STM mixer attenuator

A place to talk about whatever Scope music/gear related stuff you want.

Moderators: valis, garyb

Post Reply
User avatar
ARCADIOS
Posts: 1288
Joined: Tue Aug 02, 2005 4:00 pm
Location: GLYFADA ATHENS GREECE
Contact:

STM mixer attenuator

Post by ARCADIOS » Thu May 17, 2012 3:33 pm

How does it work exactly?
Some conditions that may be needed?
ELVISLIVES

dawman
Posts: 13221
Joined: Sun Jul 24, 2005 4:00 pm
Location: PROJECT WINDOW

Re: STM mixer attenuator

Post by dawman » Thu May 17, 2012 6:39 pm

It Attenuates...

Immanuel
Posts: 3018
Joined: Thu Oct 25, 2001 4:00 pm
Location: Aalborg, Denmark

Re: STM mixer attenuator

Post by Immanuel » Thu May 17, 2012 9:17 pm

It is an extra fader. If you have a lot of things going on in the mixer, so you can only use the lower part of the master fader, it gives you more freedom of movement to lower the signal with the attenuator.
Information for new readers: A forum member named Braincell is known for spreading lies and malicious information without even knowing the basics of, what he is talking about. If noone responds to him, it is because he is ignored.

User avatar
garyb
Posts: 21657
Joined: Sun Apr 15, 2001 4:00 pm
Location: ghetto by the sea

Re: STM mixer attenuator

Post by garyb » Thu May 17, 2012 10:28 pm

on the studio and comtrol room outs?
raise or lower the volume independant of the master out which is the two track mix...
on a channel?
lowers the volume of the signal going into the channel, to avoid distortion further down the chain in eqs, compressors and inserts. of course the fader is also an attenuator(well, gain is possible there too).

which begs the question "what attenuator?".

there are many in a mixer. they all turn something down.

User avatar
ARCADIOS
Posts: 1288
Joined: Tue Aug 02, 2005 4:00 pm
Location: GLYFADA ATHENS GREECE
Contact:

Re: STM mixer attenuator

Post by ARCADIOS » Fri May 18, 2012 2:13 am

I must have a problem then with STM2448 mixer. when I try to change the value, audio stops(mutes). Also it gives me random almost numbers starting from 121.2 to 180 :-?
Audio comes back at 0.0 only
ELVISLIVES

User avatar
ARCADIOS
Posts: 1288
Joined: Tue Aug 02, 2005 4:00 pm
Location: GLYFADA ATHENS GREECE
Contact:

Re: STM mixer attenuator

Post by ARCADIOS » Fri May 18, 2012 2:32 am

GOT iT!
BUT It only works by TYPING numbers with the (-) prosym... like -12 for instanse.... so I guess it has a more static way of use and not sliding up and down volumes all the time.
Fine and thanks
ELVISLIVES

User avatar
JoPo
Posts: 2132
Joined: Wed Jun 05, 2002 4:00 pm
Location: VRRAAaaooOôOooommmh
Contact:

Re: STM mixer attenuator

Post by JoPo » Sun Oct 01, 2017 3:35 am

I wanted an info about the STM attenuator (didn't find it in the manual) :

Where does the attenuator operate in a channel ? Pre or post aux ?

I believe it's pre, just after the input gain ? Thanks for any info... I'm going to test it to be sure, anyway..... :D So This message is totally useless. :roll:
> > > > > > > > > > > > --- Musica --> here ! ---< < < < < < < < < < < <

User avatar
JoPo
Posts: 2132
Joined: Wed Jun 05, 2002 4:00 pm
Location: VRRAAaaooOôOooommmh
Contact:

Re: STM mixer attenuator

Post by JoPo » Sun Oct 01, 2017 4:34 am

I was right ! It's pre everything in a channel. :D
> > > > > > > > > > > > --- Musica --> here ! ---< < < < < < < < < < < <

dawman
Posts: 13221
Joined: Sun Jul 24, 2005 4:00 pm
Location: PROJECT WINDOW

Re: STM mixer attenuator

Post by dawman » Sun Oct 01, 2017 7:36 am

Run your native samples at -6db.
No Trim needed until you start making your own synth presets.
And then that's preset dependent.
Sometimes I just assign a CC to Trim on channels where fluctuations from external audio or a native/S|C synth is.

User avatar
garyb
Posts: 21657
Joined: Sun Apr 15, 2001 4:00 pm
Location: ghetto by the sea

Re: STM mixer attenuator

Post by garyb » Sun Oct 01, 2017 10:50 am

...just like a real mixer...

Post Reply