Scope 7

A place to talk about whatever Scope music/gear related stuff you want.

Moderator: valis

Music Manic
Posts: 1525
Joined: Wed May 15, 2002 4:00 pm
Contact:

Re: Scope 7

Post by Music Manic » Tue Dec 05, 2017 4:17 pm

It's All to do with driver signing.

This link helped with loading. Do I have to do it every time though?


https://www.wintips.org/how-to-fix-wind ... 8-7-vista/

Thanks for help guys.

User avatar
Bud Weiser
Posts: 1307
Joined: Tue Sep 14, 2010 5:29 am

Re: Scope 7

Post by Bud Weiser » Tue Dec 05, 2017 6:09 pm

dante wrote: So - the filters you're referring to in STS - are they the ones in Keygroup=>Options=>Filter ?
Yes, like in the original AKAI S-1000 (and S-1100), the STS offers a filter module for each keygroup.
But there are also significant differences ...
The original AKAI S-1000 offers a 18dB non-resonant filter where the STS-5000 offers 25 filter types,- but none is a 18dB filter.
When I play back AKAI and don´t need special features, I use STS-4000.
Only 1 filter and 2 ENVs is enough for AKAI.

STS 12dB resonant filter sounds better than the original non-resonant 18dB filter.

You´ll have more and different DSP features also in Kontakt as well,- but the Kontakt filters simply don´t sound as good as the STS ones.
dante wrote: Once I work that out, I can do a comparion on the STS filter vs NN-XT filter. The NN-XT filters both at the program level and the sample level. Then I can conduct tests across a wider range of samples.
Might be interesting.

:)

Bud

User avatar
garyb
Posts: 21201
Joined: Sun Apr 15, 2001 4:00 pm
Location: ghetto by the sea

Re: Scope 7

Post by garyb » Tue Dec 05, 2017 7:28 pm

you probably already have your keys.

Casper
Posts: 349
Joined: Mon Apr 19, 2004 4:00 pm
Location: Netherlands (Almere)

Re: Scope 7

Post by Casper » Wed Dec 06, 2017 2:23 am

I just had an evening of music, and music only!
One of the things i notice that has been improved is the dsp management.
I don't have to do anything anymore :P

This for me was one major issue, and it has been improved.
The list of old bugs is now shorter, and i have trust that the next round more will be fixed.

AND, the SDK! Need to get those grey cells active again ^^


Cheers Sonic peeps, and keep it up!

Strattosphere
Posts: 56
Joined: Tue Feb 24, 2004 4:00 pm
Location: Northampton, UK

Re: Scope 7

Post by Strattosphere » Wed Dec 06, 2017 11:33 am

I just closed Scope while my DAW was playing on my XP machine with 3 Pulsar II cards. It didn't take the machine down! Wow!

Even reopening Scope with the DAW still open works. This is amazing!

Stratt

Music Manic
Posts: 1525
Joined: Wed May 15, 2002 4:00 pm
Contact:

Re: Scope 7

Post by Music Manic » Wed Dec 06, 2017 12:11 pm

Strattosphere wrote:I just closed Scope while my DAW was playing on my XP machine with 3 Pulsar II cards. It didn't take the machine down! Wow!

Even reopening Scope with the DAW still open works. This is amazing!

Stratt
Great. ASIO always used to lock the O/S and you had to reboot to refresh them before.

Liquid EDGE
Posts: 787
Joined: Sun Apr 04, 2004 4:00 pm
Location: Brighton England
Contact:

Re: Scope 7

Post by Liquid EDGE » Wed Dec 06, 2017 12:15 pm

Seems like v7 is proper re working for Xite.

What I find impressive is support for many os and old a new hardware. Not many companies do this or seem to be capable. Others quite often just end focusing on the newest os and hardware.

Ripper
Posts: 120
Joined: Tue Jan 08, 2013 5:33 am

Re: Scope 7

Post by Ripper » Wed Dec 06, 2017 1:05 pm

I am trying to make solaris 5.0 work but it keeps crashing with the BSOD on Scope 7 in my Windows 10 x64.
I don't use it for quite a long time and don't remember if it started crashing the last time i used it but i know that at this moment i always have the bsod. I downloaded the stuff from scope.zone on a fresh Scope PCI folder.

I tried copying the scope 5 folder before but the result was the same. That's why i am trying with the clean install now.

I know it is working with the most part of the guys now, but not with me. Sorry for this bad news but i am trying.

Thanks guys

User avatar
JoPo
Posts: 1905
Joined: Wed Jun 05, 2002 4:00 pm
Location: VRRAAaaooOôOooommmh
Contact:

Re: Scope 7

Post by JoPo » Wed Dec 06, 2017 1:54 pm

Bad dsp files !
> > > > > > > > > > > > --- Musica --> here ! ---< < < < < < < < < < < <

Ripper
Posts: 120
Joined: Tue Jan 08, 2013 5:33 am

Re: Scope 7

Post by Ripper » Wed Dec 06, 2017 2:06 pm

JoPo wrote:Bad dsp files !
I also think that. The problem is: where are the good dsp files?
I tried with the 5.1 backup ones and it didn't work.
Tried with Scope 7 above the 5.1 and didn't work.
Tried with a clean Scope 7, copied freshly downloaded Zarg Solaris 5 files from scope.zone still no joy.
I know we will win the war but for now this battle is making this old soldier a bit sad. :-?

nomagic
Posts: 36
Joined: Thu Jul 23, 2009 11:39 am
Location: Germany

Re: Scope 7

Post by nomagic » Wed Dec 06, 2017 2:56 pm


User avatar
JoPo
Posts: 1905
Joined: Wed Jun 05, 2002 4:00 pm
Location: VRRAAaaooOôOooommmh
Contact:

