SB 404

A place to talk about whatever Scope music/gear related stuff you want.
User avatar
faxinadu
Posts: 1215
Joined: Wed Nov 01, 2006 3:12 am
Location: israel
Contact:

Re: SB 404

Post by faxinadu » Wed Dec 14, 2016 9:42 am

so to clarify on sb404 - the bug is on the gate sequencer, the note sequencer or the control sequencer or on all of them?

jksuperstar
Posts: 1475
Joined: Mon Nov 15, 2010 12:57 pm

Re: SB 404

Post by jksuperstar » Wed Dec 14, 2016 7:06 pm

My experience is all of them. Press play,and nothing happens. Although, if the note seq didn't work but either of the others did...it might've gone unnoticed. It first doesn't show any pattern loaded when changing presets.

Liquid EDGE
Posts: 787
Joined: Sun Apr 04, 2004 4:00 pm
Location: Brighton England
Contact:

Re: SB 404

Post by Liquid EDGE » Thu Dec 15, 2016 11:57 am

Will give a clear response tomorrow when at the studio. From what I remember it's applying of all these things not happening until samplerate changing. Pressing the keys plays the sequence fine.

DragonSF
Posts: 251
Joined: Sun Nov 08, 2015 4:28 pm

Re: SB 404

Post by DragonSF » Thu Dec 15, 2016 3:29 pm

I tried it again and SB 404 works fine on XITE-1 even when chaning patterns. I don't know, how to make a new pattern, so please someone tell me how to. Otherwise I'd say SB404 is working (on any DSP), but 808 and 909 don't (only one or two of the the drum oscs are triggered).

User avatar
faxinadu
Posts: 1215
Joined: Wed Nov 01, 2006 3:12 am
Location: israel
Contact:

Re: SB 404

Post by faxinadu » Thu Dec 15, 2016 11:44 pm

well, it is well documented by now that it does not work. don't know what you did that it worked for you, maybe your xite placed it on dsp2 and thus it worked

DragonSF
Posts: 251
Joined: Sun Nov 08, 2015 4:28 pm

Re: SB 404

Post by DragonSF » Fri Dec 16, 2016 1:33 am

faxinadu wrote:well, it is well documented by now that it does not work. don't know what you did that it worked for you, maybe your xite placed it on dsp2 and thus it worked
Nope, I can assign it to any DSP and it still works. Though only MIDI notes > 48 work (which of course doesn't make sense for a bass).
I found the editor: when I set the keysplit to a lower note, I can also play bass notes.
Last edited by DragonSF on Fri Dec 16, 2016 1:48 am, edited 4 times in total.

User avatar
faxinadu
Posts: 1215
Joined: Wed Nov 01, 2006 3:12 am
Location: israel
Contact:

Re: SB 404

Post by faxinadu » Fri Dec 16, 2016 1:34 am

you must have a magic xite ;) it is a known issue

DragonSF
Posts: 251
Joined: Sun Nov 08, 2015 4:28 pm

Re: SB 404

Post by DragonSF » Fri Dec 16, 2016 1:38 am

faxinadu wrote:you must have a magic xite ;) it is a known issue
Magic anyway (it doesn't work with A16 but with A8200). Which notes are you trying to play?

User avatar
faxinadu
Posts: 1215
Joined: Wed Nov 01, 2006 3:12 am
Location: israel
Contact:

Re: SB 404

Post by faxinadu » Fri Dec 16, 2016 1:44 am

i don't have an xite as you know, but it is by now well documented that all sequencer based modules do not perform correctly on xite. this includes sb404 and modular sequencer mdoules as well as our own ocean swift sequencer based devices like gateway and ocean storm (since been fixed on storm).

DragonSF
Posts: 251
Joined: Sun Nov 08, 2015 4:28 pm

Re: SB 404

Post by DragonSF » Fri Dec 16, 2016 1:50 am

Here the only sequencer, which properly works is the SB 404. All others (as said before) can only output 1 or two signals. As the SB 404 needs only one output (guessing here), it you be fine.

Liquid EDGE
Posts: 787
Joined: Sun Apr 04, 2004 4:00 pm
Location: Brighton England
Contact:

Re: SB 404

Post by Liquid EDGE » Fri Dec 16, 2016 2:01 am

I'll post a video tonight (hopefully) to clearly show the issue. The notes bellow 48 are for changing the pattern banks when step sequencer is active.

User avatar
faxinadu
Posts: 1215
Joined: Wed Nov 01, 2006 3:12 am
Location: israel
Contact:

Re: SB 404

Post by faxinadu » Fri Dec 16, 2016 2:20 am

we actually fixed it, but then a new issue arrises where you can not open more than one sb404 in a project (should not be happening, its monophonic and the seq modules are not dsp expensive, so it is somehow creating a new issue)... so... the fix is not a much more than first-aid at this point and it can not be released as a fix.

