Connection spdif to aes ebu

A place to talk about whatever Scope music/gear related stuff you want.
Post Reply
User avatar
Marco
Posts: 904
Joined: Thu Oct 10, 2013 4:27 pm
Location: Germany

Connection spdif to aes ebu

Post by Marco » Sun Apr 16, 2017 12:18 am

Can I connect a device with aes ebu out and input with this cable to scope chinch in and out?

This is only a cable connection, no resistor or any other electronics.
I want to connect to scope a FX device with aes ebu in and out to scopes spdif.

https://m.thomann.de/de/pro_snake_aes_e ... 1492330343
Scope 7 user since 2017 and Scope user since 1998. :o

borg
Posts: 1454
Joined: Tue Oct 23, 2001 4:00 pm
Location: antwerp, belgium

Re: Connection spdif to aes ebu

Post by borg » Sun Apr 16, 2017 3:13 am

http://www.soundonsound.com/sound-advic ... pdif-input

never tried it myself, but I think you won't hurt anything. you'll hear whether it works or not.
andy
the lunatics are in the hall

User avatar
Marco
Posts: 904
Joined: Thu Oct 10, 2013 4:27 pm
Location: Germany

Re: Connection spdif to aes ebu

Post by Marco » Sun Apr 16, 2017 3:53 am

No it has a higher voltage and could probably destroy scope card! So I do not only connect and hope if it survives.
Scope 7 user since 2017 and Scope user since 1998. :o

borg
Posts: 1454
Joined: Tue Oct 23, 2001 4:00 pm
Location: antwerp, belgium

Re: Connection spdif to aes ebu

Post by borg » Sun Apr 16, 2017 4:06 am

well, then you already know you need something like this: http://hosatech.com/product/cdl-313/
andy
the lunatics are in the hall

User avatar
Marco
Posts: 904
Joined: Thu Oct 10, 2013 4:27 pm
Location: Germany

Re: Connection spdif to aes ebu

Post by Marco » Sun Apr 16, 2017 4:30 am

I am looking for somebody, who has the answer, because there are some devices, they accept the higher voltage without any problems. Im shure gary knows this if there should be a danger for the scope card. :D
Scope 7 user since 2017 and Scope user since 1998. :o

User avatar
Marco
Posts: 904
Joined: Thu Oct 10, 2013 4:27 pm
Location: Germany

Re: Connection spdif to aes ebu

Post by Marco » Sun Apr 16, 2017 5:04 am

Maybe I am a lucky man, I have the sync plate here and my FX device has a bnc connection. I never used it before? I need an expert please?
Scope 7 user since 2017 and Scope user since 1998. :o

User avatar
garyb
Posts: 21192
Joined: Sun Apr 15, 2001 4:00 pm
Location: ghetto by the sea

Re: Connection spdif to aes ebu

Post by garyb » Sun Apr 16, 2017 6:36 am

AES/EBU and SP/DIF are basically the same data. SP/DIF is the consumer styandard and AES/EBU is the "pro" standard. the main difference is signal level, just like -20 and +4 audio. you can probably connect directly, but that might lead to errors. it's not the best idea. the converter box above is the right way to do it.

User avatar
Marco
Posts: 904
Joined: Thu Oct 10, 2013 4:27 pm
Location: Germany

Re: Connection spdif to aes ebu

Post by Marco » Sun Apr 16, 2017 7:00 am

Thank you Gary for this answer. This box is to expensive 150€,I would rather buy a behringer src2496 used for 60€.This box can do the same but is also a Tausendsassa in conversation for all formats in all directions and a good investment for the futures potential problems with any digital translation format conversion.
Scope 7 user since 2017 and Scope user since 1998. :o

User avatar
garyb
Posts: 21192
Joined: Sun Apr 15, 2001 4:00 pm
Location: ghetto by the sea

Re: Connection spdif to aes ebu

Post by garyb » Sun Apr 16, 2017 7:45 am

as you like.
i'm sure the Behringer box is just fine. i would be happy to use it.

it's getting ...... with people saying "this or that is too expensive". there is the work you wish to do. there is a price for the parts needed to do what you wish to do. you must pay that price, if you wish to work or play. period. computers have really messed up people's perception of cost and reality. obviously, if you can spend less for the same thing or better, that's a good thing.

User avatar
Marco
Posts: 904
Joined: Thu Oct 10, 2013 4:27 pm
Location: Germany

Re: Connection spdif to aes ebu

Post by Marco » Sun Apr 16, 2017 8:39 am

There are so many technical devices for each problem out there on the market there are 30 different devices with different possibilities. Today's richdom of technical devices is like a flood coming over. But the good for a user is to choose the right thing is a challenge , going the right way is game of fortune sometimes. The behringer src2496 cost new 199€ but I saw one for incredible 60€ a used good enough for my little person.
Scope 7 user since 2017 and Scope user since 1998. :o

dawman
Posts: 12886
Joined: Sun Jul 24, 2005 4:00 pm
Location: PROJECT WINDOW

Re: Connection spdif to aes ebu

Post by dawman » Sun Apr 16, 2017 5:08 pm

I use the Hosa to take Solaris SP/DIF to AES/EBU.

User avatar
Marco
Posts: 904
Joined: Thu Oct 10, 2013 4:27 pm
Location: Germany

Re: Connection spdif to aes ebu

Post by Marco » Mon Apr 17, 2017 3:18 am

I love the A16 Audiobahn by Creamware.

All connected this morning, but still not finished.

If you like, please send me a a picture of your studio! Is always interesting what other people do....
Attachments
IMG_20170417_133108.jpg
IMG_20170417_133108.jpg (132.97 KiB) Viewed 1032 times
IMG_20170417_100942_1~01.jpg
This picture comes from a real freak
IMG_20170417_100942_1~01.jpg (188.05 KiB) Viewed 1033 times
Scope 7 user since 2017 and Scope user since 1998. :o

User avatar
JoPo
Posts: 1902
Joined: Wed Jun 05, 2002 4:00 pm
Location: VRRAAaaooOôOooommmh
Contact:

Re: Connection spdif to aes ebu

Post by JoPo » Mon Apr 17, 2017 3:59 am

Absolutely obvious ! It lacks precisely an Xite-1 in this home studio ! :roll:
> > > > > > > > > > > > --- Musica --> here ! ---< < < < < < < < < < < <

User avatar
dante
Posts: 3702
Joined: Sat Nov 24, 2001 4:00 pm
Location: Melbourne Australia
Contact:

Re: Connection spdif to aes ebu

Post by dante » Mon Apr 17, 2017 1:24 pm

Ive connected Pulsar SP/DIF to XITE-1D AES-EBU - at 96Khz - on the same PC - no probs whatsoever.

Post Reply