Is Xite right for me?

A place to talk about whatever Scope music/gear related stuff you want.

Moderators: valis, garyb

niversen

Is Xite right for me?

Post by niversen »

I am a composer (orchestral/film style) and producer. I have a Solaris hardware synth on order, and am quite impressed with the sound samples from Solaris/Xite synths. Reading the forum, it seems there are many limitations/caveats, and I'm not sure how easily this will integrate.

1. Ability to use as a VST inside Vienna Ensemble Pro. I was going to put this as a "box of synths" inside a Vienna Ensemble Pro instance. I was hoping that this would let me use a bunch of great, DSP synths that I could load up without concern for CPU cycles. This would be with Cubase 7 64 bit, but that isn't super relevant if it is actually hosted inside VEP (I can make a 32-bit VEP instance if needed). This way, it could always be part of my template. I get the impression that VST is kind of flaky, or only works 32 bit. If stable as a VST, VEP will host it as a 32 bit thing, and I can still run my DAW 64 bit. Does anyone do this?

2. Can I load this thing up with lots of synths? Like 8-16 instances of various stuff? definitely several Solaris instances, a modular or two, etc.

3. I see a lot of posts about limited polyphony of 4,5, or 7 notes. Is that really true? Shouldn't be a big issue, but just curious as to why? Shouldn't the DSPs yield lots of polyphony? Is this related to the posts I see about things "optimized for Scope 5" vs not optimized? How do I know which synths will be "optimized"?

4. Should I be thinking of this as external hardware? Send it 16 ch. of MIDI on a physical MIDI port, then pipe the audio back into tracks via ASIO or even ADAT? Is that more stable?