Re: Scope 7

Post by JoPo » Wed Dec 06, 2017 3:02 pm

Here there are mine & Shayart ones (don't konw if he has Zarg stuff but I do !)
http://forums.scopeusers.com/viewtopic. ... &start=120
> > > > > > > > > > > > --- Musica --> here ! ---< < < < < < < < < < < <

Ripper
Posts: 120
Joined: Tue Jan 08, 2013 5:33 am

Re: Scope 7

Post by Ripper » Thu Dec 07, 2017 3:47 am

JoPo wrote:Here there are mine & Shayart ones (don't konw if he has Zarg stuff but I do !)
http://forums.scopeusers.com/viewtopic. ... &start=120
Thanks JoPo. It is working in Solaris.
I will try some other stuff like Modular IV now.

:wink:

fidox
Posts: 616
Joined: Sun Aug 17, 2003 4:00 pm
Location: Slovenia
Contact:

Re: Scope 7

Post by fidox » Thu Dec 07, 2017 5:23 am

Today i had time to install Scope 7 software.
Really great and nice to see new update !

I have just run Scope 5 uninstall and leave all files in Scope 5 directory (DAS, Flexor....).
Disabled / enabled driver signing.
Then i have renamed Scope 5 directory to Scope 7 and install new update to Scope 7 direcotory (overwrite).
Everything works normal, all old projects are loaded normally (just re-scanned presets, cause project were still under Scope 5), but that's all.
No other problems so far. (with old projects...)
Must have now more time to check all the new stuff under Scope 7. :)

Windows 10 Pro 64bit

Ripper
Posts: 120
Joined: Tue Jan 08, 2013 5:33 am

Re: Scope 7

Post by Ripper » Thu Dec 07, 2017 9:39 am

Ripper wrote:
JoPo wrote:Here there are mine & Shayart ones (don't konw if he has Zarg stuff but I do !)
http://forums.scopeusers.com/viewtopic. ... &start=120
Thanks JoPo. It is working in Solaris.
I will try some other stuff like Modular IV now.

:wink:
Modular IV seems OK.
Now: Mattomat with its TgsxMatt dsp file not found... Hum :-?
Let's see...

User avatar
dbmac
Posts: 622
Joined: Sun Mar 25, 2001 4:00 pm
Location: Toronto

Re: Scope 7

Post by dbmac » Thu Dec 07, 2017 9:48 am

Mattomat crashes my Scope7 on Windows10-64bit - blue screen & reboot.
M-Board: Gigabyte GA-X58A-UD3R, X58 Express Chipset, CPU: Intel i7 3.6ghz 775 LGA1366, Video: RADEON HD 5450 Dual head, 12GB Kingston Ram,
Xite1, Scope 7, WIN 10, Cubase 7.5, Samplitude Pro X3 Suite

Ripper
Posts: 120
Joined: Tue Jan 08, 2013 5:33 am

Re: Scope 7

Post by Ripper » Thu Dec 07, 2017 9:52 am

Ripper wrote:
Ripper wrote:
JoPo wrote:Here there are mine & Shayart ones (don't konw if he has Zarg stuff but I do !)
http://forums.scopeusers.com/viewtopic. ... &start=120
Thanks JoPo. It is working in Solaris.
I will try some other stuff like Modular IV now.

:wink:
Modular IV seems OK.
Now: Mattomat with its TgsxMatt dsp file not found... Hum :-?
Let's see...
I was temporarily blind. Uff.
Now everything is working fine.

Thank you for the help. A special thank you to JoPo. :wink:

Ripper
Posts: 120
Joined: Tue Jan 08, 2013 5:33 am

Re: Scope 7

Post by Ripper » Thu Dec 07, 2017 9:53 am

dbmac wrote:Mattomat crashes my Scope7 on Windows10-64bit - blue screen & reboot.
Be pacient and try with the dsp file JoPo made.

User avatar
garyb
Posts: 21201
Joined: Sun Apr 15, 2001 4:00 pm
Location: ghetto by the sea

Re: Scope 7

Post by garyb » Thu Dec 07, 2017 12:13 pm

do not overwrite newer dsp files with old!

User avatar
dante
Posts: 3703
Joined: Sat Nov 24, 2001 4:00 pm
Location: Melbourne Australia
Contact:

Re: Scope 7

Post by dante » Thu Dec 07, 2017 12:22 pm

Bud Weiser wrote:The original AKAI S-1000 offers a 18dB non-resonant filter where the STS-5000 offers 25 filter types,- but none is a 18dB filter. When I play back AKAI and don´t need special features, I use STS-4000. Only 1 filter and 2 ENVs is enough for AKAI. STS 12dB resonant filter sounds better than the original non-resonant 18dB filter.
NN-XT came in Reason 2.5 or 3.0 - it has 6, 12 and 24 dB filters, Highpass and Bandpass of each of these, and adjustable freq, res and Kb tracking per layer. As well per layer theres AHDRD envelopes for Amplitude and Modulation, and 2 LFO's - and a bunch of other stuff. Resonance (and frequency) are both rotary so you can have as much or as little resonance as you like at each dB level.

Haven't done any more comparison testing yet (NN-XT vs STS) since I'm knee deep in finishing off a dual boot setup. But apart from sound - one thing I will say - the NN-XT GUI seems way better than the STS ones - the original NN19 and STS both suffer from 'little-window-pop-up-itis' - where the NN-XT looks made to address as many parameters on the one screen as possible without popup-mania.

Post Reply