Virtual Machine Use

A place to talk about whatever Scope music/gear related stuff you want.

Moderators: valis, garyb

Post Reply
YISH313z
Posts: 308
Joined: Thu Dec 29, 2011 7:12 pm

Virtual Machine Use

Post by YISH313z » Fri Jan 12, 2018 10:16 pm

Has it not been possible with technology to run Scope 32bit in a Virtual Machine?

YISH313z
Posts: 308
Joined: Thu Dec 29, 2011 7:12 pm

Re: Virtual Machine Use

Post by YISH313z » Fri Jan 12, 2018 10:22 pm

we are talking about a latency free system driver, with a program that runs on hardware DSP chips, not CPU, for the most heavy processing that it performs.

Pipe midi and audio through the network to the parent PC and BAM!!

That is, if the technology we have now can do this with Scope Software.

YISH313z
Posts: 308
Joined: Thu Dec 29, 2011 7:12 pm

Re: Virtual Machine Use

Post by YISH313z » Fri Jan 12, 2018 10:22 pm

Somebody Shoot Me Now.

User avatar
garyb
Posts: 21560
Joined: Sun Apr 15, 2001 4:00 pm
Location: ghetto by the sea

Re: Virtual Machine Use

Post by garyb » Fri Jan 12, 2018 10:50 pm

VM?
no.

User avatar
garyb
Posts: 21560
Joined: Sun Apr 15, 2001 4:00 pm
Location: ghetto by the sea

Re: Virtual Machine Use

Post by garyb » Fri Jan 12, 2018 10:51 pm

what's wrong with a cheap pc and teamviewer?

User avatar
valis
Posts: 4534
Joined: Sun Sep 23, 2001 4:00 pm
Location: West Coast USA
Contact:

Re: Virtual Machine Use

Post by valis » Fri Jan 12, 2018 11:28 pm

Or just a used core2 era PC and kvm or two mice & keyboards & monitors...this is my path with Scope these days.

YISH313z
Posts: 308
Joined: Thu Dec 29, 2011 7:12 pm

Re: Virtual Machine Use

Post by YISH313z » Sat Jan 13, 2018 7:17 am

Something about having all in one box. Just a thought.

YISH313z
Posts: 308
Joined: Thu Dec 29, 2011 7:12 pm

Re: Virtual Machine Use

Post by YISH313z » Sat Jan 13, 2018 7:22 am

So if my motherboard is equipped with VT-d this won't work?

https://pubs.vmware.com/vsphere-4-esx-v ... evice.html

User avatar
garyb
Posts: 21560
Joined: Sun Apr 15, 2001 4:00 pm
Location: ghetto by the sea

Re: Virtual Machine Use

Post by garyb » Sat Jan 13, 2018 9:57 am

no.
try it.

jksuperstar
Posts: 1526
Joined: Mon Nov 15, 2010 12:57 pm

Re: Virtual Machine Use

Post by jksuperstar » Sun Jan 14, 2018 1:29 am

Went through this just to see if it could run on Linux. It is likely *possible*, but needs the right VM container to connect the VM's memory space to PCI, as that is really what the OS is supposed to do & manage. Many free VMs offer only Ethernet and USB devices, not direct memory mapping to the base system resources.

Post Reply