DSP Meter And Project Open Shutdown

The Sonic Core XITE hardware platform for Scope
Post Reply
dawman
Posts: 12883
Joined: Sun Jul 24, 2005 4:00 pm
Location: PROJECT WINDOW

DSP Meter And Project Open Shutdown

Post by dawman » Sun Jun 18, 2017 2:10 pm

Weird scenes inside the Gold Mine.

Been using XITE-1 in Slave Mode for shits and grins,
plus this particular ADAT I/O from my TC Fireworx gives me slight crackles.
The other 3 x Fireworx don't, so rather than reprogram I just tried this.

My Project window shut down instantly, and project loads real fast.
Is this normal?

Everything works fine, and in Slave Mode the XITE-1's audio using ADAT sounds pristine.
Always sounds pristine, but the ADAT I/O from TC Fireworx just made things a notch lower and added crackling..

Tell me I ain't tripping and this is OK to use like this.
Project WIndow.jpg
Project WIndow.jpg (337.66 KiB) Viewed 593 times

User avatar
garyb
Posts: 21189
Joined: Sun Apr 15, 2001 4:00 pm
Location: ghetto by the sea

Re: DSP Meter And Project Open Shutdown

Post by garyb » Sun Jun 18, 2017 3:04 pm

no samplerate?

ADAT can be cranky sometimes. one set of ports might work over another and with a different couple of devices, the non-working port might become the best one. if the samplerate window in that project is correct, i'm surprised the problem isn't much greater. do you have the cables properly connected?

dawman
Posts: 12883
Joined: Sun Jul 24, 2005 4:00 pm
Location: PROJECT WINDOW

Re: DSP Meter And Project Open Shutdown

Post by dawman » Sun Jun 18, 2017 3:55 pm

Actually this is the project that I made and have used all day.
It sounds great, shows no sample rate, and no DSP usage.

It opens and closes much faster, which is why I was curious.
First time I ever used an external clock.
Usually I always run Master, but this particular unit was giving me colicky stuff.

I think I tricked Scope up and it sounds super clean.
No A16 or ADA8200s connected, just Fireworx as Master.

Pretty nice though.
Windows 10 has had no tweaks and runs faster than 8.1.
I think it dumps RAM on each shutdown so it kind of gets smarter maybe.

Any ways I'm quite happy, just peculiar behavior with sample rate window and DSP meter.

dawman
Posts: 12883
Joined: Sun Jul 24, 2005 4:00 pm
Location: PROJECT WINDOW

Re: DSP Meter And Project Open Shutdown

Post by dawman » Sun Jun 18, 2017 3:57 pm

He'll I don't care what any meters in Bidule Task Manager or Scope says.
Runs cleaner than a lean dick DAWg....

User avatar
garyb
Posts: 21189
Joined: Sun Apr 15, 2001 4:00 pm
Location: ghetto by the sea

Re: DSP Meter And Project Open Shutdown

Post by garyb » Sun Jun 18, 2017 9:24 pm

hahaha!
i bet that does sound clean...

dawman
Posts: 12883
Joined: Sun Jul 24, 2005 4:00 pm
Location: PROJECT WINDOW

Re: DSP Meter And Project Open Shutdown

Post by dawman » Mon Jun 19, 2017 2:15 am

My other ADAT units never got clicks stuff.
This was the first one.
I normally would have just swapped it out in the PA Rack but that rig is in another town with PA # 1.
I had no other choice but to convert with a Hosa AES Box or ditch it.
So I trouble shooter and found this to work.

Guys with noisy ADAT stuff might find it worth a try.
Stuck on 44.1k but for live that's fine.

Will try SMUX for shits and grins then report back..

User avatar
JoPo
Posts: 1902
Joined: Wed Jun 05, 2002 4:00 pm
Location: VRRAAaaooOôOooommmh
Contact:

Re: DSP Meter And Project Open Shutdown

Post by JoPo » Mon Jun 19, 2017 8:47 am

:o :o Usually, when the dsp meter is at 0% like here, I don't hear any sound ! And I must reload the project to hear something... I never had this !
> > > > > > > > > > > > --- Musica --> here ! ---< < < < < < < < < < < <

Post Reply