
Location: Portugal
How about http://ctrlr.org/ ?


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: Re: Does anybody use midiquest editor and Midi hardware with
PostPosted: Mon May 29, 2017 9:02 am 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Wed Jun 05, 2002 4:00 pm
Posts: 1707
Location: VRRAAaaooOôOooommmh
Tau wrote:
How about http://ctrlr.org/ ?

Yes, this one allows to create dedicted GUI available as vst synth. There are plenty of already done interfaces for a lot of hardware synths. At least the most famous...
http://ctrlr.org/panels/

_________________
> > > > > > > > > > > > --- Musica --> here ! ---< < < < < < < < < < < <


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: Re: Does anybody use midiquest editor and Midi hardware with
PostPosted: Mon May 29, 2017 11:56 am 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Thu Oct 10, 2013 4:27 pm
Posts: 773
Location: On the dark side of the earth
Thanks I found some devices to complete my collection. But I must try all out. Who is the winner?

_________________
Just musicians discussion! :D


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 16 posts ] 

All times are UTC - 8 hours


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Ambient Source, Google [Bot] and 3 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  

Donate to help support this community


Powered by phpBB © 2000, 2002, 2005, 2007 phpBB Group