Luna 2 Box 8 in 8 out

A place to talk about whatever Scope music/gear related stuff you want.

Moderators: valis, garyb

Post Reply
fraz
Posts: 910
Joined: Fri Jun 03, 2005 4:00 pm
Location: Springfield !

Luna 2 Box 8 in 8 out

Post by fraz » Wed Feb 12, 2014 10:06 am

Hi,

Should the Luna 2 box come with 2 x Z-Link cables included? - And are these still available from Sonic Core? - Not the box I know that's obsolete but the Z-Link cables - Can I still get these from Sonic Core?

User avatar
capacitor
Posts: 260
Joined: Tue Mar 25, 2008 4:39 pm

Re: Luna 2 Box 8 in 8 out

Post by capacitor » Wed Feb 12, 2014 10:14 am

If S/C doesn't sell them, probably a 6 pin firewire cable will work: http://forums.planetz.com/viewtopic.php?f=5&t=29461

fraz
Posts: 910
Joined: Fri Jun 03, 2005 4:00 pm
Location: Springfield !

Re: Luna 2 Box 8 in 8 out

Post by fraz » Wed Feb 12, 2014 10:27 am

Are other people using a 6 pin firewire cable?

So far I only use a fw cable or Z-Link cable with Xite-1 & Sonic Core A16 Ultra but I forget whether the Z-Link cables came with the Sonic Core A16 Ultra or whether I bought a firewire cable for it.

I'm considering a used Luna Box but was asking if the Z-Link cables ship with the Luna Box?

User avatar
garyb
Posts: 21684
Joined: Sun Apr 15, 2001 4:00 pm
Location: ghetto by the sea

Re: Luna 2 Box 8 in 8 out

Post by garyb » Wed Feb 12, 2014 12:33 pm

it's just a regular firewire cable...

fraz
Posts: 910
Joined: Fri Jun 03, 2005 4:00 pm
Location: Springfield !

Re: Luna 2 Box 8 in 8 out

Post by fraz » Wed Feb 12, 2014 12:53 pm

garyb wrote:it's just a regular firewire cable...
I'll try to remember that....

User avatar
garyb
Posts: 21684
Joined: Sun Apr 15, 2001 4:00 pm
Location: ghetto by the sea

Re: Luna 2 Box 8 in 8 out

Post by garyb » Wed Feb 12, 2014 12:56 pm

Luna boxes get power from Z-Link. i'm not sure that the XITE will power a Luna box.

fraz
Posts: 910
Joined: Fri Jun 03, 2005 4:00 pm
Location: Springfield !

Re: Luna 2 Box 8 in 8 out

Post by fraz » Wed Feb 12, 2014 1:04 pm

Dante suggested it.... :lol:

User avatar
dante
Posts: 3819
Joined: Sat Nov 24, 2001 4:00 pm
Location: Melbourne Australia
Contact:

Re: Luna 2 Box 8 in 8 out

Post by dante » Wed Feb 12, 2014 2:27 pm

Not really, I just answered the question what other IO box works on zlink.

fraz
Posts: 910
Joined: Fri Jun 03, 2005 4:00 pm
Location: Springfield !

Re: Luna 2 Box 8 in 8 out

Post by fraz » Wed Feb 12, 2014 2:40 pm

I thought it was very clever of you.... :) ........

fraz
Posts: 910
Joined: Fri Jun 03, 2005 4:00 pm
Location: Springfield !

Re: Luna 2 Box 8 in 8 out

Post by fraz » Thu Feb 20, 2014 9:32 am

The Luna Box arrived today-almost like its brand new-unopened box-That'll fit nicely into the Z-link on the Power Sampler for another 8 I/0- :)

fraz
Posts: 910
Joined: Fri Jun 03, 2005 4:00 pm
Location: Springfield !

Re: Luna 2 Box 8 in 8 out

Post by fraz » Thu Feb 20, 2014 7:32 pm

& The Luna Box is smaller than what I thought it would be-It looks huge in the pictures-

User avatar
dante
Posts: 3819
Joined: Sat Nov 24, 2001 4:00 pm
Location: Melbourne Australia
Contact:

Re: Luna 2 Box 8 in 8 out

Post by dante » Thu Feb 20, 2014 8:18 pm

Well its 1U high x half rack width isn't it ?

Immanuel
Posts: 3018
Joined: Thu Oct 25, 2001 4:00 pm
Location: Aalborg, Denmark

Re: Luna 2 Box 8 in 8 out

Post by Immanuel » Sat Feb 22, 2014 10:12 am

I think it is 1/3 width.

(I was wrong. It is ½ width)
Last edited by Immanuel on Tue Feb 25, 2014 5:31 pm, edited 2 times in total.
Information for new readers: A forum member named Braincell is known for spreading lies and malicious information without even knowing the basics of, what he is talking about. If noone responds to him, it is because he is ignored.

hubird

Re: Luna 2 Box 8 in 8 out

Post by hubird » Sat Feb 22, 2014 10:26 am

nope, halfrack :)

fraz
Posts: 910
Joined: Fri Jun 03, 2005 4:00 pm
Location: Springfield !

Re: Luna 2 Box 8 in 8 out

Post by fraz » Sat Feb 22, 2014 8:47 pm

I wasn't expecting a big debate over this.... :P .....looks like I got one though.... :) ------

The point I was trying to make is it looks a lot smaller in the hand compared to the pictures in the Creamware manuals-I think the pictures must have been increased in size----I like it, its dinky and a bit late in the day buying obsolete equipment..... :lol: ---but it'll attach to my Power Sampler very nicely----

Post Reply