DragonSF
Posts: 251
Joined: Sun Nov 08, 2015 4:28 pm

Re: SB 404

Post by DragonSF » Fri Dec 16, 2016 3:36 am

Liquid EDGE wrote:I'll post a video tonight (hopefully) to clearly show the issue. The notes bellow 48 are for changing the pattern banks when step sequencer is active.
I see. So when the split is on, any note below should switch the pattern(which doesn't happen) and above start the sequencer. So here, the pattern switch doesn't work (no MIDI signal below split-point is registered).

Liquid EDGE
Posts: 787
Joined: Sun Apr 04, 2004 4:00 pm
Location: Brighton England
Contact:

Re: SB 404

Post by Liquid EDGE » Fri Dec 16, 2016 9:11 am

DragonSF wrote:
Liquid EDGE wrote:I'll post a video tonight (hopefully) to clearly show the issue. The notes bellow 48 are for changing the pattern banks when step sequencer is active.
I see. So when the split is on, any note below should switch the pattern(which doesn't happen) and above start the sequencer. So here, the pattern switch doesn't work (no MIDI signal below split-point is registered).
exactly. and the same when you try to edit the steps in the step sequencer. nothing actually changes (audibly) until you follow it with the sample rate switching!

Assigning to dsp2 gets that stuff to behave. but then as soon as you add/turn on fx filters etc on the sb404 dsp2 can not cope and just errors.

maybe the pitch changes work on the fly. i cant remember. but im going to have a quick look tonight. (phew, i dont need to do the video :D )

Liquid EDGE
Posts: 787
Joined: Sun Apr 04, 2004 4:00 pm
Location: Brighton England
Contact:

Re: SB 404

Post by Liquid EDGE » Fri Dec 16, 2016 9:14 am

faxinadu wrote:we actually fixed it, but then a new issue arrises where you can not open more than one sb404 in a project (should not be happening, its monophonic and the seq modules are not dsp expensive, so it is somehow creating a new issue)... so... the fix is not a much more than first-aid at this point and it can not be released as a fix.
Still, id be more than happy with 1 perfectly working sb404 in a project!!!

Liquid EDGE
Posts: 787
Joined: Sun Apr 04, 2004 4:00 pm
Location: Brighton England
Contact:

Re: SB 404

Post by Liquid EDGE » Fri Dec 16, 2016 9:50 am

Liquid EDGE wrote:
faxinadu wrote:we actually fixed it, but then a new issue arrises where you can not open more than one sb404 in a project (should not be happening, its monophonic and the seq modules are not dsp expensive, so it is somehow creating a new issue)... so... the fix is not a much more than first-aid at this point and it can not be released as a fix.
Still, id be more than happy with 1 perfectly working sb404 in a project!!!
Also, wonder if the fix/first-aid can be applied to Solaris??!! As 1 fully working Solaris (yes I know Solaris only works with low poly on Xite, but still) would be great! (Not wanting to push it)
For me this is all very exciting and a break through!!!!

User avatar
FernandoHood
Posts: 113
Joined: Fri May 20, 2016 6:31 am
Location: 127.0.0.0
Contact:

Re: SB 404

Post by FernandoHood » Mon Feb 27, 2017 10:14 am

i made more than 50 custom presets, something i took weeks to do, got all the sweet spots and sounds i wanted to get from it,
none of them load now, wasted too many hours with this synth with zero results. Sometimes not even the factory presets load....
I love SC synths but i Dont understand why this is so praised, for me it just seems broken
Ocean Swift Synthesis - Scope 3rd Party Plugins
http://www.oceanswift.net
FernandoHood
http://www.fernandohood.com
Atom Sessions - Music
https://atomsessions.bandcamp.com/

the_mind_as_music
Posts: 3
Joined: Sun Apr 09, 2017 1:21 am

Re: SB 404

Post by the_mind_as_music » Sun Apr 09, 2017 12:53 pm

Hi there everyone,

I recently re-installed my Scope software and was going through my plug-ins and coincidently saw this thread and thought I'd fire the SB 404 up.

I am using Studio One ver.3 as my DAW and everything was fine until I tried to sync to midi clock. It sync'ed ok, except it was going at 3600bpm! (in a 120 bpm song).

I thought I would try and install Reaper to see what happened and it worked brilliantly.

I've tried a few google searches but I can't solve the issue. I wondered if anyone has the same problem (with Studio One ver. 3) or even an answer maybe.

Thanks in advance,
Robert

the_mind_as_music
Posts: 3
Joined: Sun Apr 09, 2017 1:21 am

Re: SB 404

Post by the_mind_as_music » Mon Apr 10, 2017 11:45 am

Just a quick message;

I gave it another go and realised you have to tick the midi timecode box.

Apologies for not trying that earlier!

Post Reply